Fun, Fresh and Wonderfully Romantic: Read a Review of Our Stop by Laura Jane Williams

Fun, Fresh and Wonderfully Romantic: Read a Review of Our Stop by Laura Jane Williams

What if you almost missed the love of your life?

Nadia and Daniel are two souls destined to be together, but life has other plans. This joyful, heart-warming romance will be perfect for fans of Beth O’Leary’s The Flatshare.

Nadia gets the 7:30 train every morning. At least, she triesto get the 7:30 train every morning. Quite often she sleeps in, and when she does make it, there’s coffee stains on her dress to prove how fast she ran to get there.

Daniel does get the 7:30 train every single morning, mainly because he’s always awake early. In fact, he’s barely slept since his dad died.

But when Nadia reads a note in the Missed Connections segment of the daily transport paper, she is gobsmacked.

‘To the devastatingly cute girl with the coffee stains on her dress…’

This couldn’t be her, could it? It turns out it is and this simple message in a transport paper begins the collection of near-misses and almost romances. Will these two people end up beating the odds and actually meet? Or will Nadia forever wonder if that message actually was for her.

This bright, bubbly and altogether fun book is simply a happy read. You read it and feel happy. You are full of hope and the desire to see the good around you. The book is set in London, with all the joys that the city, and especially the London Underground system can bring. Having lived in London, I found myself laughing out loud over the incredibly accurate descriptions in this book. Nadia is relatable, with all her rushing about and clumsy comments. Daniel is wonderful, caring for his widowed mother, while still working and saving for a house deposit. Right from the beginning, you are wishing these two would just meet. But half the story is the delicious build-up of will-they-wont-they!

The book pays homage to the wonderful Nora Ephron and her suite of movies, directly quoting lines from You’ve Got Mail, and with references to Sleepless in Seattle. One character makes a reference to You’ve Got Mail ‘actually being a good movie, even though it’s a rom-com’. It’s easy to see the comparison Williams was making here. Our Stop is also a rom-com, with fantastic character development, along with strong and varied secondary characters. It’s a well-rounded, touching and heart-warming love story. But let’s just say that a bouquet of freshly sharpened pencils is always a good idea.

In today’s world of dating apps, it was refreshing to read about a couple who tried something different. Our Stop is a fun, fresh, feminist story that makes us wonder if true love exists. It certainly made me reflect on the power of the written word, and has me paying a little more attention to the people I pass on the street or the train – you never know who you could meet!

Buy a copy of Our Stop here.

About the author


Laura Jane Williams is a columnist for Red magazine and the author of two non-fiction books, including Becoming which was based on her experiences of romance and love.

Reviews

A Touching and Heart-Warming Love Story: Read an Extract from Our Stop by Laura Jane Williams

Review | Extract

28 November 2019

A Touching and Heart-Warming Love Story: Read an Extract from Our Stop by Laura Jane Williams

    Our Stop by Laura Jane Williams: Your Preview Verdict

    Review | Preview

    19 November 2019

    Our Stop by Laura Jane Williams: Your Preview Verdict

      Preview Reviews: Our Stop by Laura Jane Williams

      Review | Preview

      19 November 2019

      Preview Reviews: Our Stop by Laura Jane Williams

        Related Articles

        I Became a National Dating Columnist: Q&A with Our Stop Author, Laura Jane Williams

        News | Author Related

        21 November 2019

        I Became a National Dating Columnist: Q&A with Our Stop Author, Laura Jane Williams

          Publisher details

          Our Stop
          Author
          Laura Jane Williams
          Publisher
          HarperCollins
          Genre
          Romance
          Released
          13 June, 2019

          Synopsis

          A wonderfully funny will-they-won’t-they romance, perfect for those who loved Sally Thorne’s 99% Mine and Helena Hunting’s Meet Cute.What if you almost missed the love of your life?Nadia gets the 7:30am train every morning without fail. Well, except if she oversleeps or wakes up at her friend Emma’s after too much wine.Daniel really does get the 7:30am train every morning, which is easy because he hasn’t been able to sleep properly since his dad died.One morning, Nadia’s eye catches sight of a post in the daily paper:To the cute girl with the coffee stains on her dress. I’m the guy who’s always standing near the doors… Drink sometime?So begins a not-quite-romance of near-misses, true love, and the power of the written word.
          Laura Jane Williams
          About the author

          Laura Jane Williams

          Laura Jane Williams is a columnist for Red magazine and the author of two non-fiction books, including Becoming which was based on her experiences of romance and love.

          Books by Laura Jane Williams

          COMMENTS

          Leave a Reply

          Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *