Where Fortune Lies

Reviews

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

Review | Author Related

15 April 2020

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

    Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O'Connor's Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

    Review | Extract

    8 April 2020

    Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O'Connor's Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

      Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

      Review | Author Related

      6 April 2020

      Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

        Mary-Anne O'Connor's Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

        Review | Our Review

        6 April 2020

        Mary-Anne O'Connor's Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

          Synopsis

          An epic and lyrical tale of love, adventure and gambled fortunes that ranges from the wild cloaked woodlands of Ireland to the Victorian Alps of colonial Australia from a bestselling Australian author. For fans of Nicole Alexander, Colleen McCullough, and Fiona McIntosh.1879: 'Invisible' Anne Brown fears she'll never escape the harshness and poverty of her life in County Donegal, Ireland. Until, one heartbreaking Beltane night, her life is changed forever and she leaves to seek her fortune in far-flung Australia.Upon the death of their father, charismatic Will Worthington and his beloved sister Mari are stunned to find he has left all their money and a ticket to the far shores of Australia to an enigmatic painted woman. It seems their only hope for a brighter future also lies in Australia, where together with Will's best friend, the artist Charlie Turner, they seek their fortunes.Charlie finds love with a mysterious exotic dancer, yet there is trouble on the horizon. His new friends up in the Victorian Alps might be teaching him to run with the wild horses and find his talent with a brush at last, but life in a bushranger gang is a dangerous game.As Charlie struggles to break free from his fate, all four are left with impossible choices as fortunes waver between life and death, loyalty and the heart.
          Mary-Anne O'Connor
          About the author

          Mary-Anne O'Connor

          Bestselling author Mary-Anne O'Connor has a combined arts education degree with specialties in environment, music and literature. After a successful marketing career she now focuses on writing fiction and non-fiction as well as public speaking.Mary-Anne lives in a house overlooking her beloved bushland in northern Sydney with her husband Anthony, their two sons Jimmy and Jack, and their very spoilt dog Saxon. Her previous novels are Gallipoli Street (2015), Worth Fighting For (2016), War Flower (2017) and In a Great Southern Land (2019).

          Books by Mary-Anne O'Connor

          Related articles

          Podcast: Kate Elizabeth Russell on the Sometimes Fine Line Between Coercion and Seduction

          Podcast

          27 January 2021

          Podcast: Kate Elizabeth Russell on the Sometimes Fine Line Between Coercion and Seduction

            Eight Books That Help Us Understand and Celebrate Our First Nations’ Culture

            News | Book Life

            22 January 2021

            Eight Books That Help Us Understand and Celebrate Our First Nations’ Culture

              Podcast: Sue Brierley on Why She Chose Adoption and the Challenges She Faced

              Podcast

              22 January 2021

              Podcast: Sue Brierley on Why She Chose Adoption and the Challenges She Faced

                Live Book Event: Pip Drysdale, Author of The Paris Affair

                News | Events & Festivals

                21 January 2021

                Live Book Event: Pip Drysdale, Author of The Paris Affair

                  From the ocean to outer space: Check out this activity pack from The Secret Explorers series by SJ King

                  News | Book Life

                  21 January 2021

                  From the ocean to outer space: Check out this activity pack from The Secret Explorers series by SJ King

                  Breaking News: Shortlist for the 2021 Indie Book Awards Announced

                  News | Awards

                  20 January 2021

                  Breaking News: Shortlist for the 2021 Indie Book Awards Announced

                    Podcast: Ceridwen Dovey on how her Harvard Education Shaped her Writing

                    Podcast

                    19 January 2021

                    Podcast: Ceridwen Dovey on how her Harvard Education Shaped her Writing

                      Meet Friday Barnes – girl detective extraordinaire!

                      News | Book Life

                      18 January 2021

                      Meet Friday Barnes – girl detective extraordinaire!

                      Simple delights: The joy of reading from your

                      News | Book Life

                      18 January 2021

                      Simple delights: The joy of reading from your "Magic Bookcase"

                      Sleuth and solve: Activity pack from Friday Barnes 9: No Escape by R.A. Spratt

                      News | Book Life

                      18 January 2021

                      Sleuth and solve: Activity pack from Friday Barnes 9: No Escape by R.A. Spratt

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *