The Perfect Cosy Mystery: Read an Extract from Digging Up Dirt by Pamela Hart

The Perfect Cosy Mystery: Read an Extract from Digging Up Dirt by Pamela Hart

‘Hello, miss?’ It was Boris, my carpenter, and he sounded worried. ‘Miss, I found something.’

‘Something? What? Where?’

‘I dug the hole for the post. I found …’ His voice dropped. ‘… body.’

‘What?’

‘A body, miss.’

‘What kind of body?’ I was thinking, for some reason, of an old car body—a Valiant or a Ford or something, and wondering how they’d got it in the door.

‘You know, bones. Skellington.’

‘A skeleton?’ I almost dropped the phone. And I’m ashamed to admit it, but my first thought was, This is going to completely stuff up my renovations

Continue reading the extract here…

Reviews

Your Preview Verdict: Digging Up Dirt by Pamela Hart

Review | News | Preview

15 June 2021

Your Preview Verdict: Digging Up Dirt by Pamela Hart

    Nothing Stops Renovations Faster Than a Dead Body: Read our Review of Digging Up Dirt by Pamela Hart

    Review | Our Review

    15 June 2021

    Nothing Stops Renovations Faster Than a Dead Body: Read our Review of Digging Up Dirt by Pamela Hart

      Related Articles

      Author Pamela Hart on Women in WWI and the books that influenced her work

      News

      20 April 2016

      Author Pamela Hart on Women in WWI and the books that influenced her work

        Mother's Day Pick

        News

        8 May 2015

        Mother's Day Pick

          Synopsis

          Renovations are hell. And that's before you find the body beneath the floorboards. An intriguing mystery from a stylish new voice in crime fiction, for readers of Kerry Greenwood and Holly Throsby. When your builder finds bones under the floor of your heritage home, what do you do? For TV researcher Poppy McGowan, the first step is to find out if the bones are human (which means calling in the cops and delaying her renovations) or animal (which doesn't). Unfortunately, 'help' comes in the form of Dr Julieanne Weaver, archaeologist, political hopeful, and Poppy's old enemy. She declares the bones evidence of a rare breed of fat-tailed sheep, and slaps a heritage order on the site. The resultant archaeological dig introduces Poppy to Tol Lang, the best-looking archaeologist she's ever met - and also Julieanne's boyfriend. When Julieanne is found murdered in Poppy's house, both she and the increasingly attractive Tol are considered suspects - and so Poppy uses her media contacts and news savvy to investigate other suspects. Did Julieanne have enemies in the right-wing Australian Family Party, for which she was seeking preselection, or in the affiliated Radiant Joy Church? Or at the Museum of New South Wales, among her rivals and ex-boyfriends? And who was her secret lover? Can Poppy save herself, and Tol ... and finally get her house back?
          Pamela Hart
          About the author

          Pamela Hart

          Pamela Hart is an award-winning author for both adults and children. She has a Doctorate of Creative Arts from the University of Technology, Sydney, where she has also lectured in creative writing. Writing under the name Pamela Freeman, she wrote the historical novel The Black Dress, which won the NSW Premier's History Prize for 2006 and is now in its third edition. Pamela is also well known for her fantasy novels for adults, published by Orbit worldwide, the Castings Trilogy and her Aurealis Award winning novel Ember And Ash. Pamela lives in Sydney with her husband and their son, and teaches at the Australian Writers' Centre.

          Books by Pamela Hart

          COMMENTS

          Leave a Reply

          Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *