If you love a Happily Ever After, you’ll love this: Read an Extract from The One by Kaneana May

If you love a Happily Ever After, you’ll love this: Read an Extract from The One by Kaneana May

Start reading now

From an Australian TV scriptwriter comes a sparkling debut novel where the quest for love will surprise you.

Three women searching for love – one hit TV show.

Kaneana May’s wonderful debut novel opens with Bonnie Yates, a photographer, auditioning for the hottest reality TV series in the country – The One. It’s a great introduction to this truly likable character. She feels a little awkward in front of the camera rather than behind it. She’s gorgeous, vulnerable and looking for love. Problem is, she keeps choosing the wrong guys. She’s fallen back in love with her high school boyfriend Ollie, who now has a fiancée in tow. A fiancée who wants Bonnie to photograph their wedding. She needs to get out of town and being on a reality show is the perfect opportunity to disappear for a few weeks.

Working behind the scenes, Darcy Reed is a driven young producer dealing with a tyrant of a boss. Despite being surrounded by love at work, her own love-life with long-term boyfriend Drew is floundering. He’s a teacher, hates working at his Sydney school, and takes up a temporary position back in the home town he misses, and that Darcy is happy to have escaped. The last thing she wants to do is move back home with him, so they trial a long-distance relationship. This gives Darcy time to focus on the show. Producing a flawless season is her best chance at a promotion. But that’s tougher than expected when she realises the show’s star, gorgeous bachelor Ty isn’t really looking for new love but rather mourning one he lost.

Penelope Baker has relocated to a small seaside town to hide away with her secrets and nurse a broken heart. She is alone, somewhere new, and quietly trying to rebuild her life. But with the latest series of The One beaming across the nation’s televisions, she can’t seem to quite escape the life she left behind…

Will any of these three women find The One? Before cameras roll on the final ceremony, all three women will discover just what they’re willing to do in pursuit of love.

Set against the backdrop of a Bachelor-style TV set, The One is fast-paced, with polished writing and zippy dialogue. Even those readers who aren’t fans of reality TV (hands up me) will be fans of this book. May worked in television for years, and here she exposes the absurdity of these reality shows without stooping to ridicule. It would be easy to make fun of the contestants but she doesn’t, which makes the book a much more rewarding read. All the characters are well written and well-rounded. You’ll not only fall for the three fabulous main characters, but the whole cast; especially Ed, Darcy’s best friend and Ben, the show’s camera man.

Kaneana May is an author to watch. This is an excellent debut. If you love a Happily Ever After, you’ll love this. The One is fun. A highly entertaining read.

Buy a copy of The One here.

Kaneana May studied television production at university, graduating with first-class honours in screenwriting. She went on to work in television, including roles as a script assistant on All Saints, a storyliner on Headland and a scriptwriter on Home and Away. Since becoming a mother, Kaneana has turned her attention to fiction writing. Kaneana loves to read—mostly YA, romance and women’s fiction—and also loves watching TV and films. Writing, boot camp, coffee, chocolate and champagne are just some of her favourite things. Kaneana lives on the Mid North Coast of New South Wales with her husband and three children.For more about Kaneana, check out www.kaneanamay.com or join her over on Facebook or Instagram where you’ll see her sharing loads of her life, loves, and writing.

Related Articles

A Delight to Read: Try an Extract from The Model Wife by Tricia Stringer

News

1 October 2019

A Delight to Read: Try an Extract from The Model Wife by Tricia Stringer

    Brilliant and Beguiling: Read an Extract from Christian White's, The Wife and the Widow

    News

    1 October 2019

    Brilliant and Beguiling: Read an Extract from Christian White's, The Wife and the Widow

      Utterly Delightful: Read an Extract from The Last Voyage of Mrs Henry Parker by Joanna Nell

      News

      1 October 2019

      Utterly Delightful: Read an Extract from The Last Voyage of Mrs Henry Parker by Joanna Nell

        Redemptive and Astonishing: Read an Extract from After the Flood by Kassandra Montag

        News

        30 September 2019

        Redemptive and Astonishing: Read an Extract from After the Flood by Kassandra Montag

          The Perfect Blend of Sweeping Historical Events, and Gripping Personal tales: Read an Extract from Tidelands by Philippa Gregory

          News

          30 September 2019

          The Perfect Blend of Sweeping Historical Events, and Gripping Personal tales: Read an Extract from Tidelands by Philippa Gregory

            P.S. The Perfect Sequel: Read an Extract From Postscript by Cecelia Ahern

            News

            30 September 2019

            P.S. The Perfect Sequel: Read an Extract From Postscript by Cecelia Ahern

              Remarkable. Highly Recommended: Read an Extract From The Devil’s Grip by Neal Drinnan

              News

              24 September 2019

              Remarkable. Highly Recommended: Read an Extract From The Devil’s Grip by Neal Drinnan

                A Wonderful Love Story: Read an Extract From Lost in the Spanish Quarter by Heddi Goodrich

                News

                18 September 2019

                A Wonderful Love Story: Read an Extract From Lost in the Spanish Quarter by Heddi Goodrich

                  A Tapestry of Compelling Memories, Tales and Profound Lessons: Read an Extract From Sleep by Catherine Cole

                  News

                  18 September 2019

                  A Tapestry of Compelling Memories, Tales and Profound Lessons: Read an Extract From Sleep by Catherine Cole

                    Nicci French is the Master of Psychological Suspense: Read an Extract From The Lying Room

                    News

                    17 September 2019

                    Nicci French is the Master of Psychological Suspense: Read an Extract From The Lying Room

                      Publisher details

                      The One
                      Author
                      Kaneana May
                      Publisher
                      HQ Fiction
                      Genre
                      Fiction
                      Released
                      03 February, 2021
                      ISBN
                      9781867221975

                      Synopsis

                      On the wrong side of thirty, Bonnie Yates wants a happily ever after. Problem is, she keeps choosing the wrong guys. When an ex returns to town with a fiancee in tow, history and temptation collide. Unable to shake her inappropriate feelings, Bonnie flees, becoming an unlikely contestant on popular dating show The One. Will she find what she's looking for? Working behind the scenes, Darcy Reed is a driven young producer dealing with a tyrant of a boss. Despite being surrounded by love at work, her own love-life with long-term boyfriend Drew is floundering. Producing a flawless season is her best chance at a promotion. But with the unrelenting demands of the show, how will she save their relationship while making that shot? Penelope Baker has relocated to a small seaside town to hide away with her secrets and nurse a broken heart. But with The One beaming across the nation's televisions, she can't seem to quite escape the life she left behind. Before cameras roll on the final ceremony, all three women will discover just what they're willing to do in pursuit of the one... 
                      Kaneana May
                      About the author

                      Kaneana May

                      Kaneana May studied television production at university, graduating with first-class honours in screenwriting. She went on to work in television, including roles as a script assistant on All Saints, a storyliner on Headland and a scriptwriter on Home and Away. Since becoming a mother, Kaneana has turned her attention to fiction writing. Kaneana loves to read—mostly YA, romance and women's fiction—and also loves watching TV and films. Writing, boot camp, coffee, chocolate and champagne are just some of her favourite things. Kaneana lives on the Mid North Coast of New South Wales with her husband and three children.
                       

                      Books by Kaneana May

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *