May Book Club: The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan

May Book Club: The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan

We’re super excited about this next Book Club, and we think you’re going to love it.
This month we’ll be reading and talking about The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan.

The Ruin opens on one cold, dark night in Galway, where rookie policeman Cormac Reilly is feeling a bit lost as he looks for an address in a small village. The car heater’s not working, its radio, in bits with wires dangling from it. Finally, he spots a house that seems in complete darkness. Inside, grim discovery awaits him: two horribly neglected children, Maude and Jack, and their mother who has died of a heroin overdose. Twenty years later, he’s forced to revisit the case.

Dervla McTiernan was born in County Cork, Ireland, to a family of seven. She studied corporate law at the National University of Ireland, Galway and the Law Society of Ireland, and practiced as a lawyer for twelve years. Following the global financial crisis she moved with her family to Western Australia, where she now works for the Mental Health Commission. In 2015 she submitted a story for the Sisters in Crime Scarlet Stiletto competition and was shortlisted. This inspired her to complete the novel that would become The Ruin. She lives in Perth with her husband and two children.

 

You can read our full review here.
Special guests announced shortly.
The Book Club is streamed live to our Facebook page at 8pm (AEST) on Wednesday 30th May 2018.
Make sure to tune in and bring your questions with you.

Related Articles

Mother’s Day Book Recommendations: From Sweeping Historical Sagas to Creepy Psychological Thrillers

News

8 May 2019

Mother’s Day Book Recommendations: From Sweeping Historical Sagas to Creepy Psychological Thrillers

    ABIA Shortlist 2019: Stellar Debuts

    News

    24 April 2019

    ABIA Shortlist 2019: Stellar Debuts

      5 Author Podcasts, Perfect for an Easter Road Trip

      News

      18 April 2019

      5 Author Podcasts, Perfect for an Easter Road Trip

        Exciting News For Dervla McTiernan Fans: HarperCollins Publishers acquires three new books

        News

        16 April 2019

        Exciting News For Dervla McTiernan Fans: HarperCollins Publishers acquires three new books

          Podcast: Crime Writing’s Rising Star with Dervla McTiernan

          Podcast

          12 March 2019

          Podcast: Crime Writing’s Rising Star with Dervla McTiernan

            Writing the Follow-Up to a Bestseller: Q&A with Dervla McTiernan on her latest novel, The Scholar

            News

            26 February 2019

            Writing the Follow-Up to a Bestseller: Q&A with Dervla McTiernan on her latest novel, The Scholar

              Tense, Atmospheric, Astute: Read an extract from The Scholar by Dervla McTiernan

              News

              22 February 2019

              Tense, Atmospheric, Astute: Read an extract from The Scholar by Dervla McTiernan

                McTiernan’s New Thriller Impossible To Put Down: Review of The Scholar by Dervla McTiernan

                News

                19 February 2019

                McTiernan’s New Thriller Impossible To Put Down: Review of The Scholar by Dervla McTiernan

                  Plotting Murder: Read a Q&A with Into the Night author Sarah Bailey

                  News

                  7 June 2018

                  Plotting Murder: Read a Q&A with Into the Night author Sarah Bailey

                    Podcast: From Ireland With Love: Dervla McTiernan

                    Podcast

                    23 April 2018

                    Podcast: From Ireland With Love: Dervla McTiernan

                      Synopsis

                      Cormac Reilly is about to reopen the case that took him twenty years to forget ...'TheRuin is a terrific debut and a rare gem:a compelling crime thriller that delivers depth as well as twists, with everypage clearly written from the heart' Sara Foster, author of The Hidden HoursResponding to a call that took him to a decrepit country house, young Garda Cormac Reilly found two silent, neglected children - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lay dead upstairs.Since then Cormac's had twenty high-flying years working as a detective in Dublin, and he's come back to Galway for reasons of his own. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.What ties a recent suicide to that death from so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Irelandand asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfectfor fans of Tana French and Jane Harper.
                      Dervla McTiernan
                      About the author

                      Dervla McTiernan

                      Dervla McTiernan was born in County Cork, Ireland to a family of seven. She studied corporate law at the National University of Ireland, Galway and the Law Society of Ireland, and practiced as a lawyer for twelve years. Following the global financial crisis she moved with her family to Western Australia, where she now works for the Mental Health Commission. In 2015 she submitted a story for the Sisters in Crime Scarlet Stiletto competition and was shortlisted. This inspired her to complete the novel that would become The Ruin. She lives in Perth with her husband and two children.

                      Books by Dervla McTiernan

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

                      1. Jocelyn Albrecht says:

                        Would it be possible to include a small excerpt from each book so that readers can judge for themselves as to whether the storyline and style of writing is to their taste. Readers do not always have the same taste in books as the reviewers

                      2. Petra Schmidt says:

                        Yes I second that idea. Would love a mini excerpt.