Podcast: Janet Skeslien Charles on the Unusual Woman Who Sparked Her Love of France‬

Podcast: Janet Skeslien Charles on the Unusual Woman Who Sparked Her Love of France‬

Listen now

Award-winning author Janet Skeslien Charles talks to Cheryl about how she came to write her New York Times bestselling novel, The Paris Library, and the unusual woman who sparked her love of France.

About the author:

Janet Skeslien Charles is an award-winning author with over a decade’s worth of roaming the streets of Paris and researching in its libraries. Her debut novel, Moonlight in Odessa, was published in ten languages and was awarded the Melissa Nathan prize and the Completement Livre prize in Strasbourg. Originally from Montana, as a child, she lived on the same street as a French war bride and was fascinated by the war stories of her French professor. Janet began to research The Paris Library when she worked as Programs Manager at the American Library in Paris. Until recently she taught in Paris, where she still lives.

Listen on Apple || Listen on Stitcher for Android

Reviews

Charming and Unforgettable: Read an Extract of The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

Review | Extract

9 February 2021

Charming and Unforgettable: Read an Extract of The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

    5 Quick Questions with Janet Skeslien Charles, Author of The Paris Library

    Review | Author Related

    9 February 2021

    5 Quick Questions with Janet Skeslien Charles, Author of The Paris Library

      Heartbreaking and Uplifting: Read our review of The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

      Review | Our Review

      8 February 2021

      Heartbreaking and Uplifting: Read our review of The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

        Synopsis

        Inspired by the true story of the librarians who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage and betrayal inspired by real-life defiance in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Book Thief and The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie SocietyPARIS, 1939 Odile Souchet is obsessed with books, and her new job at the American Library in Paris - with its thriving community of students, writers and book lovers - is a dream come true. When war is declared, the Library is determined to remain open. But then the Nazis invade Paris, and everything changes. In Occupied Paris, choices as black and white as the words on a page become a murky shade of grey - choices that will put many on the wrong side of history, and the consequences of which will echo for decades to come.MONTANA, 1983 Lily is a lonely teenage desperate to escape small-town Montana. She grows close to her neighbour Odile, discovering they share the same love of language, the same longings. But as Lily uncovers more about Odile's mysterious past, she discovers a dark secret, closely guarded and long hidden.Based on the true Second World War story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable novel of romance, friendship, family, and of heroism found in the quietest of places.
        Janet Skeslien Charles
        About the author

        Janet Skeslien Charles

        Janet Skeslien Charles is an award-winning author with over a decade's worth of roaming the streets of Paris and researching in its libraries. Her debut novel, Moonlight in Odessa, was published in ten languages and was awarded the Melissa Nathan prize and the Completement Livre prize in Strasbourg.Originally from Montana, as a child she lived on the same street as a French war bride and was fascinated by the war stories of her French professor. Janet began to research The Paris Library when she worked as Programs Manager at the American Library in Paris. Until recently she taught in Paris, where she still lives.

        Books by Janet Skeslien Charles

        COMMENTS

        Leave a Reply

        Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *