Congratulations to the Winners of the Indie Book Awards 2017

Congratulations to the Winners of the Indie Book Awards 2017

xthe-dry.jpg.pagespeed.ic.JWJDxobpXzTonight the Australian Independent Booksellers announced The Dry by Jane Harper as their favourite Australian book of last year and the winner of The Indie Book Awards 2017 Book of the Year.

They also announced the individual category winners in fiction, non-fiction, debut Fiction, children’s and Young Adult categories  from which the overall winner was chosen. 

The awards are chosen by independent booksellers, members of Leading Edge Books, to reward and promote excellence in Australian writing. 

Affectionately termed ‘indies’, the awards have a reputation for choosing successful books that have gone on to become firm favourites. Since its inception in 2008, the Indie Book Awards has chosen Breath by Tim Winton, The Happiest Refugee by Anh Do, Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey, All That I Am by Anna Funder, The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman, The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan, The Bush by Don Watson and The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood as previous overall winners. All category winners receive $1000 prize money, and the winner receives $3000. 

 Jane Harper said, “I am absolutely thrilled that The Dry has been named as Indie Book of the Year. Independent booksellers have championed the novel from the very start and thousands of readers have discovered The Dry thanks to their passionate hand-selling and personal recommendations. It is an honour to have been selected for this award by people who know readers so well, and I remain so grateful and touched by the enthusiasm and support independent booksellers have shown both for The Dry and Australian fiction in general.”

According to Galina Marinov, National Group Manager, Leading Edge Books, “We are hugely excited to announce The Dry by Jane Harper as the 2017 Book of the Year. From the moment the early proof editions landed on our desks we knew we had a very special book on our hands, a book independents can truly get behind: a literary crime thriller with profound and truly Australian sense of landscape and characters. A gripping and compulsively readable debut. Beautifully written, commercially successful and quintessentially Australian. A book any Australian independent bookseller can wholeheartedly recommend to their customers.


The Indie Book Awards 2017 Category Award winners are:


The Last Painting by Sara de Vos by Dominic Smith (Allen & Unwin)



Everywhere I Look by Helen Garner (Text Publishing)



The Dry by Jane Harper (Pan Macmillan)



Circle by Jeannie Baker (Walker Books)



Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley (Pan Macmillan)


The Indie Book Awards acknowledge the 2017 Awards Sponsors: HarperCollins Australia as the Book of the Year sponsor and category sponsors: Pan Macmillan Australia, Hardie Grant Books, Hachette Australia, Bonnier Publishing Australia, Hardie Grant Egmont and also Awards partners: Simon & Schuster and Layout Works. The Indie Book Awards are co-ordinated by Leading Edge Books.



Related Articles

Indie Book Awards' Winners for Kids and YA

Kids & Ya

24 March 2016

Indie Book Awards' Winners for Kids and YA

Publisher details

The Dry
Jane Harper
Pan Macmillan
Crime Fiction
28 February, 2017


Luke Hadler turns a gun on his wife and child, then himself. The farming community of Kiewarra is facing life and death choices daily. If one of their own broke under the strain, well...When Federal Police investigator Aaron Falk returns to Kiewarra for the funerals, he is loath to confront the people who rejected him twenty years earlier. But when his investigative skills are called on, the facts of the Hadler case start to make him doubt this murder-suicide charge.And as Falk probes deeper into the killings, old wounds start bleeding into fresh ones. For Falk and his childhood friend Luke shared a secret... A secret Falk thought long-buried... A secret which Luke's death starts to bring to the surface...Winner of the 2015 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript.#22 in Australia's Top 100 2016Watch our live interview with Jane below:
Jane Harper
About the author

Jane Harper

Jane Harper has worked as a print journalist for thirteen years both in Australia and the UK. She lives in Melbourne and writes for the Herald Sun, among other publications. Winner of the Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript, The Dry is her first novel with rights sold to over twenty territories.

Books by Jane Harper


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *