You’ll Absolutely Love Kelly Rimmer’s Truths I Never Told You

You’ll Absolutely Love Kelly Rimmer’s Truths I Never Told You

From the bestselling author of The Things We Cannot Say comes a poignant novel about the fault in memories and the lies that can bond a family together—or tear it apart.

It begins with the discovery of a tattered letter in the attic … 

1959: Grace is a young mother with four children under four. All she ever wanted was to have a family of her own, but there are thoughts Grace cannot share with anyone in the months after childbirth. Instead she pours her deepest fears into the pages of a notebook, hiding them where she knows husband Patrick will never look. When Grace falls pregnant again, she turns to her sister, Maryanne, for help.

1996: When Beth’s father, Patrick, is diagnosed with dementia, she and her siblings make the heart-wrenching decision to put him into care. As Beth is clearing the family home, she discovers a series of notes in what appears to be her late mother’s handwriting. Beth and her siblings grew up believing their mother died in a car accident when they were little more than toddlers, but this note suggests something much darker may be true. Beth soon pieces together a disturbing portrait of a woman suffering from postpartum depression and a husband who bears little resemblance to the loving father Beth and her siblings know. With a newborn of her own and struggling with motherhood, Beth finds there may be more tying her and her mother together than she ever suspected.

Truths I Never Told You is an unputdownable, unforgettable tale of motherhood and marriage by Kelly Rimmer, bestselling author of Before I Let You Go and The Things We Cannot Say. Kelly knows how to deliver a power-packed tale and does so here with this emotionally charged story set across two time periods. Duel timelines, one in the 1990s and the other during the 1960s, and multiple viewpoints are weaved seamlessly together to produce a heart-tugging story of family secrets. The choice of these two fairly recent time periods is interesting, and as a reader in 2020, it’s a lesson in things that have and have not changed for women. There are also complex issues dealt with, including depression and ageing parents, but Rimmer handles these respectfully and with deep empathy.

I love Kelly Rimmer’s storytelling. She’s one author I read, and then immediately pass the books on to my mother. She writes heartfelt, real and often extremely raw books for and about women and she excels at them. If you are already a fan, you’ll be thrilled with Truths I Never Told You. If you’re yet to discover this marvellous author, I guarantee, you’ll devour this and then immediately be looking up her backlist.

Reviews

I Spoke with More than a Dozen Survivors of PND: Kelly Rimmer on Researching Truths I Never Told You

Review | Author Related

27 February 2020

I Spoke with More than a Dozen Survivors of PND: Kelly Rimmer on Researching Truths I Never Told You

    Read a Chapter of Kelly Rimmer's Powerful New Novel, Truths I Never Told You

    Review | Extract

    25 February 2020

    Read a Chapter of Kelly Rimmer's Powerful New Novel, Truths I Never Told You

      Related Articles

      Podcast: Kelly Rimmer on Why Nothing Compares to When Readers Share their Personal Stories

      Podcast

      27 April 2020

      Podcast: Kelly Rimmer on Why Nothing Compares to When Readers Share their Personal Stories

        Blood, Sweat, Tears and Wisdom: Kelly Rimmer on how her family story inspired The Things We Cannot Say

        News

        25 March 2019

        Blood, Sweat, Tears and Wisdom: Kelly Rimmer on how her family story inspired The Things We Cannot Say

          The Spark of Inspiration: Read a Q&A with Kelly Rimmer about her new novel, The Things We Cannot Say

          News

          13 March 2019

          The Spark of Inspiration: Read a Q&A with Kelly Rimmer about her new novel, The Things We Cannot Say

            Deeply Moving and Life-Affirming: Read an extract from The Things We cannot Say by Kelly Rimmer

            News

            8 March 2019

            Deeply Moving and Life-Affirming: Read an extract from The Things We cannot Say by Kelly Rimmer

              Podcast: How I Became A Bestselling Author with Kelly Rimmer

              Podcast

              3 April 2018

              Podcast: How I Became A Bestselling Author with Kelly Rimmer

                Rising Stars

                News

                8 March 2018

                Rising Stars

                  This Friday: The Australian author who will ignite your book club

                  News

                  5 March 2018

                  This Friday: The Australian author who will ignite your book club

                    Emotional, Illuminating, Gripping: Start reading Kelly Rimmer's psychological thriller Before I Let You Go

                    News

                    28 February 2018

                    Emotional, Illuminating, Gripping: Start reading Kelly Rimmer's psychological thriller Before I Let You Go

                      My Sister, My Nightmare: Before I Let You Go by Kelly Rimmer

                      News

                      27 February 2018

                      My Sister, My Nightmare: Before I Let You Go by Kelly Rimmer

                        Publisher details

                        Truths I Never Told You
                        Author
                        Kelly Rimmer
                        Publisher
                        Hachette
                        Genre
                        Australian Fiction
                        Released
                        25 February, 2020

                        Synopsis

                        It begins with the discovery of a tattered letter in the attic ...A heart-tugging story of family secrets by the Top 10 bestselling Australian author1959: Grace is a young mother with four children under four. All she ever wanted was to have a family of her own, but there are thoughts Grace cannot share with anyone in the months after childbirth. Instead she pours her deepest fears into the pages of a notebook, hiding them where she knows husband Patrick will never look. When Grace falls pregnant again, she turns to her sister, Maryanne, for help.1996: When Beth's father, Patrick, is diagnosed with dementia, she and her siblings make the heart-wrenching decision to put him into care. As Beth is clearing the family home, she discovers a series of notes. Patrick's children grew up believing their mother died in a car accident, but these notes suggest something much darker may be true.Truths I Never Told You is the unputdownable, unforgettable story of motherhood and marriage by Kelly Rimmer, author of Before I Let You Go and The Things We Cannot Say.
                        Kelly Rimmer
                        About the author

                        Kelly Rimmer

                        Kelly Rimmer is the USA Today bestselling women’s fiction author of five novels, including Me Without You and The Secret Daughter. She lives in rural Australia with her husband, 2 children and fantastically naughty dogs, Sully and Basil. Her novels have been translated into more than 20 languages.

                        Books by Kelly Rimmer

                        COMMENTS

                        Leave a Reply

                        Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *