Trouble in Paradise: Read Our Review of Since We Last Met by Bronwyn Sell

Trouble in Paradise: Read Our Review of Since We Last Met by Bronwyn Sell

Five years ago, Carmen and Bruno spent the night together. Their daughter, Mika, was born nine months later… but Bruno doesn’t know she exists. Can the couple find each other, and the truth, in a tropical island paradise? A sparkling romance for readers of Alissa Callen and Penelope Janu.

Single mum Carmen Lowery’s life might be annoyingly imperfect, but at least it’s orderly and predictable. Until a tall, dark, handsome stranger mysteriously arrives at her family’s Whitsundays resort island – and turns out to be not quite a stranger after all.

American special ops pilot Bruno Michel fell off Carmen’s radar five years ago after they shared the wildest night of her otherwise straitlaced life. The self-confessed fly-by-nighter when it comes to love is delighted to be temporarily reunited with his uninhibited dream woman, but there’s something he doesn’t know. Their liaison came with a consequence – a little girl who has his eyes.

Carmen and Bruno pick up where they left off, but the legacy of their liaison runs deep – and Bruno is hiding his own not-so-white lie about that night.

Before he ships out and Carmen’s happy-family fantasy drifts away on the trade winds, they must decide whether their unexpected bond can survive life-changing secrets, meddlesome relatives, and a heartbreaking vow made decades before.

A spinoff of her previous book Lovestruck, Since We Last Met is bestselling author Bronwyn Sell’s latest novel, and if you haven’t read any of her previous works, this is the perfect place to start. Packed to the brim with romance and drama – and set against the stunning tropical backdrop of the Whitsundays – this novel is the definition of trouble in paradise.

I immediately fell in love with Carmen and Bruno. Both are from vastly different backgrounds, with Bruno focusing on his military career while Carmen juggles running her family’s resort and looking after her 4-year-old daughter. The dynamic between the two was fantastic as we watch their complicated romance blossom on page. While the novel can get serious at times, Sell excels at finding humour in every situation. I found myself constantly laughing out loud, especially when things get awkward.

Another thing that stood out for me was how immersed I was in the setting. Sell’s depiction of the Whitsundays was breathtaking. I love a bit of armchair travel – especially the tropical beach variety – and this absolutely hit the spot.

If you’re looking for the perfect beach read this summer, Since We Last Met is the book for you. Filled with romance, family drama and laugh out loud moments, you won’t want to put this down.

Buy a copy of Since We Last Met here.

Reviews

A Sparkling Romance: Read an Extract from Since We Last Met by Bronwyn Sell

Review | Extract

11 January 2022

A Sparkling Romance: Read an Extract from Since We Last Met by Bronwyn Sell

    Publisher details

    Since We Last Met
    Author
    Bronwyn Sell
    Publisher
    HQ Fiction
    Genre
    Fiction
    Released
    05 January, 2022
    ISBN
    9781489284181

    Synopsis

    Five years ago, Carmen and Bruno spent the night together. Their daughter, Mika, was born nine months later ... but Bruno doesn't know she exists. Can the couple find each other, and the truth, in a tropical island paradise? A sparkling romance for readers of Alissa Callen and Penelope Janu.

    Single mum Carmen Lowery's life might be annoyingly imperfect, but at least it's orderly and predictable. Until a tall, dark, handsome stranger mysteriously arrives at her family's Whitsundays resort island - and turns out to be not quite a stranger after all.

    American special ops pilot Bruno Michel fell off Carmen's radar five years ago after they shared the wildest night of her otherwise straitlaced life. The self-confessed fly-by-nighter when it comes to love is delighted to be temporarily reunited with his uninhibited dream woman, but there's something he doesn't know. Their liaison came with a consequence - a little girl who has his eyes.

    Carmen and Bruno pick up where they left off, but the legacy of their liaison runs deep - and Bruno is hiding his own not-so-white lie about that night.

    Before he ships out and Carmen's happy-family fantasy drifts away on the trade winds, they must decide whether their unexpected bond can survive life-changing secrets, meddlesome relatives, and a heartbreaking vow made decades before.

    Bronwyn Sell
    About the author

    Bronwyn Sell

    Bronwyn Sell is many things—novelist, journalist, travel writer, bestselling non-fiction author, yogi, theatre nerd, soccer mum, wife, lover of wines in the sun with friends, perpetually terrified taker-of-creative-risks—but at heart she's an eternal romantic and optimist who loves playing with words and imaginary friends. Her journalism and travel writing have won national awards in her native New Zealand. Her romantic thrillers (under pen-name Brynn Kelly) were published in the US, earning critical acclaim and a RITA Award™, the most coveted trophy in the romance genre.

    Books by Bronwyn Sell

    COMMENTS

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *