Thrilling Historical Roller-Coaster: Review of The Survivors by Kate Furnivall

Thrilling Historical Roller-Coaster: Review of The Survivors by Kate Furnivall

What’s the worst thing you would do in order to survive? Would you take the life of another if it saved not only your own, but also the life of your child?

Germany, 1945. Klara Janowska and her daughter Alicja have travelled miles to seek refuge at the Graufled Displaced Persons camp. Though the conditions are cramped, dirty, and dangerous, Klara and Alicja – along with 3,200 others – are the lucky ones. They have survived the war, and now they will do anything to find their way back home, to start their lives anew.

But all hope of a peaceful future collapses when Klara recognises a man in the camp from her past. He knows what she did during the war to save her daughter, and Klara knows his secret, too – an identity that he has concealed in order to survive. Each person knows a deep, dark secret about the other, one that could destroy their new, post-war lives.

Will they both keep quiet? And if they do, what is the price of silence? How much trust can you place in another person who in an instant, can destroy your life?  ‘Directly I saw him, I knew he had to die.’

The Survivors by Kate Furnivall is an epic and unforgettable tale of human endurance. Set against the shadow of a long and horrific war, the book explores not only the innate human capacity for greed and destruction, but also people’s astounding ability to recover and persevere in times of extreme hardship.

Furnivall’s use of language is stunning, as is the power of her storytelling to completely transport you to another time and place. I was reading The Survivors on a balmy Spring day, but with her chillingly realistic description of a concentration camp, found myself cold and shivering, reaching for a blanket.

Not only does Kate’s writing impact your senses, it also takes you on an emotional roller-coaster involving fear, rage, relief, terror, inspiration and ultimately, a golden ray of hope.

The book boasts an impressive host of strong, female characters, especially Klara and Alicja, who despite enduring unthinkable atrocities, continue to fight for their lives. Klara is a woman full of fire – brave and fierce with a quick mind and sharp tongue. The mother-daughter bond is a force unto itself, extraordinarily powerful, yet another testament to Kate’s skill at injecting empathy and emotion into her writing without ever sliding into sentimentality.

The Survivors is a superb piece of historical fiction, particularly refreshing for its focus on the aftermath of war and its implications rather than the war itself. The result is a less political and more emotional story, reminding us of the remarkable strength and resilience of those who endured this dark period of history.

And of the preciousness of peace.

About The Author:

Kate Furnivall didn’t set out to be a writer. It sort of grabbed her by the throat when she discovered the story of her grandmother – a White Russian refugee who fled from the Bolsheviks down into China. That extraordinary tale inspired her first book, The Russian Concubine. From then on, she was hooked.

Kate is the author of eight novels, including The Russian Concubine, The White Pearl and The Italian Wife. Her books have been translated into more than twenty languages and have been on the New York Times Bestseller list.

Purchase a copy of The Survivors here 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Related Articles

An Exquisite Exploration into Memory, Imagination and the Books that Shape us: Read a Review of Storytime by Jane Sullivan

News

12 August 2019

An Exquisite Exploration into Memory, Imagination and the Books that Shape us: Read a Review of Storytime by Jane Sullivan

    One of the Best Thrillers of the Year: Read a Review of State of Fear by Tim Ayliffe

    News

    6 August 2019

    One of the Best Thrillers of the Year: Read a Review of State of Fear by Tim Ayliffe

      An Excellent Tribute to a Fascinating Australian Figure: Read a Review of Major Thomas by Greg Growden

      News

      6 August 2019

      An Excellent Tribute to a Fascinating Australian Figure: Read a Review of Major Thomas by Greg Growden

        It is Heartbreaking, and Beautiful: Review of Confession with Blue Horses by Sophie Hardach

        News

        23 July 2019

        It is Heartbreaking, and Beautiful: Review of Confession with Blue Horses by Sophie Hardach

          Australian to the Core: Review of Taking Tom Murray Home by Tim Slee

          News

          23 July 2019

          Australian to the Core: Review of Taking Tom Murray Home by Tim Slee

            Wonderful. A Real Treat: Review of The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle by Sophie Green

            News

            23 July 2019

            Wonderful. A Real Treat: Review of The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle by Sophie Green

              A Highly Entertaining Debut: Read a Review of The One by Kaneana May

              News

              23 July 2019

              A Highly Entertaining Debut: Read a Review of The One by Kaneana May

                A Nail-biting Thriller: Read a Review of Karin Slaughter's The Last Widow

                News

                15 July 2019

                A Nail-biting Thriller: Read a Review of Karin Slaughter's The Last Widow

                  Romantic, Clever and Thought-provoking: Review of Nailed It! by Mel Campbell and Anthony Morris

                  News

                  15 July 2019

                  Romantic, Clever and Thought-provoking: Review of Nailed It! by Mel Campbell and Anthony Morris

                    Topical, Gripping, Perfectly Paced: Review of The Rip by Mark Brandi

                    News

                    10 July 2019

                    Topical, Gripping, Perfectly Paced: Review of The Rip by Mark Brandi

                      Synopsis

                      Discover a brilliant story of love, danger, courage and betrayal, from the internationally bestselling author of The Betrayal.‘Directly I saw him, I knew he had to die.’Germany, 1945. Klara Janowska and her daughter Alicja have walked for weeks to get to Graufeld Displaced Persons camp. In the cramped, dirty, dangerous conditions they, along with 3,200 others, are the lucky ones. They have survived and will do anything to find a way back home.But when Klara recognises a man in the camp from her past, a deadly game of cat and mouse begins.He knows exactly what she did during the war to save her daughter.She knows his real identity.What will be the price of silence? And will either make it out of the camp alive?An unforgettably powerful, epic story of love, loss and the long shadow of war, perfect for readers of Santa Montefiore and Victoria Hislop.
                      Kate Furnivall
                      About the author

                      Kate Furnivall

                      Kate Furnivall is the author of eight novels, including the international bestseller The Russian Concubine. She has travelled widely, giving her an insight into how different cultures function which has proved invaluable when writing her novels.

                      Books by Kate Furnivall

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *