Great Kids’ Day Out: Family Fun at Sydney Writer’s Festival

Great Kids’ Day Out: Family Fun at Sydney Writer’s Festival

Sunday, May 6 is Family Day at the Sydney Writer’s Festival and there’s a terrific line-up of authors, illustrators and highly inventive activities on offer from 10am to 4pm.

The Carriage Works, in Redfern, is the new home for SWF and it’s an easy walk from Redfern station.

There are a number of events that will be running throughout the day, so it doesn’t matter what time you arrive there will always be something exciting to see or do.

 

All-day events not to miss:
Story Time Club House
Sit down and enjoy having a story read to you by a wide range of children’s authors and illustrators – there will be a different one every half an hour. More details here.

Illustrator Battle Rounds
If you have a budding artist on your hands then Illustrator Battle Rounds needs to go on the must-see list for the day. Described as the Olympics of drawing, top children’s book illustrators square off live on stage for the annual drawing showdown. Hosted by James Valentine of ABC Sydney, this event promises to be a lot of fun for the 5+ age group. More details here.

May Gibbs Colouring-In Wall
Fans of Snugglepot and Cuddlepie can celebrate the centenary of the Tales of Snugglepot and Cuddlepie by helping to colour in a giant Gumnut Babies mural. May Gibbs’s Flannel Flowers and Gumnut Babies have enchanted children for 100 years.
More details here.

This is a fantastic opportunity for kids to meet their literary heroes and have a lot of fun in the process!

Check out the full program here.

Related Articles

The 2021 Sydney Writers' Festival... Get Planning

News | Book Life | Events & Festivals

22 April 2021

The 2021 Sydney Writers' Festival... Get Planning

    How to Get Them Hooked! Motivating Reluctant Readers

    News

    5 December 2020

    How to Get Them Hooked! Motivating Reluctant Readers

    Belinda Murrell's Favourite Islands in Children’s Literature

    News | Author Related

    8 November 2019

    Belinda Murrell's Favourite Islands in Children’s Literature

    The Final Weekend of the Sydney Writers' Festival: Lie to Me

    News

    3 May 2019

    The Final Weekend of the Sydney Writers' Festival: Lie to Me

      Sydney Writers' Festival 2019: Festival Fun For Families

      Kids & Ya

      24 April 2019

      Sydney Writers' Festival 2019: Festival Fun For Families

      Author Spotlight: Sydney Writers' Festival

      Podcast | News

      27 March 2019

      Author Spotlight: Sydney Writers' Festival

        Author talks and events to delight young readers: Sydney Writers' Festival program revealed

        Kids & Ya

        15 March 2019

        Author talks and events to delight young readers: Sydney Writers' Festival program revealed

        Lie to Me: 2019 Sydney Writers' Festival Program Revealed

        News

        15 March 2019

        Lie to Me: 2019 Sydney Writers' Festival Program Revealed

          It's a Dog Eat Dog World Out There

          Kids & Ya

          18 February 2019

          It's a Dog Eat Dog World Out There

          Fun Bookish Events For Children

          Kids & Ya

          1 February 2019

          Fun Bookish Events For Children

          COMMENTS

          Leave a Reply

          Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *