Take a Sneak Peek from Tell Me Lies by J.P. Pomare

Take a Sneak Peek from Tell Me Lies by J.P. Pomare

‘The next train to depart from Platform One is the 9:05 Flinders Street Line stopping all stations to Flinders Street.’ She takes the steps quickly, her hand slides along the rail. She is dishevelled, her mouth set in a pale line. There are a dozen or so people on the platform but she sets her sights on a man, standing there in a sweatshirt, a blue hat on his head and duffel bag slung over his shoulder. He has his back to her, gazing down at the phone in his hand.

Waiting in the shade on the platform, she glances back up the steps towards the street, then watches the man until the tracks begin to sing, a subtle high-pitched shriek that grows into a grumble.

The man looks up now, turning his head and watching down the tracks for the oncoming train. A light at first that grows brighter and brighter. It’s loud now, so loud he doesn’t hear her striding forward. The man turns back, raises his hands in defense, but half a second too late. She shoves him with all of her strength. The train is gliding into the station. His weight shifts; a gasp. Then he’s falling. His body thuds against the concrete and rails. The train driver doesn’t have time to apply the brakes; there is no time to do anything…

Continue reading the extract here…

Reviews

J.P. Pomare on Why he Doesn't Care if he's on the ASIO Watchlist

Review | Author Related

4 January 2021

J.P. Pomare on Why he Doesn't Care if he's on the ASIO Watchlist

    Read our Review of J.P. Pomare's New Hair-Raising Thriller, Tell Me Lies

    Review | Our Review

    4 January 2021

    Read our Review of J.P. Pomare's New Hair-Raising Thriller, Tell Me Lies

      Related Articles

      I'm Fascinated by Cults: Q&A with In the Clearing Author, J.P. Pomare

      News | Author Related

      16 January 2020

      I'm Fascinated by Cults: Q&A with In the Clearing Author, J.P. Pomare

        On memory, trust, and the importance of place: Q&A with J.P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie

        News

        23 January 2019

        On memory, trust, and the importance of place: Q&A with J.P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie

          Nightmarish and Mind-Bending: J. P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie, on his top five thrillers

          News

          21 January 2019

          Nightmarish and Mind-Bending: J. P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie, on his top five thrillers

            Multi-Layered and Refreshingly Different: Read an extract from Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

            News

            16 January 2019

            Multi-Layered and Refreshingly Different: Read an extract from Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

              Stellar Debut Thriller: Review of Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

              News

              15 January 2019

              Stellar Debut Thriller: Review of Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

                Publisher details

                Tell Me Lies
                Author
                J.P. Pomare
                Publisher
                Hachette
                Genre
                Thriller
                Released
                29 December, 2020

                Synopsis

                Psychologist Margot Scott has a picture-perfect life: a nice house in the suburbs, a husband, two children and a successful career. On a warm spring morning, Margot approaches one of her clients on a busy train platform. He is looking down at his phone, with his duffel bag in hand as the train approaches. That's when she slams into his back and he falls in front of the train. Margot's clients all lie to her, but one lie cost her family and freedom. A fast-paced psychological thriller for fans of The Silent Patient.
                J.P. Pomare
                About the author

                J.P. Pomare

                J.P. Pomare is an award-winning writer who has had work published in journals including Meanjin, Kill Your DarlingsTakahe and Mascara Literary Review. He has hosted the On Writing podcast since 2015 featuring bestselling authors from around the globe. His first novel, Call Me Evie, was critically acclaimed and won the Ngaio Marsh Award for Best First Novel. In The Clearing, Pomare's second novel was also a critically acclaimed bestseller. He was born in New Zealand and resides in Melbourne with his wife.

                Books by J.P. Pomare

                COMMENTS

                Leave a Reply

                Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *