Armchair Travel at its Best: Read an Extract from Two Steps Onward by Graeme Simsion and Anne Buist

Armchair Travel at its Best: Read an Extract from Two Steps Onward by Graeme Simsion and Anne Buist

Fate announced itself as a buzzing in the pocket of my jeans.

The guy running the team-building workshop for the refugee centre where I volunteered was checking off the clichés: altruism without empathy is like a ship without a rudder; a journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step. That one I’d lived. But since when did helping people get so complicated? My mind was on the homework he’d set. Be prepared to discuss three events that have defined your life. I could only think of two.

The first was at college: I’d helped my roommate Camille get a termination. It had meant a road trip across the country, from St Louis to Los Angeles, estrangement from my religious mother, and the beginning of the kind of thinking that had brought me to where I was and who I was.

The second was the death of my husband, Keith, in a car accident. My search for answers and healing led me first to Camille’s home in Cluny, in eastern France, and then to a single step that turned into a twelve-hundred-mile walk along the Camino de Santiago de Compostela, the ancient pilgrims’ path, from Camille’s door to the west coast of Spain. I had come back stronger—strong enough to say that my career was more important than moving to England to live with Martin, the engineer I’d fallen for on the walk…

Continue reading the extract here…

Reviews

A Witty and Wine-Filled Follow-Up: Review of Two Steps Onward by Graeme Simsion and Anne Buist

Review | Our Review

15 June 2021

A Witty and Wine-Filled Follow-Up: Review of Two Steps Onward by Graeme Simsion and Anne Buist

    Related Articles

    Techie Turned Writer: Graeme Simsion

    News

    19 December 2017

    Techie Turned Writer: Graeme Simsion

      Announcing Our Friday Night-In Special Guest: Graeme Simsion

      News

      5 December 2017

      Announcing Our Friday Night-In Special Guest: Graeme Simsion

        Start Reading Two Steps Forward by Graeme Simsion and Anne Buist

        News

        4 October 2017

        Start Reading Two Steps Forward by Graeme Simsion and Anne Buist

          Interview: Graeme Simsion and Anne Buist Discuss Being Co-authors (and Married!)

          News

          3 October 2017

          Interview: Graeme Simsion and Anne Buist Discuss Being Co-authors (and Married!)

            Book Review: Two Steps Forward by Graeme Simsion & Anne Buist

            News

            3 October 2017

            Book Review: Two Steps Forward by Graeme Simsion & Anne Buist

              Q&A with Graeme Simsion on the Australian Reading Hour

              News

              11 September 2017

              Q&A with Graeme Simsion on the Australian Reading Hour

                Read Chapter One: The Best of Adam Sharp by Graeme Simsion

                News

                4 October 2016

                Read Chapter One: The Best of Adam Sharp by Graeme Simsion

                  Book of the Week: The Best of Adam Sharp by Graeme Simsion

                  News

                  4 October 2016

                  Book of the Week: The Best of Adam Sharp by Graeme Simsion

                    Synopsis

                    Three years after life got in the way of their long-distance relationship, Californian artist Zoe and English engineer Martin have an unexpected opportunity to reunite: a second chance to follow in the footsteps of pilgrims in Europe. This time, they won’t be walking the famous Camino de Santiago to north-west Spain but the less-travelled Chemin d’Assise and Via Francigena to Rome, along the mountainous paths from rural France. And rather than each setting off solo, they will accompany Zoe’s old friend Camille—who, despite her life-threatening illness, insists she will walk the whole sixteen hundred kilometres to seek an audience with the Pope—and her not-so-ex-husband, Gilbert, who sees the trip as a gourmet tour. Then Bernhard, Martin’s young nemesis from the previous trek, shows up, along with Martin’s daughter, Sarah, who is having a quarter-life crisis and doesn’t exactly hit it off with Zoe. Two Steps Onward is the wise, witty and wine-filled follow-up to Two Steps Forward, Graeme Simsion and Anne Buist’s bestselling novel about walking the Camino. It’s about helping the people you love, and knowing when to let go. Figuring out what you really want in life. And seizing your chances, before it’s too late.
                    Anne Buist
                    About the author

                    Anne Buist

                    Anne Buist is the Chair of Women’s Mental Health at the University of Melbourne. She has thirty years’ experience in perinatal psychiatry, and works with the legal system in cases of abuse, kidnapping, infanticide and murder. Her Natalie King: Forensic Psychologist series of thrillers is published by Text.Photo credit Lachlan Woods

                    Books by Anne Buist

                    Graeme Simsion
                    About the author

                    Graeme Simsion

                    Graeme Simsion is a Melbourne-based writer of short stories, plays and screenplays. The Rosie Project is his first novel. Starting out as a screenplay, it later won the 2012 Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for an unpublished manuscript and has since been sold in over thirty countries.

                    Books by Graeme Simsion

                    COMMENTS

                    Leave a Reply

                    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *