Where Fortune Lies

Reviews

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

Review | Author Related

15 April 2020

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

    Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O'Connor's Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

    Review | Extract

    8 April 2020

    Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O'Connor's Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

      Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

      Review | Author Related

      6 April 2020

      Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

        Mary-Anne O'Connor's Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

        Review | Our Review

        6 April 2020

        Mary-Anne O'Connor's Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

          Synopsis

          An epic and lyrical tale of love, adventure and gambled fortunes that ranges from the wild cloaked woodlands of Ireland to the Victorian Alps of colonial Australia from a bestselling Australian author. For fans of Nicole Alexander, Colleen McCullough, and Fiona McIntosh.1879: 'Invisible' Anne Brown fears she'll never escape the harshness and poverty of her life in County Donegal, Ireland. Until, one heartbreaking Beltane night, her life is changed forever and she leaves to seek her fortune in far-flung Australia.Upon the death of their father, charismatic Will Worthington and his beloved sister Mari are stunned to find he has left all their money and a ticket to the far shores of Australia to an enigmatic painted woman. It seems their only hope for a brighter future also lies in Australia, where together with Will's best friend, the artist Charlie Turner, they seek their fortunes.Charlie finds love with a mysterious exotic dancer, yet there is trouble on the horizon. His new friends up in the Victorian Alps might be teaching him to run with the wild horses and find his talent with a brush at last, but life in a bushranger gang is a dangerous game.As Charlie struggles to break free from his fate, all four are left with impossible choices as fortunes waver between life and death, loyalty and the heart.
          Mary-Anne O'Connor
          About the author

          Mary-Anne O'Connor

          Bestselling author Mary-Anne O'Connor has a combined arts education degree with specialties in environment, music and literature. After a successful marketing career she now focuses on writing fiction and non-fiction as well as public speaking.Mary-Anne lives in a house overlooking her beloved bushland in northern Sydney with her husband Anthony, their two sons Jimmy and Jack, and their very spoilt dog Saxon. Her previous novels are Gallipoli Street (2015), Worth Fighting For (2016), War Flower (2017) and In a Great Southern Land (2019).

          Books by Mary-Anne O'Connor

          Related articles

          Live Book Event: Gabriel Bergmoser, Author of The Inheritance

          News | Events & Festivals

          29 July 2021

          Live Book Event: Gabriel Bergmoser, Author of The Inheritance

            Podcast: James Phelps on His Research into the Australian Prison System

            Podcast

            29 July 2021

            Podcast: James Phelps on His Research into the Australian Prison System

              The 2021 Booker Prize Longlist Has Been Revealed

              News | Awards | Book Life

              29 July 2021

              The 2021 Booker Prize Longlist Has Been Revealed

                Live Book Event: Hannah Bent, Author of When Things Are Alive They Hum

                News | Events & Festivals

                27 July 2021

                Live Book Event: Hannah Bent, Author of When Things Are Alive They Hum

                  Podcast: Shannah Kennedy on Allowing Ourselves to be Happy with Plan B

                  Podcast

                  26 July 2021

                  Podcast: Shannah Kennedy on Allowing Ourselves to be Happy with Plan B

                    Illustrate Your Own Comic Strip! Activity from Pizazz vs Perfecto by Sophy Henn

                    News | Book Life

                    26 July 2021

                    Illustrate Your Own Comic Strip! Activity from Pizazz vs Perfecto by Sophy Henn

                    A Warm Portrayal of Childhood Innocence: Teaching Notes for Rainfish by Andrew Paterson

                    News | Book Life

                    23 July 2021

                    A Warm Portrayal of Childhood Innocence: Teaching Notes for Rainfish by Andrew Paterson

                    Podcast: Campbell Mattinson on Using Writing to Break Down Barriers of Love and Loss

                    Podcast

                    22 July 2021

                    Podcast: Campbell Mattinson on Using Writing to Break Down Barriers of Love and Loss

                      Live Book Event: Karen Brooks, Author of The Good Wife of Bath

                      News | Events & Festivals

                      19 July 2021

                      Live Book Event: Karen Brooks, Author of The Good Wife of Bath

                        Podcast: Michael Mohammed Ahmad on Being Lebanese-Australian and Reclaiming Arab Humanity

                        Podcast

                        19 July 2021

                        Podcast: Michael Mohammed Ahmad on Being Lebanese-Australian and Reclaiming Arab Humanity

                          COMMENTS

                          Leave a Reply

                          Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *