Read our Review of J.P. Pomare’s New Hair-Raising Thriller, Tell Me Lies

Read our Review of J.P. Pomare’s New Hair-Raising Thriller, Tell Me Lies

Psychologist Margot Scott has a picture-perfect life: a nice house in the suburbs, a husband, two children and a successful career.

On a warm spring morning, Margot approaches one of her clients on a busy train platform. He is looking down at his phone, with his duffel bag in hand as the train approaches. That’s when she slams into his back and he falls in front of the train.

Margot’s clients all lie to her, but one lie cost her family and freedom.

From J.P. Pomare, the bestselling author of Call Me Evie and In the Clearing, comes this fast-paced psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Silent Patient.

Tell Me Lies has an almost backwards beginning. It started as an audiobook, receiving critical acclaim for its production and electrifying storyline, and has now been released in print for a whole new audience to enjoy.

As a seasoned thriller reader, it’s always a welcomed surprise when a novel leaves me shocked and wanting more. Author J.P. Pomare is a master of suspense, keeping the story moving with his fast-paced writing style which throws the protagonist Margot into the deep end of this terrifying story.

At just over 230 pages, Tell Me Lies is the perfect book to pick up and finish in the same day as it manages to succinctly capture the blood-tingling story of a woman who will go to any length to uncover the truth. Pomare combines chilling prose and detailed character work to create a thriller that’s not only gripping and puzzling but also deeply personal.

Pomare uses the doctor/patient dynamic of the main characters to explore some important themes surrounding addiction, mental illness, and social media. The novel is also incredibly unpredictable, and every twist and turn has been meticulously thought out, keeping even the most seasoned thriller reader on their toes.

Tell Me Lies is a terrifying book that will bring out your inner detective. The atmosphere that Pomare creates is filled with unease and suspense. With a tight, fast-paced plot, Pomare’s latest novel is a hair-raising psychological thriller that will shock you to your core. A perfect book for anyone who loves a good scare!

Reviews

Take a Sneak Peek from Tell Me Lies by J.P. Pomare

Review | Extract

5 January 2021

Take a Sneak Peek from Tell Me Lies by J.P. Pomare

    J.P. Pomare on Why he Doesn't Care if he's on the ASIO Watchlist

    Review | Author Related

    4 January 2021

    J.P. Pomare on Why he Doesn't Care if he's on the ASIO Watchlist

      Related Articles

      I'm Fascinated by Cults: Q&A with In the Clearing Author, J.P. Pomare

      News | Author Related

      16 January 2020

      I'm Fascinated by Cults: Q&A with In the Clearing Author, J.P. Pomare

        On memory, trust, and the importance of place: Q&A with J.P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie

        News

        23 January 2019

        On memory, trust, and the importance of place: Q&A with J.P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie

          Nightmarish and Mind-Bending: J. P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie, on his top five thrillers

          News

          21 January 2019

          Nightmarish and Mind-Bending: J. P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie, on his top five thrillers

            Multi-Layered and Refreshingly Different: Read an extract from Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

            News

            16 January 2019

            Multi-Layered and Refreshingly Different: Read an extract from Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

              Stellar Debut Thriller: Review of Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

              News

              15 January 2019

              Stellar Debut Thriller: Review of Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

                Publisher details

                Tell Me Lies
                Author
                J.P. Pomare
                Publisher
                Hachette
                Genre
                Thriller
                Released
                29 December, 2020

                Synopsis

                Psychologist Margot Scott has a picture-perfect life: a nice house in the suburbs, a husband, two children and a successful career. On a warm spring morning, Margot approaches one of her clients on a busy train platform. He is looking down at his phone, with his duffel bag in hand as the train approaches. That's when she slams into his back and he falls in front of the train. Margot's clients all lie to her, but one lie cost her family and freedom. A fast-paced psychological thriller for fans of The Silent Patient.
                J.P. Pomare
                About the author

                J.P. Pomare

                J.P. Pomare is an award-winning writer who has had work published in journals including Meanjin, Kill Your DarlingsTakahe and Mascara Literary Review. He has hosted the On Writing podcast since 2015 featuring bestselling authors from around the globe. His first novel, Call Me Evie, was critically acclaimed and won the Ngaio Marsh Award for Best First Novel. In The Clearing, Pomare's second novel was also a critically acclaimed bestseller. He was born in New Zealand and resides in Melbourne with his wife.

                Books by J.P. Pomare

                COMMENTS

                Leave a Reply

                Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *