Rollercoaster Ride: Esther Campion, The House of Second Chances author, talks about her writing journey

Rollercoaster Ride: Esther Campion, The House of Second Chances author, talks about her writing journey

Thanks so much Better Reading for having me on your blog. I honestly can’t believe we are about to launch my second novel, The House of Second Chances, after what’s been a roller-coaster ride since I received the offer of a two-book deal from Hachette Australia back in December 2015. Success certainly does not come overnight when it comes to writing books, but I am glad I stuck in when the going got tough.

My writing journey began about twelve years ago when I lived in Norway and fancied having a go at a distance learning course in creative writing. Without a social element, however, that didn’t last long. As anyone who knows me will tell you, if a project doesn’t involve conversation over cups of tea or coffee, or a glass of something stronger, it’s never going to hold my interest. After I’d moved to South Australia, I tried again, but Port Lincoln at the time didn’t have the kind of course I was looking for. When I made contact with the local writing group, they invited me to a meeting to which I went along absolutely terrified, having nothing to share except an email I had sent to friends about my last hours before leaving Norway.

A couple of those friends had said it made them laugh and cry which struck me as something I wanted to do more of. With the support and mentorship of the lovely members of Eyre Writers, I tried my hand at poetry, short stories (very difficult) and eventually novels. I found the long form the most enjoyable. In fact, I have a keyring that says, ‘You’re 100% Irish when you have no idea how to make a long story short.’

For anyone looking for writing advice, my top three tips for what they’re worth are:

– Accept rejection as par for the course

– Take time out to focus on your writing even if it’s an hour in a coffee shop or sitting up in bed with the door shut

– If like me, you get to a point where you’re ready to throw it all away, enlist the services of a good manuscript assessor and keep going.

About the author:

Esther Campion is from Cork, Ireland and currently lives in north-west Tasmania. She attended North Presentation Secondary School in Cork and has degrees from University College Cork and the University of Aberdeen, Scotland. Esther and her Orcadian husband have lived together in Ireland, Scotland, Norway and South Australia. They have two grown-up children in Adelaide and the youngest at home in Tassie. Esther loves sharing her life on a small property with an over-indulged chocolate Labrador, a smoochy cat and a couple of ageing mares, all of whom she firmly believes are living proof that dreams really can come true. The House of Second Chances is Esther’s second novel, following Leaving Ocean Road.

Purchase a copy of The House of Second Chances here 

Read our review of The House of Second Chances here

 

Related Articles

Author, Esther Campion on Redecorating, Keto and Big Magic in Lockdown

News | Author Related

28 April 2020

Author, Esther Campion on Redecorating, Keto and Big Magic in Lockdown

    The Unlikeliest Location of Literary Bliss: Author Jenn J. McLeod Tells Us Where she Finds Books on the Road

    News

    9 September 2019

    The Unlikeliest Location of Literary Bliss: Author Jenn J. McLeod Tells Us Where she Finds Books on the Road

      Where the Light Enters Author, Sara Donati Shares 5 inspiring books with trailblazing female characters

      News

      3 September 2019

      Where the Light Enters Author, Sara Donati Shares 5 inspiring books with trailblazing female characters

        One Book Can Lead to Another: How Greg Growden Was Compelled to Write Major Thomas

        News

        6 August 2019

        One Book Can Lead to Another: How Greg Growden Was Compelled to Write Major Thomas

          Friendships Always Seem Like They Should Come Easily: Sophie Green, Author of The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle, Talks About The Beauty of Friendship

          News

          1 August 2019

          Friendships Always Seem Like They Should Come Easily: Sophie Green, Author of The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle, Talks About The Beauty of Friendship

            I am Living on the Most Magical Place on Earth: An Article from Dave Glasheen, Author of The Millionaire Castaway

            News

            1 August 2019

            I am Living on the Most Magical Place on Earth: An Article from Dave Glasheen, Author of The Millionaire Castaway

              Na tschuss denn, or Good-bye, Then: An Article by Confession with Blue Horses Author, Sophie Hardach

              News

              29 July 2019

              Na tschuss denn, or Good-bye, Then: An Article by Confession with Blue Horses Author, Sophie Hardach

                Kaneana May, Author of The One, Tells Us About the Road to Publication

                News

                25 July 2019

                Kaneana May, Author of The One, Tells Us About the Road to Publication

                  While You Were Reading Authors, Ali Berg and Michelle Kalus, Talk About Books on the Rail

                  News

                  10 July 2019

                  While You Were Reading Authors, Ali Berg and Michelle Kalus, Talk About Books on the Rail

                    A Fascinating Voyage of Discovery: Kate Furnivall on Researching her New Novel, The Guardian of Lies

                    News

                    10 July 2019

                    A Fascinating Voyage of Discovery: Kate Furnivall on Researching her New Novel, The Guardian of Lies

                      Publisher details

                      The House of Second Chances
                      Author
                      Esther Campion
                      Publisher
                      Hachette
                      Genre
                      Australian Fiction
                      Released
                      12 February, 2019
                      ISBN
                      9780733636172

                      Synopsis

                      Can a house heal heartache? From coastal Australia to the rugged beauty of Ireland, an enchanting novel of starting over, in the tradition of Maeve Binchy and Monica McInerneyTheir grandmother's stone cottage was always a welcome retreat in the childhood summers of Ellen and Aidan O'SheaAfter a trip home from Australia, Ellen is keen to bring the neglected property back to its former glory and enlists the help of her dear friend and one of Ireland's top interior designers, Colette Barry.Aidan is already begrudging the work on the house he has avoided for nearly twenty years. The last thing the builder needs is an interior designer who seems to do nothing but complicate his life. With their own personal heartaches to overcome, will Aidan and Colette find the courage to give the house and themselves a second chance?Praise for Esther Campion's debut novel, Leaving Ocean Road:'Warm, wise and full of humour. Esther Campion is a wonderful new voice in Australian fiction' CATHY KELLY'Join[s] the captivating Maeve Binchy in the pantheon of popular Irish novelists' Irish Scene'An intelligent novel. Esther Campion has woven a poignant story about that journey everyone takes to find their own beloved place in the wide wide world' Better Reading
                      Esther Campion
                      About the author

                      Esther Campion

                      Esther Campion is from Cork, Ireland and currently lives in north-west Tasmania. She attended North Presentation Convent in Cork and has degrees from University College Cork and the University of Aberdeen, Scotland. Esther and her Orcadian husband have lived in Ireland, Scotland, Norway and South Australia. They have a grown-up daughter in Adelaide and the two youngest at home in Tassie with an over-indulged chocolate Labrador and two horses, which Esther firmly believes are living proof that dreams really can come true.

                      Books by Esther Campion

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *