High Tension and Highly Entertaining: Read an Extract from The Ex by Nicola Moriarty

High Tension and Highly Entertaining: Read an Extract from The Ex by Nicola Moriarty

Start reading now

Girl meets boy. They fall in love. There’s just one problem…

The Ex by Nicola Moriarty is an unputdownable thriller that will have you choosing ‘one more chapter’ over sleep in a bid to find out how it ends.

Georgia Fitzpatrick is back on track after a difficult few years. She’s also on Tinder and arranges to meet someone for a drink. Her Tinder date is a no-show, but she does meet Luke at the bar: handsome, charming… the real deal. She’s swept off her feet by the travelling salesman. They quickly fall for each other. Luke is The One. After everything she’s been through, Georgia knows she deserves someone like him, to make her feel loved. Safe.

But there’s one problem… Luke still lives with his ex-girlfriend Cadence. He assures Georgia that it’s just until their lease is up, as he can’t really afford to pay for two rentals right now. It’s a temporary arrangement. But Cadence is having trouble moving on emotionally. She texts Luke all the time. Once he tells her about Georgia, Cadence starts leaving aggressive notes on Georgia’s car. Georgia believes Cadence is stalking her. Then her apartment is broken into and ransacked. Georgia starts to feel afraid – just how dangerous is Cadence?

Georgia decides to confront Cadence … and while it’s difficult to share anything about the storyline from here, without giving it away, this is when things get truly interesting.

Moriarty has set the novel around the Hills District of Sydney. It’s well-heeled suburbia, almost excruciatingly normal. But that’s the point. They are normal people… you, me, your neighbour, your friend. The location sets the tone for The Ex… These things, the things that happen in this book, aren’t meant to happen to people who live there.

Georgia, a nurse, is incredibly likeable and you want the best for her. She is surrounded by well-crafted minor characters, such as her friend Amber, and her family. The reader is as charmed by Luke as Georgia is. Although it’s clear he has baggage, you want them to work it out.

Moriarty is a masterful plotter. She has written a fast-paced thriller with a few twists and turns that you might suspect, and others that you won’t see coming at all. Even the ones you suspect are deftly done, because suspecting something in advance adds to the tension. I wanted to scream at the characters, to warn them.

From the bestselling author of The Fifth Letter, this is a twisty, pacy, gripping new novel that explores the baggage we carry from our past relationships and asks how well can you ever really know someone?

Fun, fast, and highly entertaining… It’s put me off dating for a long while.

Buy a copy of The Ex here

About the author:

Nicola Moriarty lives in Sydney’s northwest with her husband and two small (but remarkably strong-willed) daughters. She is the younger sister of bestselling authors Liane Moriarty and Jaclyn Moriarty. In between various career changes, becoming a mum and studying at Macquarie University, she began to write. Now, she can’t seem to stop.

Related Articles

A Delight to Read: Try an Extract from The Model Wife by Tricia Stringer

News

1 October 2019

A Delight to Read: Try an Extract from The Model Wife by Tricia Stringer

    Brilliant and Beguiling: Read an Extract from Christian White's, The Wife and the Widow

    News

    1 October 2019

    Brilliant and Beguiling: Read an Extract from Christian White's, The Wife and the Widow

      Utterly Delightful: Read an Extract from The Last Voyage of Mrs Henry Parker by Joanna Nell

      News

      1 October 2019

      Utterly Delightful: Read an Extract from The Last Voyage of Mrs Henry Parker by Joanna Nell

        Redemptive and Astonishing: Read an Extract from After the Flood by Kassandra Montag

        News

        30 September 2019

        Redemptive and Astonishing: Read an Extract from After the Flood by Kassandra Montag

          The Perfect Blend of Sweeping Historical Events, and Gripping Personal tales: Read an Extract from Tidelands by Philippa Gregory

          News

          30 September 2019

          The Perfect Blend of Sweeping Historical Events, and Gripping Personal tales: Read an Extract from Tidelands by Philippa Gregory

            P.S. The Perfect Sequel: Read an Extract From Postscript by Cecelia Ahern

            News

            30 September 2019

            P.S. The Perfect Sequel: Read an Extract From Postscript by Cecelia Ahern

              Remarkable. Highly Recommended: Read an Extract From The Devil’s Grip by Neal Drinnan

              News

              24 September 2019

              Remarkable. Highly Recommended: Read an Extract From The Devil’s Grip by Neal Drinnan

                A Wonderful Love Story: Read an Extract From Lost in the Spanish Quarter by Heddi Goodrich

                News

                18 September 2019

                A Wonderful Love Story: Read an Extract From Lost in the Spanish Quarter by Heddi Goodrich

                  A Tapestry of Compelling Memories, Tales and Profound Lessons: Read an Extract From Sleep by Catherine Cole

                  News

                  18 September 2019

                  A Tapestry of Compelling Memories, Tales and Profound Lessons: Read an Extract From Sleep by Catherine Cole

                    Nicci French is the Master of Psychological Suspense: Read an Extract From The Lying Room

                    News

                    17 September 2019

                    Nicci French is the Master of Psychological Suspense: Read an Extract From The Lying Room

                      Publisher details

                      The Ex
                      Author
                      Alafair Burke
                      Publisher
                      Allen & Unwin
                      Genres
                      Fiction, Thriller
                      Released
                      24 February, 2016

                      Synopsis

                      In this breakout standalone thriller in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, William Landay and Paula Hawkins, a lawyer agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been accused of murder-but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene since the shooting of his wife by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman who eerily but thrillingly echoes his past. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a Missed Moment item online and days later, a woman responds Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she gets the phone call informing her that her former fiancee, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him - and why?For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, and the hurt she caused him, but as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?
                      Nicola Moriarty
                      About the author

                      Nicola Moriarty

                      Nicola Moriarty lives in Sydney's northwest with her husband and two small (but remarkably strong-willed) daughters. She is the younger sister of bestselling authors Liane Moriarty and Jaclyn Moriarty. In between various career changes, becoming a mum and studying at Macquarie University, she began to write. Now, she can't seem to stop.

                      Books by Nicola Moriarty

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *