A Secret Power for Good or Evil: Read an Extract from Whisper by Lynette Noni

A Secret Power for Good or Evil: Read an Extract from Whisper by Lynette Noni

Prologue

They call me “Jane Doe.”

They say it’s because I won’t tell them my real name, that they were forced to allocate me a generic ID. The name is ironic, since there’s nothing generic about me.

But they don’t know that. They could have given me any name, but there’s a reason they chose “Jane Doe.” I hear the whispers. They think of me as little more than an unidentifiable, breathing corpse. That’s how they treat me. They prod, they poke, they badger and tweak. All of them want to coax a response from me. But their efforts are in vain.

Two years, six months, fourteen days, eleven hours and sixteen minutes. That’s how long I’ve been locked away from the world. That’s how long I’ve been pried for information, day in, day out. That’s how long I’ve been experimented on, hour after hour, week after week.

They don’t tell me much. It’s all confidential, highly classified. But they did give me the rundown when I first arrived. They prettied it up and wrapped a bow around their words, selling a dream and not the nightmare I’ve been living.

They said all the right things, lulling me into a false sense of
security. But it was all lies.

“Lengard is a secret government facility for extraordinary
people,” they told me. “It’s for people just like you.”

I believed them. That was my mistake.

I was stupid.

Gullible.

Hopeful.

I know now that there isn’t anyone else in the world just like
me.

I’m different.

I’m an anomaly.

I’m a monster.

My name is not “Jane Doe.” But that is who I’ve become.

And that is who I’ll remain. It’s safest this way.

For everyone.

Continue reading the extract here…

Related Articles

A Memoir with a Powerful Message: Review of En Pointe

Kids & Ya

30 September 2019

A Memoir with a Powerful Message: Review of En Pointe

The Choices We Make: Review of The Monster Who Wasn't

Kids & Ya

13 August 2019

The Choices We Make: Review of The Monster Who Wasn't

Finding Yourself: Extract from Snow

Kids & Ya

18 July 2019

Finding Yourself: Extract from Snow

Explosive, Inexplicable Weirdness: Review of Squidge Dibley Destroys the School by Mick Elliott

Kids & Ya

25 June 2019

Explosive, Inexplicable Weirdness: Review of Squidge Dibley Destroys the School by Mick Elliott

Wizards, Witches and Rebels: Read an extract from The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic

Kids & Ya

12 June 2019

Wizards, Witches and Rebels: Read an extract from The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic

Robot With a Heart: Read an extract from Boot: Small Robot, Big Adventure by Shane Hegarty

Kids & Ya

4 June 2019

Robot With a Heart: Read an extract from Boot: Small Robot, Big Adventure by Shane Hegarty

I’m Not Just a Robot!: Review of Boot: Small Robot, Big Adventure by Shane Hegarty

Kids & Ya

4 June 2019

I’m Not Just a Robot!: Review of Boot: Small Robot, Big Adventure by Shane Hegarty

Finding Your Place: Review of Sky by Ondine Sherman

Kids & Ya

14 May 2019

Finding Your Place: Review of Sky by Ondine Sherman

Think, Talk, Discuss and Debate: Q&A with author Ondine Sherman

Kids & Ya

14 May 2019

Think, Talk, Discuss and Debate: Q&A with author Ondine Sherman

Popularity v Values: Read an extract from Sky by Ondine Sherman

Kids & Ya

14 May 2019

Popularity v Values: Read an extract from Sky by Ondine Sherman

Synopsis

“Lengard is a secret government facility for extraordinary people,” they told me. “It's for people just like you.”I believed them. That was my mistake.There isn't anyone else in the world like me. I'm different. I'm an anomaly. I'm a monster.For two years, six months, fourteen days, eleven hours and sixteen minutes… Subject Six-Eight-Four, 'Jane Doe', has been locked away and experimented on, without uttering a single word.Life at Lengard follows a strict, torturous routine that has never changed.Until now.When Jane is assigned a new-and unexpectedly kind-evaluator, her resolve begins to crack, despite her best efforts.As she uncovers the truth about Lengard's mysterious 'program', Jane discovers that her own secret is at the heart of a sinister plot …. And one wrong move, one wrong word, could change the world.#18 in the Top 50 Kids' Books 2019 - Older Readers
Lynette Noni
About the author

Lynette Noni

Lynette Noni grew up on a farm in outback Australia until she moved to the beautiful Sunshine Coast and swapped her mud-stained boots for sand-splashed flip-flops. She has always been an avid reader and most of her childhood was spent lost in daydreams of far-off places and magical worlds. She was devastated when her Hogwarts letter didn't arrive, but she consoled herself by looking inside every wardrobe she could find, and she's still determined to find her way to Narnia one day. While waiting for that to happen, she creates her own fantasy worlds and enjoys spending time with characters she meets along the way.

Books by Lynette Noni

COMMENTS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *