A Very Clever Psychological Thriller: Review of The Other You by J.S. Monroe

A Very Clever Psychological Thriller: Review of The Other You by J.S. Monroe

Is he who you think he is?

Kate used to be good at recognising people. So good, she worked for the police as a super recogniser, identifying criminals in crowds of thousands. But six months ago, a devastating car accident led to a brain injury. Now the woman who never forgot a face can barely recognise herself in the mirror.

At least she has Rob. Kate met him just after her accident, and he nursed her back to health in his high-tech modernist house on the Cornish coast. Rob is caring, handsome, rich and successful. He’s a tech millionaire with a home to match. He’s got a strange fear of dopplegangers. He says he’s seen his once:

We’ve all got a double out there somewhere, watching, waiting. Shadowless. And I’ve already met mine, a long time ago… They say it’s bad enough to see your double once, but it’s meant to be much worse if you meet them a second time. The day I see him again will be my last. He’ll take over my life… He’ll steal my soul.’

But mostly, Rob has helped Kate in her recovery. When she’s with him, her nightmares of the accident fade, and she feels safe and loved.

Until, one day, she looks at Rob anew – and knows, with absolute certainty, that he has been replaced by an impostor. The man who is ‘Rob’ is not the man she fell for. Is she right? Have her old recognition skills returned? Or is this because of the accident and all in her damaged mind?

This is Monroe’s third psychological thriller and he’s a master of it. J.S. Monroe is actually the pseudonym of Jon Stock, who has written six spy thrillers, so this is one author who really knows how to structure a novel and tell one hellova story. This intricate, original and emotionally charged psychological thriller is perfect for fans of J.P. Delaney and Louise Candlish. It grabs you on page one and doesn’t let up, taking you on a rollercoaster of twists, turns and guessing (I didn’t guess most of this), with short chapters that add to the lightning pace.

It weaves a number of themes into the plot, from technology to dopplegangers to facial recognition software and Capgras syndrome. Told from three perspectives – Kate, her old boss Silas, and her ex-boyfriend Jake, The Other You packs a lot in which makes it very difficult to guess the ending – something quite rare for me. Instead, I enjoyed the ride.

Clever, thought-provoking… I couldn’t put it down.

 

 

Reviews

Sinister and Compelling: Try a Chapter of JS Monroe's The Other You for Free

Review | Extract

29 January 2020

Sinister and Compelling: Try a Chapter of JS Monroe's The Other You for Free

    Related Articles

    The Other You Author, JS Monroe Writes About Gifted Super Recognisers

    News | Author Related

    29 January 2020

    The Other You Author, JS Monroe Writes About Gifted Super Recognisers

      Publisher details

      The Other You
      Author
      J.S. Monroe
      Publisher
      Head of Zeus
      Released
      09 January, 2020

      Synopsis

      'Brilliantly original and intriguing ... Kept me hooked, enthralled and guessing to the very end' Peter James.'A pacy, powerful psychological thriller that throws up questions on every page' Mari Hannah.*****************Is he who you think he is?Kate used to be good at recognising people. So good, she worked for the police, identifying criminals in crowds of thousands. But six months ago, a devastating car accident led to a brain injury. Now the woman who never forgot a face can barely recognise herself in the mirror.At least she has Rob. Kate met him just after her accident, and he nursed her back to health in his high-tech modernist house on the Cornish coast. When she's with him, the nightmares of the accident fade, and she feels safe and loved.Until, one day, she looks at Rob anew – and knows, with absolute certainty, that he has been replaced by an impostor. Is she right? Have her old recognition skills returned? Or is it all in her damaged mind?This intricate, original and emotionally charged psychological thriller is perfect for fans of J.P. Delaney and Louise Candlish.*****************Reviews for J.S. Monroe:'Full of unpredictable twists' The Times. 'Intricately woven and heart-stoppingly believable' Clare Mackintosh. 'The most ingenious thriller you will read this year' M.J. Arlidge. 'Cunning, captivating and creepy' J.P. Delaney. 'A tightly coiled and crafted plot' Daily Mail. 'Gripping and deeply sinister' Caroline Kepnes. 'An intricate puzzle of a thriller' Lucie Whitehouse.
      J.S. Monroe
      About the author

      J.S. Monroe

      J.S. Monroe read English at Cambridge, worked as a freelance journalist in London and was a regular contributor to BBC Radio 4. Monroe, the author of five other novels, was also a foreign correspondent in Delhi for the Daily Telegraph and was on its staff in London as Weekend editor.

      Books by J.S. Monroe

      COMMENTS

      Leave a Reply

      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *