Original, Wonderful Murder Mystery: Review of The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas

Original, Wonderful Murder Mystery: Review of The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas

The year is 1967. The Beatles have just released their revolutionary Sergeant Pepper album, the Summer of Love is in full swing, and change is in the air, no more so than in a nondescript little laboratory in north west England. Working day and night in near isolation, four young female scientists are pursuing a supremely ambitious project: they are building a time travel machine.

After months and months of tests and tweaks, Margaret, Lucille, Grace and Barbara finally achieve the impossible, and become the first people ever to travel through time. In a flurry of excitement, the pioneers invite the BBC to their laboratory for the big reveal, but partway through the pivotal interview, Barbara suffers a shocking on-camera breakdown, and plunges the whole project into jeopardy.

The year is 2017. It’s a bright summer’s day, and Ruby is visiting her Granny Bee when a mysterious origami rabbit turns up on Bee’s front doorstep. Unfolding it, Ruby and Bee discover the rabbit is fashioned from a coronial inquest notice for an unnamed, elderly woman, but the oddest part of all is the woman’s date of death: it’s five months away.

Who sent Bee this ominous message from the future? Could it have been one of her long-lost colleagues from the days before Bee became known as ‘the time traveler who went mad?’ Ruby has never talked to Granny Bee about her past, but this seems like a rather important time to start.

It’s 2018, and it is Odette’s first day as a volunteer at the toy museum. Odette is alarmed when she opens the front door and comes across an awful, sulphuric smell, but she is eager to make a good impression, and ventures inside to solve the problem. Nothing, however, could prepare Odette for what she finds: the body of an elderly woman, murdered, in the basement.

The police are called and an inquest takes place, but no answers are given. Why can’t the police find out who the woman was? Why does the inquest fail to determine who killed her? Why does it seem like everyone is trying to cover up the murder? The old woman deserves more, and Odette is determined to uncover the truth.

The Psychology of Time Travel is an impressive debut from Kate Mascarenhas. It’s not every day you come across a time travel murder mystery, especially an unpredictable one like this that begins with an intriguing premise and then twists and turns itself into a wonderful and wholly original read.

The Psychology of Time Travel boasts a diverse cast of female characters. All the main characters are women, represented realistically, flaws and all.

As its title suggests, this book also offers a nuanced and absorbing exploration of how time travel affects its main characters. Time travel is often portrayed in popular culture as something effortless, but this book delves into the complicated and often harmful ways in which time travel, if it were real, might impact mental health. In this, it’s reminiscent of Audrey Niffenegger’s brilliant novel, The Time Traveler’s Wife.

If you’re looking for a highly original murder mystery that has heart, go no further than The Psychology of Time Travel.

About the author:

Kate Mascarenhas is a half-Irish, half-Seychellois midlander. She has worked as a copywriter, an assistant psychologist, and a bookbinder. She lives with her husband in a small terraced house which she is slowly filling with Sindy dolls. The Psychology of Time Travel is Kate’s first novel.

Purchase a copy of The Psychology of Time Travel here 

Related Articles

An Exquisite Exploration into Memory, Imagination and the Books that Shape us: Read a Review of Storytime by Jane Sullivan

News

12 August 2019

An Exquisite Exploration into Memory, Imagination and the Books that Shape us: Read a Review of Storytime by Jane Sullivan

    One of the Best Thrillers of the Year: Read a Review of State of Fear by Tim Ayliffe

    News

    6 August 2019

    One of the Best Thrillers of the Year: Read a Review of State of Fear by Tim Ayliffe

      An Excellent Tribute to a Fascinating Australian Figure: Read a Review of Major Thomas by Greg Growden

      News

      6 August 2019

      An Excellent Tribute to a Fascinating Australian Figure: Read a Review of Major Thomas by Greg Growden

        It is Heartbreaking, and Beautiful: Review of Confession with Blue Horses by Sophie Hardach

        News

        23 July 2019

        It is Heartbreaking, and Beautiful: Review of Confession with Blue Horses by Sophie Hardach

          Australian to the Core: Review of Taking Tom Murray Home by Tim Slee

          News

          23 July 2019

          Australian to the Core: Review of Taking Tom Murray Home by Tim Slee

            Wonderful. A Real Treat: Review of The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle by Sophie Green

            News

            23 July 2019

            Wonderful. A Real Treat: Review of The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle by Sophie Green

              A Highly Entertaining Debut: Read a Review of The One by Kaneana May

              News

              23 July 2019

              A Highly Entertaining Debut: Read a Review of The One by Kaneana May

                A Nail-biting Thriller: Read a Review of Karin Slaughter's The Last Widow

                News

                15 July 2019

                A Nail-biting Thriller: Read a Review of Karin Slaughter's The Last Widow

                  Romantic, Clever and Thought-provoking: Review of Nailed It! by Mel Campbell and Anthony Morris

                  News

                  15 July 2019

                  Romantic, Clever and Thought-provoking: Review of Nailed It! by Mel Campbell and Anthony Morris

                    Topical, Gripping, Perfectly Paced: Review of The Rip by Mark Brandi

                    News

                    10 July 2019

                    Topical, Gripping, Perfectly Paced: Review of The Rip by Mark Brandi

                      Synopsis

                      A time travel murder mystery from a brilliantly original new voice. Perfect for readers of Naomi Alderman's The Power and Emily St John Mandel's Station Eleven. 1967 : Four female scientists invent a time travel machine. They are on the cusp of fame: the pioneers who opened the world to new possibilities. But then one of them suffers a breakdown and puts the whole project in peril... 2017 : Ruby knows her beloved Granny Bee was a pioneer, but they never talk about the past.Though time travel is now big business, Bee has never been part of it. Then they receive a message from the future – a newspaper clipping reporting the mysterious death of an elderly lady... 2018 : When Odette discovered the body she went into shock. Blood everywhere, bullet wounds, that strong reek of sulpher. But when the inquest fails to find any answers, she is frustrated. Who is this dead woman that haunts her dreams? And why is everyone determined to cover up her murder?
                      Kate Mascarenhas
                      About the author

                      Kate Mascarenhas

                      Kate Mascarenhas is a half-Irish, half-Seychellois midlander. She has worked as a copywriter, an assistant psychologist, and a bookbinder. She lives with her husband in a small terraced house which she is slowly filling with Sindy dolls. The Psychology of Time Travel is her first novel.

                      Books by Kate Mascarenhas

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *