On memory, trust, and the importance of place: Q&A with J.P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie

On memory, trust, and the importance of place: Q&A with J.P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie

About the author:

J.P. Pomare is an award-winning writer who has had work published in journals
including Meanjin, Kill Your DarlingsTakahe and Mascara Literary Review. He has hosted the On Writing podcast since 2015 featuring bestselling authors from around the globe. He was born in New Zealand and resides in Melbourne with his wife. Call Me Evie is his first novel.

Purchase a copy of Call Me Evie here

Read our review of Call Me Evie here

 

Call Me Evie is an incredible literary thriller that has been compared to Gone Girl and The Girl on The Train. Can you tell us what it’s about?

Call Me Evie is about a young woman who emerges from a stupor in a cabin, in a country she’s never been with a man she’s not sure if she can trust. It’s difficult to tell you too much more without treading into spoiler territory, but I will say it’s full of twists and turns that hopefully you won’t see coming.

What inspired the idea behind the novel?

Setting for me always comes first and it tends to be the most important aspect of a novel for me when I’m reading so that’s where I began. I knew I wanted to write about Maketu, a small beach town near where I grew up in New Zealand so I had my setting. I loved Maketu because I spent so much time in my teen years out there and we had some chilling encounters with the locals there that made me think this would be the perfect place to hideout. I put Kate, a very Melbourne young woman in that setting and the story bloomed from there.

Call Me Evie is your debut novel. Can you tell us a bit about your writing journey?

I wrote a lot of terrible short stories for a long time. I also completed a year of study after securing a creative writing scholarship. Eventually I began to have bits and pieces published here and there. I had stories win or shortlisted for competitions and the biggest breakthrough came when I had a short story published in a leading Australian literary journal, Meanjin. I realised then that perhaps my writing wasn’t so bad after all. I continued to read with a notebook and pen in hand. Writing is an endless apprenticeship, this is something I learnt early on so I was, and still am, always trying to get better.

The novel deals heavily with concepts of memory and trust. Did you conduct any research when writing the novel to better understand Evie’s state of mind and her difficulty in differentiating truth from deception?

Absolutely. I knew I had to get Evie/Kate right so I worked closely with my wife Paige, along with other women in my life and my publishing team to really understand what she goes through in the book and how she would respond. The more psychological elements were also very heavily researched. I think part of the research was simply interrogating my memories and comparing my version of past events to others who were there. I realise this isn’t entirely scientific but it was a penny drop moment for me; the distance between my memories and that of my friends and family was enormous. I also studied psychology text books and worked closely with renowned Melbourne based clinical psychologist Marian Barton who has extensive experience helping people just like Kate. I frequently took my queries regarding memory and mental health issues to Marian who was very generous with her advice and insight.

What was your favourite book of 2018, and which book are you most looking forward to reading in 2019?

I haven’t settled on one favourite book from 2018 as it seems to change every day but if I could narrow it down to two I would have to say Tinman by Sarah Winman and Preservation by Jock Serong. I’m most looking forward to Christian White’s follow up to his huge debut novel The Nowhere Child.

Related Articles

Podcast: J. P. Pomare on How His Maori Heritage Influences His Writing

Podcast

8 February 2021

Podcast: J. P. Pomare on How His Maori Heritage Influences His Writing

    I'm Fascinated by Cults: Q&A with In the Clearing Author, J.P. Pomare

    News | Author Related

    16 January 2020

    I'm Fascinated by Cults: Q&A with In the Clearing Author, J.P. Pomare

      I Wrote Misconception to Open up the Conversation About Pregnancy Loss: Q&A with Rebecca Freeborn, Author of Misconception

      News

      31 July 2019

      I Wrote Misconception to Open up the Conversation About Pregnancy Loss: Q&A with Rebecca Freeborn, Author of Misconception

        Entertain, Delight and Tug at the Heartstrings: Q&A with Messy, Wonderful Us Author Catherine Isaac

        News

        28 June 2019

        Entertain, Delight and Tug at the Heartstrings: Q&A with Messy, Wonderful Us Author Catherine Isaac

          A Deeply Personal Project: Q&A with Bradley Trevor Greive about The Blue Day Book

          News

          4 May 2019

          A Deeply Personal Project: Q&A with Bradley Trevor Greive about The Blue Day Book

            Suspenseful Australian Crime: Q&A with Dave Warner, Author of River of Salt

            News

            10 April 2019

            Suspenseful Australian Crime: Q&A with Dave Warner, Author of River of Salt

              Hilarious and Life-Changing: Q&A with Virginia Duigan on writing The Age of Discretion

              News

              19 March 2019

              Hilarious and Life-Changing: Q&A with Virginia Duigan on writing The Age of Discretion

                Sweeping Rural Historical Fiction: Q&A with Nicole Alexander on writing Stone Country

                News

                18 March 2019

                Sweeping Rural Historical Fiction: Q&A with Nicole Alexander on writing Stone Country

                  War, Love and Literature: Q&A with J.R. Lonie about his new novel, The Woman from Saint Germain

                  News

                  11 March 2019

                  War, Love and Literature: Q&A with J.R. Lonie about his new novel, The Woman from Saint Germain

                    Humour, Romance and Astrology Galore: Read a Q&A with Minnie Darke about her new novel, Star-crossed

                    News

                    9 March 2019

                    Humour, Romance and Astrology Galore: Read a Q&A with Minnie Darke about her new novel, Star-crossed

                      Publisher details

                      Call Me Evie
                      Author
                      J. P. Pomare
                      Publisher
                      Hachette
                      Genre
                      Thriller
                      Released
                      27 December, 2018
                      ISBN
                      9780733640230

                      Synopsis

                      In this compulsive, twist-filled and haunting psychological suspense debut perfect for fans of Sharp Objects and Room, a seventeen-year-old girl struggles to remember the role she played on the night her life changed forever...****Don't trust him. It wasn't me. It couldn't have been me.Meet Evie, a young woman who has fled with her uncle to the isolated New Zealand beach town of Maketu. Jim says he's hiding her to protect her, that she did something terrible back home in Melbourne. Something Evie can't remember.But Evie isn't her real name. And Jim isn't really her uncle.In a house that creaks against the wind, Evie pieces together the events that led her here. And as her memories return, she starts to wonder if Jim is really her saviour . . . or her captor.A riveting debut novel that fearlessly plumbs the darkest recesses of the mind, Call Me Evie explores the fragility of memory and the potential in all of us to hide the truth even from ourselves.
                      J. P. Pomare
                      About the author

                      J. P. Pomare

                      J.P. Pomare is an award-winning writer who has had work published in journals including Meanjin, Kill Your DarlingsTakahe and Mascara Literary Review. He has hosted the On Writing podcast since 2015 featuring bestselling authors from around the globe. He was born in New Zealand and resides in Melbourne with his wife. Call Me Evie is his first novel.

                      Books by J. P. Pomare

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *