Nightmarish and Mind-Bending: J. P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie, on his top five thrillers

Nightmarish and Mind-Bending: J. P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie, on his top five thrillers

About the author:

J.P. Pomare is an award-winning writer who has had work published in journals
including Meanjin, Kill Your DarlingsTakahe and Mascara Literary Review. He has hosted the On Writing podcast since 2015 featuring bestselling authors from around the globe. He was born in New Zealand and resides in Melbourne with his wife. Call Me Evie is his first novel.

Purchase a copy of Call Me Evie here

Read our review of Call Me Evie here

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

There’s a good reason so many new books are compared to Gone Girl, in fact I doubt a more influential book in this genre exists. The first half of the book is pure suspense, a vivisection of a marriage that from the outside appeared idyllic. The twist comes, the rules change and the second half is a masterclass in thriller writing. I’m yet to have a reading experience like it.

Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane

This book is so hard to define. It’s noir, gothic, mind bending goodness. At times it stretches plausibility to breaking point but I loved it.

Good Me, Bad Me by Ali Land

A gripping read about inherited violence and fitting in, featuring a much more realistic psychopath than you tend to find in this genre. This debut is captivating and surprising in the best way.

The Other Wife by Michael Robotham

Robo keeps getting better. I guessed the twist reasonably early on in this but that still didn’t diminish the reading experience, which for me is the sign of a fantastic thriller – a book that doesn’t rely on twists and gimmicks to keep the reader interested. I’m in awe of Robotham’s longevity and consistency. The Other Wife is one of his best.

I see You by Clare McIntosh

This book is so clever and has one of the most exciting set ups I have encountered. McIntosh, once a police officer, taps into the sense of claustrophobia we can experience on public transport and ratchets the paranoia right up by keeping her nightmarish premise entirely plausible.

Related Articles

I'm Fascinated by Cults: Q&A with In the Clearing Author, J.P. Pomare

News | Author Related

16 January 2020

I'm Fascinated by Cults: Q&A with In the Clearing Author, J.P. Pomare

    On memory, trust, and the importance of place: Q&A with J.P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie

    News

    23 January 2019

    On memory, trust, and the importance of place: Q&A with J.P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie

      Multi-Layered and Refreshingly Different: Read an extract from Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

      News

      16 January 2019

      Multi-Layered and Refreshingly Different: Read an extract from Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

        Stellar Debut Thriller: Review of Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

        News

        15 January 2019

        Stellar Debut Thriller: Review of Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

          Addiction therapy for the cynical: Alice Williams on five books that helped her recovery

          News

          14 January 2019

          Addiction therapy for the cynical: Alice Williams on five books that helped her recovery

            Literary Laughs: Jessica Dettmann on her top five funny books

            News

            14 January 2019

            Literary Laughs: Jessica Dettmann on her top five funny books

              Friendship and Redemption: Anstey Harris on her top 5 books about self discovery

              News

              9 January 2019

              Friendship and Redemption: Anstey Harris on her top 5 books about self discovery

                The Ties That Bind: Alice Nelson on her top 5 favourite books about families

                News

                9 January 2019

                The Ties That Bind: Alice Nelson on her top 5 favourite books about families

                  Rural Reads: Frauke Bolten-Boshammer's favourite books about strong, outback women

                  News

                  19 November 2018

                  Rural Reads: Frauke Bolten-Boshammer's favourite books about strong, outback women

                    Electrifying and Deceptive: Adele Parks on her favourite thriller novels

                    News

                    30 October 2018

                    Electrifying and Deceptive: Adele Parks on her favourite thriller novels

                      Synopsis

                      In this compulsive, twist-filled and haunting psychological suspense debut perfect for fans of Sharp Objects and Room, a seventeen-year-old girl struggles to remember the role she played on the night her life changed forever...****Don't trust him. It wasn't me. It couldn't have been me.Meet Evie, a young woman who has fled with her uncle to the isolated New Zealand beach town of Maketu. Jim says he's hiding her to protect her, that she did something terrible back home in Melbourne. Something Evie can't remember.But Evie isn't her real name. And Jim isn't really her uncle.In a house that creaks against the wind, Evie pieces together the events that led her here. And as her memories return, she starts to wonder if Jim is really her saviour . . . or her captor.A riveting debut novel that fearlessly plumbs the darkest recesses of the mind, Call Me Evie explores the fragility of memory and the potential in all of us to hide the truth even from ourselves.
                      J. P. Pomare
                      About the author

                      J. P. Pomare

                      J.P. Pomare is an award-winning writer who has had work published in journals including Meanjin, Kill Your DarlingsTakahe and Mascara Literary Review. He has hosted the On Writing podcast since 2015 featuring bestselling authors from around the globe. He was born in New Zealand and resides in Melbourne with his wife. Call Me Evie is his first novel.

                      Books by J. P. Pomare

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *