Money Changes Everything: Read an Extract from Just My Luck by Adele Parks

Money Changes Everything: Read an Extract from Just My Luck by Adele Parks

1

Lexi

Saturday, 20th April

I can’t face going straight home to Jake. I’m not ready to deal with this. I need to try to process it first. But how? Where do I start? I have no idea. The blankness in my mind terrifies me. I always know what to do. I always have a solution, a way of tackling something, giving it a happy spin. I’m Lexi Greenwood, the woman everyone knows of as the fixer, the smiler (some might even slightly snidely call me a do-gooder). Lexi Greenwood, wife, mother, friend.

You think you know someone. But you don’t know anyone, not really. You never can.

I need a drink. I drive to our local. Sod it, I’ll leave the car at the pub and walk home, pick it up in the morning. I order a glass of red wine, a large one, then I look for a seat tucked away in the corner where I can down my drink alone. It’s Easter weekend, and a rare hot one. The place is packed. As I thread my way through the heaving bar, a number of neighbours raise a glass, gesturing to me to join them; they ask after the kids and Jake. Everyone else in the pub seems celebratory, buoyant. I feel detached. Lost. That’s the thing about living in a small village, you recognise everyone. Sometimes that reassures me, sometimes it’s inconvenient. I politely and apologetically deflect their friendly overtures and continue in my search for a solitary spot. Saturday vibes are all around me, but I feel nothing other than stunned, stressed, isolated.

Continue reading the extract here

Reviews

So her Books Remain Fresh, Just My Luck Author, Adele Parks Once Scrapped 80,000 Words

Review | Author Related

18 May 2020

So her Books Remain Fresh, Just My Luck Author, Adele Parks Once Scrapped 80,000 Words

    A Win So Big It Changes Everything: Review of Just My Luck by Adele Parks

    Review | Our Review

    4 May 2020

    A Win So Big It Changes Everything: Review of Just My Luck by Adele Parks

      Related Articles

      Live Book Event: Adele Parks in Conversation with Sally Hepworth

      News | Events & Festivals

      10 June 2021

      Live Book Event: Adele Parks in Conversation with Sally Hepworth

        Podcast: Born Storyteller, Adele Parks on the Road to Becoming an Author

        Podcast

        4 March 2020

        Podcast: Born Storyteller, Adele Parks on the Road to Becoming an Author

          Adele Parks, Author of Lies Lies Lies Tells us What Makes a Successful Suspense Thriller

          News

          28 August 2019

          Adele Parks, Author of Lies Lies Lies Tells us What Makes a Successful Suspense Thriller

            I’m Interested in Extremes: Q&A with Lies Lies Lies Author Adele Parks

            News

            20 August 2019

            I’m Interested in Extremes: Q&A with Lies Lies Lies Author Adele Parks

              Grabs you on Page One and Doesn’t Let Up: Read an Extract from Lies Lies Lies by Adele Parks

              News

              13 August 2019

              Grabs you on Page One and Doesn’t Let Up: Read an Extract from Lies Lies Lies by Adele Parks

                Gripping and Heartbreaking: Read a Review of Lies Lies Lies by Adele Parks

                News

                13 August 2019

                Gripping and Heartbreaking: Read a Review of Lies Lies Lies by Adele Parks

                  Electrifying and Deceptive: Adele Parks on her favourite thriller novels

                  News

                  30 October 2018

                  Electrifying and Deceptive: Adele Parks on her favourite thriller novels

                    Challenging Stereotypes: Adele Parks on how women are portrayed in thrillers

                    News

                    30 October 2018

                    Challenging Stereotypes: Adele Parks on how women are portrayed in thrillers

                      Revenge, Jealousy, Betrayal: Q&A with Adele Parks about her new book I Invited Her In

                      News

                      30 October 2018

                      Revenge, Jealousy, Betrayal: Q&A with Adele Parks about her new book I Invited Her In

                        Entertaining, Intense, Clever: Read an extract from I Invited Her In by Adele Parks

                        News

                        30 October 2018

                        Entertaining, Intense, Clever: Read an extract from I Invited Her In by Adele Parks

                          Publisher details

                          Just My Luck
                          Author
                          Adele Parks
                          Publisher
                          HarperCollins
                          Genre
                          Fiction
                          Released
                          04 May, 2020
                          ISBN
                          9780008318420

                          Synopsis

                          For fifteen years, Lexi and Jake have played the same six numbers with their friends, the Pearsons and the Heathcotes. Over dinner parties, fish & chip suppers and summer barbecues, they've discussed the important stuff – the kids, marriages, jobs and houses – and they've laughed off their disappointment when they failed to win anything more than a tenner.But then, one Saturday night, the unthinkable happens. There's a rift in the group. Someone doesn't tell the truth. And soon after, six numbers come up which change everything forever.Lexi and Jake have a ticket worth £18 million. And their friends are determined to claim a share of it.Sunday Times Number One bestseller Adele Parks returns with a riveting look at the dark side of wealth in this gripping take on friendship, money and betrayal, and good luck gone bad…
                          Adele Parks
                          About the author

                          Adele Parks

                          Adele Parks was born in Teeside, North-East England. Her first novel, Playing Away, was published in 2000 and since then she's had seventeen international bestsellers, translated into twenty six languages. She's been an Ambassador for The Reading Agency and a judge for the Costa. She's lived in Italy, Botswana and London, and is now settled in Guildford, Surrey, with her husband, teenage son and cat.

                          Books by Adele Parks

                          COMMENTS

                          Leave a Reply

                          Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *