Magical Experience: Read an extract from The House of Second Chances by Esther Campion

Magical Experience: Read an extract from The House of Second Chances by Esther Campion

Start Reading Now

You know the old saying – home is where the heart is – and for many of us, the saying rings true. When called upon, we can think of a place that makes us feel warm and safe, one that houses happy memories and allows us to retreat back to the whimsy, warmth and wonder of our childhood.

For Ellen and Aidan, their grandmother’s stone cottage in West Cork was always such a place. Long-neglected, the property is in need of some TLC, and, after returning home from Australia, Ellen is eager to restore the property to its former glory. She enlists the help of her dear friend, Colette Barry, who also happens to be one of Ireland’s top interior designers.

Aidan, however, is already begrudging the building work on the house he has actively avoided for almost 20 years now. What Ellen sees as a precious house brimming with happy memories of their bygone childhood summer retreats, Aidan sees as a painful reminder of what has been lost. To make matters worse, Colette seems to be complicating everything, and Aidan is confused about his feelings towards her. Colette too, has her own personal heartaches to overcome, and it isn’t long before the two realise that maybe, just like the old, run down cottage, they too deserve a second chance.

An enchanting novel about starting over, The House of Second Chances transports readers from coastal Australia to the rugged emerald beauty of Ireland, as it poignantly explores memories and emotions and the ways in which people, like houses, can be abandoned and restored. Significantly, the stone cottage in West Cork becomes a character of its own, challenging Ellen, Aidan, and Colette to overcome and reflect on their own personal heartaches and fears. Seeing each character transform with the cottage’s refurbishment is a magical experience. A beautiful metaphor, and one that is not at all forced or cliche – a testament to Campion’s ability to write straight from the heart with a voice so genuine and intimate, it’s as if you are listening to an old friend.

Fans of Monica McInerney will be drawn to the warmth and humour of Campion’s story-telling, especially the skill with which she effortlessly weaves an intricate tapestry of emotion and longing so real, that it wraps itself around you from start to finish.

About the author:

Esther Campion is from Cork, Ireland and currently lives in north-west Tasmania. She attended North Presentation Secondary School in Cork and has degrees from University College Cork and the University of Aberdeen, Scotland. Esther and her Orcadian husband have lived together in Ireland, Scotland, Norway and South Australia. They have two grown-up children in Adelaide and the youngest at home in Tassie. Esther loves sharing her life on a small property with an over-indulged chocolate Labrador, a smoochy cat and a couple of ageing mares, all of whom she firmly believes are living proof that dreams really can come true. The House of Second Chances is Esther’s second novel, following Leaving Ocean Road.

Purchase a copy of The House of Second Chances here 

 

 

Related Articles

Author, Esther Campion on Redecorating, Keto and Big Magic in Lockdown

News | Author Related

28 April 2020

Author, Esther Campion on Redecorating, Keto and Big Magic in Lockdown

    Hilarious Huggabie Falls Finale: Read an extract from The Utterly Indescribable Thing that Happened in Huggabie Falls by Adam Cece

    Kids & Ya

    1 May 2019

    Hilarious Huggabie Falls Finale: Read an extract from The Utterly Indescribable Thing that Happened in Huggabie Falls by Adam Cece

    Compelling True Crime: Read an extract from Murder on Easey Street by Helen Thomas

    News

    15 March 2019

    Compelling True Crime: Read an extract from Murder on Easey Street by Helen Thomas

      Hilarious, Honest, and Inspiring: Read an extract from Thirty Thousand Bottles of Wine and a Pig Called Helga by Todd Alexander

      News

      15 March 2019

      Hilarious, Honest, and Inspiring: Read an extract from Thirty Thousand Bottles of Wine and a Pig Called Helga by Todd Alexander

        Deeply Moving and Life-Affirming: Read an extract from The Things We cannot Say by Kelly Rimmer

        News

        8 March 2019

        Deeply Moving and Life-Affirming: Read an extract from The Things We cannot Say by Kelly Rimmer

          Captivating, Sparkling Gem: Read a sample chapter from Star-Crossed by Minnie Darke

          News

          6 March 2019

          Captivating, Sparkling Gem: Read a sample chapter from Star-Crossed by Minnie Darke

            Rollercoaster Ride: Esther Campion, The House of Second Chances author, talks about her writing journey

            News

            20 February 2019

            Rollercoaster Ride: Esther Campion, The House of Second Chances author, talks about her writing journey

              Engrossing Tale of Light VS Dark: Read an extract from Crucible by James Rollins

              News

              15 February 2019

              Engrossing Tale of Light VS Dark: Read an extract from Crucible by James Rollins

                Captivating and Breathtaking: Read an extract from Driving into the Sun by Marcella Polain

                News

                15 February 2019

                Captivating and Breathtaking: Read an extract from Driving into the Sun by Marcella Polain

                  Turning Back Time: Read an extract from The Lost Girls by Jennifer Spence

                  News

                  13 February 2019

                  Turning Back Time: Read an extract from The Lost Girls by Jennifer Spence

                    Synopsis

                    Can a house heal heartache? From coastal Australia to the rugged beauty of Ireland, an enchanting novel of starting over, in the tradition of Maeve Binchy and Monica McInerneyTheir grandmother's stone cottage was always a welcome retreat in the childhood summers of Ellen and Aidan O'SheaAfter a trip home from Australia, Ellen is keen to bring the neglected property back to its former glory and enlists the help of her dear friend and one of Ireland's top interior designers, Colette Barry.Aidan is already begrudging the work on the house he has avoided for nearly twenty years. The last thing the builder needs is an interior designer who seems to do nothing but complicate his life. With their own personal heartaches to overcome, will Aidan and Colette find the courage to give the house and themselves a second chance?Praise for Esther Campion's debut novel, Leaving Ocean Road:'Warm, wise and full of humour. Esther Campion is a wonderful new voice in Australian fiction' CATHY KELLY'Join[s] the captivating Maeve Binchy in the pantheon of popular Irish novelists' Irish Scene'An intelligent novel. Esther Campion has woven a poignant story about that journey everyone takes to find their own beloved place in the wide wide world' Better Reading
                    Esther Campion
                    About the author

                    Esther Campion

                    Esther Campion is from Cork, Ireland and currently lives in north-west Tasmania. She attended North Presentation Convent in Cork and has degrees from University College Cork and the University of Aberdeen, Scotland. Esther and her Orcadian husband have lived in Ireland, Scotland, Norway and South Australia. They have a grown-up daughter in Adelaide and the two youngest at home in Tassie with an over-indulged chocolate Labrador and two horses, which Esther firmly believes are living proof that dreams really can come true.

                    Books by Esther Campion

                    COMMENTS

                    Leave a Reply

                    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *