Skip to content

The Miles Franklin Award – Winner Announced

June 23, 2015

The winning author of The Miles Franklin Literary Award, Australia’s most highly anticipated literary award, has been announced in Melbourne tonight.

And the winner is … Sofie Laguna for The Eye of the Sheep, a compelling novel about a poor family struggling to cope with a difficult child. Congratulations Sofie Laguna!

Better Reading has compiled a list of all the previous winners of the award since 1957. See the full list here.

And you can see the 2015 shortlist here and the 2015 longlist here.

The Miles Franklin Literary Award, first awarded in 1957 to Patrick White for Voss, was established through the will of My Brilliant Career author, Miles Franklin. The award aims to be true to the terms of Franklin’s will – awarding the highest literary merit and presenting ‘Australian life in any of its phases…’

This year’s judging panel includes State Library of NSW Mitchell Librarian, Richard Neville; journalist and columnist, Murray Waldren; Sydney bookseller, Lindy Jones; biographer and book historian, Craig Munro; and Emeritus Professor, Susan Sheridan.

The winner of the 2015 Award wins $60,000


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *