Wise, Witty and Richly Nuanced: Read our Review of Kaneana May’s All We Have is Now

Wise, Witty and Richly Nuanced: Read our Review of Kaneana May’s All We Have is Now

Healing others is their calling, but what happens if they can’t fix themselves? 

Health and wellbeing brought Olive, Elsie and Bree together. After five years, their bustling wellness centre is demanding expansion. A beautiful federation house nestled among the picturesque backdrop of their small town is the perfect place to grow their business. But they don’t count on their personal lives getting in the way.

Practical and pragmatic, Olive keeps her past hidden from her friends. But when an old high-school flame shows up, the secrets she’s worked so hard to bury threaten to tear her carefully constructed world apart.

Bree is the fun-loving one, although family tensions lurk behind her free-spirited facade. The reappearance of her troubled sister Winnie brings Bree’s priorities into sharp focus. Will she have to shelve her own happiness to save her sister?

Kind and maternal to all those around her, Elsie’s role as the practice’s counsellor comes naturally. But when tragedy strikes, her world tumbles down like a house of cards.

With everything they’ve built in disarray, their friendship is on the line…

Kaneana May’s debut was The One, a highly entertaining read set against the backdrop of a Bachelor-style TV show. Kaneana worked in television for years and exposed the absurdity of these reality shows without stooping to ridicule. Popular with our readers, I was really looking forward to seeing what she delivered next.

While I enjoyed The One, I absolutely loved All We Have is Now. This time, the setting is a wellness retreat, and once again, May delivers the humour and quirks of that world and the characters in it without ever mocking it. Well plotted and fast paced, it’s a real page-turner but also has a lot of depth.

All We Have is Now is a richly nuanced and empathetic examination of life, loss and courage. The story switches perspectives between Bree, Elsie and Olive, who are all incredibly compelling in their own ways. So much is weaved into this book; themes around motherhood, friendship, addiction, grief and so much more. May went on a deep dive into the very heart of good storytelling. She has nailed that dreaded second novel and gone from ‘author to watch’ to ‘author I love’. All We Have is Now is wonderful.

I laughed, I cried (like, really cried) and I loved it.

Reviews

Your Preview Verdict: All We Have Is Now by Kaneana May

Review | Preview

22 April 2021

Your Preview Verdict: All We Have Is Now by Kaneana May

    You'll Laugh, You'll Cry: Read an Extract from All We Have Is Now by Kaneana May

    Review | Extract

    21 April 2021

    You'll Laugh, You'll Cry: Read an Extract from All We Have Is Now by Kaneana May

      Related Articles

      Podcast: The One Author, Kaneana May talks about Writing For TV and the Road to Publication

      Podcast

      21 August 2019

      Podcast: The One Author, Kaneana May talks about Writing For TV and the Road to Publication

        Kaneana May, Author of The One, Tells Us About the Road to Publication

        News

        25 July 2019

        Kaneana May, Author of The One, Tells Us About the Road to Publication

          If you love a Happily Ever After, you’ll love this: Read an Extract from The One by Kaneana May

          News

          24 July 2019

          If you love a Happily Ever After, you’ll love this: Read an Extract from The One by Kaneana May

            Spending Time with a Story Brings a Great Sense of Satisfaction: Q&A with Kaneana May, Author of The One

            News

            24 July 2019

            Spending Time with a Story Brings a Great Sense of Satisfaction: Q&A with Kaneana May, Author of The One

              A Highly Entertaining Debut: Read a Review of The One by Kaneana May

              News

              23 July 2019

              A Highly Entertaining Debut: Read a Review of The One by Kaneana May

                Publisher details

                All We Have Is Now
                Author
                Kaneana May
                Publisher
                HQ Fiction
                Genre
                Fiction
                Released
                07 April, 2021
                ISBN
                9781867208365

                Synopsis

                Healing others is their calling, but what happens if they can't fix themselves? A richly nuanced and empathetic examination of life, loss and courage from a talented new Australian author. Health and wellbeing brought Olive, Elsie and Bree together. After five years, their bustling wellness centre is demanding expansion. A beautiful federation house nestled among the picturesque backdrop of their small town is the perfect place to grow their business. But they don't count on their personal lives getting in the way. Practical and pragmatic, Olive keeps her past hidden from her friends. But when an old high-school flame shows up, the secrets she's worked so hard to bury threaten to tear her carefully constructed world apart. Bree is the fun-loving one, although family tensions lurk behind her free-spirited facade. The reappearance of her troubled sister Winnie brings Bree's priorities into sharp focus. Will she have to shelve her own happiness to save her sister? Kind and maternal to all those around her, Elsie's role as the practice's counsellor comes naturally. But when tragedy strikes, her world tumbles down like a house of cards. With everything they've built in disarray, their friendship is on the line...
                Kaneana May
                About the author

                Kaneana May

                Kaneana May studied television production at university, graduating with first-class honours in screenwriting. She went on to work in television, including roles as a script assistant on All Saints, a storyliner on Headland and a scriptwriter on Home and Away. Since becoming a mother, Kaneana has turned her attention to fiction writing. Kaneana loves to read—mostly YA, romance and women's fiction—and also loves watching TV and films. Writing, boot camp, coffee, chocolate and champagne are just some of her favourite things. Kaneana lives on the Mid North Coast of New South Wales with her husband and three children.
                 

                Books by Kaneana May

                COMMENTS

                Leave a Reply

                Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *