Better Reading Preview: Khaki Town by Judy Nunn

Better Reading Preview: Khaki Town by Judy Nunn

Our next Preview title is Khaki Town by Judy Nunn. To register your interest in being a Preview reviewer for this title, just fill out the form below. Please only enter once, and please note we have 50 copies of this book to give away:

Sorry, the number of entries for this title has been reached. Please look out for our next Preview title, coming soon!

Better Reading Preview: An exclusive chance to read and review free books before anyone else

We invite our trusted community to engage directly with the nation-wide conversation about books by registering for Preview, our new crowd-sourced book review platform. Due to the insight and perceptiveness of our readers, we are launching a platform that allows your voice to be heard.

How do I express interest in reviewing a book?

Like us on Facebook or subscribe to our newsletter (if you haven’t already!) to hear about the next Preview campaign.

When a campaign is launched, the first 50 people to successfully express interest in becoming a Preview reviewer, by filling in the registration form, will be selected to receive and review a free advance copy of the specified book. Usually these advance copies are printed three to four months before they hit bookshops, making Preview a great way to find out about upcoming titles before anyone else.

But be warned – there are only limited copies of each Preview book available for review, so you need to register your interest immediately.

When you register you are expressing interest for the following:

A free advance copy of the specified book sent to your postal address, in exchange for a brief review of the book that may be used for promotional purposes by Better Reading and the relevant publisher.

Important details:

– We need all your details, including your email address and postal address, for your expression of interest to be successful.

– Preview is currently only open to Australia-based readers.

– A successful registration to review a Preview book is for that single title, only. With every new Preview book announced, you will need to express interest again.

– When announced, Preview expressions of interest are open for one week, OR until all reviewing spots have been filled.

– Better Reading and the relevant publisher will never share the details provided by Preview reviewers for any purposes beyond the relevant Preview campaign.

– Preview demand is very high, and there are only limited spots available for each title. To keep things fair, if you fail to provide a review for a Preview title on two occasions, you will unfortunately not be selected for future Preview titles.

What happens after I express interest?

If you have been successful, you will receive a confirmation email shortly afterwards from Better Reading. This will contain a review deadline and a link through which to submit your review. It will also contain other details on the reviewing process.

About your Preview review:

– Preview reviews may feature on the Better Reading website and the Better Reading Facebook page. The relevant publisher may also use the reviews for promotion. When reviews are used for promotional purposes, each reviewer will only be identified by their first name and Australian state. Reviews may be edited slightly, just for the purposes of brevity and clarity.

– Social media posts about Preview may be shared by Better Reading on its social media channels and/ or website.

– All Preview reviews must be no longer than 200 words and must be received by the deadline specified in your confirmation email. You will generally have four weeks to submit your review, from the time you receive your book.

– We want you to have fun with Preview – post photos of your book on Instagram or Facebook when you receive it, and when you’ve read it, share your thoughts using the hashtag #BRPreview. Be sure to tag Better Reading in your posts – we love to hear from our readers! And if you have a Goodreads account, we encourage you to share your reviews there too.

Related Articles

Kids & YA Preview: An Exclusive Chance to Read and Review Free Books Before Anyone Else

News | Book Life

3 June 2021

Kids & YA Preview: An Exclusive Chance to Read and Review Free Books Before Anyone Else

Podcast: Judy Nunn Discusses Life and Storytelling, Through both Acting and Writing

Podcast

4 November 2019

Podcast: Judy Nunn Discusses Life and Storytelling, Through both Acting and Writing

    I was Inspired by a Particularly Horrendous Event: Q&A with Khaki Town Author, Judy Nunn.

    News | Author Related

    15 October 2019

    I was Inspired by a Particularly Horrendous Event: Q&A with Khaki Town Author, Judy Nunn.

      Q&A with Judy Nunn, author of Sanctuary

      News

      22 November 2017

      Q&A with Judy Nunn, author of Sanctuary

        Today is Tomorrow's History: Judy Nunn on the Better Reading Podcast

        Podcast

        17 October 2017

        Today is Tomorrow's History: Judy Nunn on the Better Reading Podcast

          Start Reading Judy Nunn's latest Sanctuary

          News

          16 October 2017

          Start Reading Judy Nunn's latest Sanctuary

            Dazzling: Judy Nunn's latest novel Sanctuary

            News

            16 October 2017

            Dazzling: Judy Nunn's latest novel Sanctuary

              Friday Night-In @ Better Reading

              News

              6 October 2017

              Friday Night-In @ Better Reading

                Author Q&A: Judy Nunn on Australian fiction and the St Albans Writers' Festival

                News

                9 September 2016

                Author Q&A: Judy Nunn on Australian fiction and the St Albans Writers' Festival

                  Synopsis

                  It seems to have happened overnight, Val thought . How extraordinary. We’ve become a khaki town. It’s March 1942. Singapore has fallen. Darwin has been bombed. Australia is on the brink of being invaded by the Imperial Japanese Forces. And Val Callahan, publican of The Brown’s Bar in Townsville, could not be happier as she contemplates the fortune she’s making from lonely, thirsty soldiers. Overnight the small Queensland city is transformed into the transport hub for 70,000 American and Australian soldiers destined for combat in the South Pacific. Barbed wire and gun emplacements cover the beaches. Historic buildings are commandeered. And the dance halls are in full swing with jazz, jitterbug and jive. The Australian troops begrudge the confident, well-fed ‘Yanks’ who have taken over their town and their women. There’s growing conflict, too, within the American ranks, because black GIs are enjoying the absence of segregation. And the white GIs don't like it. As racial violence explodes through the ranks of the military, a young United States Congressman, Lyndon Baines Johnson, is sent to Townsville by his president to investigate. ‘Keep a goddamned lid on it, Lyndon,’ he is told, ‘lest it explode in our faces …’ Judy Nunn’s exciting new novel, a no.1 bestseller, is inspired by a true wartime story that has remained a well-kept secret for over seventy years.
                  Judy Nunn
                  About the author

                  Judy Nunn

                  Judy Nunn’s career has been long, illustrious and multifaceted. After combining her internationally successful acting career with scriptwriting for television and radio, Judy decided in the 90s to turn her hand to prose. Her first three novels, The Glitter Game, Centre Stage and Araluen, set respectively in the worlds of television, theatre and film, became instant bestsellers, and the rest is history, quite literally in fact. She has since developed a love of writing Australian historically-based fiction and her fame as a novelist has spread rapidly throughout Europe where she is published in English, German, French, Dutch, Czech and Spanish. Her subsequent bestsellers, Kal, Beneath the Southern Cross, Territory, Pacific, Heritage, Floodtide, Maralinga,Tiger Men,Elianne, Spirits of the Ghan, Sanctuary and Khaki Town confirmed Judy’s position as one of Australia’s leading fiction writers. She has now sold over one million books in Australia alone. In 2015 Judy was made a Member of the Order of Australia for her "significant service to the performing arts as a scriptwriter and actor of stage and screen, and to literature as an author."

                  Books by Judy Nunn

                  COMMENTS

                  Leave a Reply

                  Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

                  1. Christine Gilbert says:

                    Would love to do a preview of this book!

                  2. Deborah Bolam says:

                    Judy Nunn such a great author

                  3. Anna Loder says:

                    I would love to too

                  4. Sue says:

                    I have read all of Judy Nunns books and have purchased most of them.
                    Love her books!

                  5. Sue Hall says:

                    Yes please

                  6. Susan Moore says:

                    I’d love to review Judy Nunn’s new book. I’ve read some of her previous books and loved them (and they make good presents for my gal pals).

                  7. Katrina baxter says:

                    I would love to get into previewing books

                  8. Victoria Anderson says:

                    This sounds like an excellent read!

                  9. Karren Sandercock says:

                    Yes please, I read and write reviews.

                  10. Judy Merrett says:

                    I look forward to Judy Nunn’s books every year!!

                  11. Merilyn Ciancotti says:

                    Currently enjoy reviewing books for Better Reading. This sounds like another excellent title.

                  12. Annette Dale says:

                    Please include me in the Reviewing team.

                  13. Aleisha kohler says:

                    This would be amazing

                  14. Chris Fairbairn says:

                    Yes please! I would love to preview Khaki Town

                  15. I always enjoy a Judy Nunn book and I especially love historical stories about Australia.

                  16. Tracy Grayson says:

                    I absolutely love Judy Nunn! I’d be honoured to preview her new book.

                  17. Margaret Armstrong says:

                    I have enjoyed all Judy Nunn’s books and am looking forward to read her next one.

                  18. Sue Mason says:

                    Love Judy Nunn as an author. Have read all of her books.

                  19. Like and enjoy her books they are based on facts that most general Aussies would never get to hear about. History along with a little fiction appeals to me

                  20. Lorraine Craven says:

                    I would love to read this book. Not just to enjoy a Judy Nunn book, but to learn more about our fascinating history.

                  21. Suzi Vincent says:

                    I would love to review Judy Nunn’s new book. I enjoy a book based on a true story so can’t wait to read it!

                  22. Cinzia says:

                    I would love to preview and review this book. I’m not sure how to sign up exactly so I hope this post is the correct way to vest my interest.

                  23. Margaret says:

                    Judy is beautiful woman and a great author, her work from beginning to end well you can’t put it down.

                  24. Sharon Harland says:

                    Love Judy’s book topics that give an interesting insight to events in Australian history

                  25. Maureen Allert says:

                    Have read all of Judys books and enjoy the immensely. The history in all of her books add another dimension.

                  26. Caroline Gunnulson says:

                    Love Judy Nunn books.

                  27. Alyssa says:

                    Would love to preview this book

                  28. Coral Dowling says:

                    I would love to read Judy’s latest story, I hope it will be as good as her others.

                  29. Sarah says:

                    Extremely interested in previewing and reviewing this book. I’m an avid reader and also enjoy writing

                  30. Elaine Kennedy says:

                    Ilove to read books, especially those based in Australia. I have read most of Judy Nunn’s previous books and this one looks very interesting.

                  31. Catherine Cavanagh says:

                    I have read all of Judy Nunn’s published books and attended a special event with Judy hosted by our local council some years back..”Elianne” was Judy’s latest book at that time. …big fan.

                  32. Kara Cubitt says:

                    Would love to review this book I have read all her books wonderful work

                  33. Jacinta Nimmo says:

                    I would love to read, and preview this book, as she is a wonderful writer, and I love to read her.

                  34. Angelynn Gill says:

                    I would love to read Judy Nunn’s book..

                  35. Angelynn Gill says:

                    I would love to read her latest book and review it.

                  36. Karen Vardon says:

                    I would love to review Judy’s new books. Her books are always a great read.

                    Thanks