Where Fortune Lies

Publisher details

Author
Mary-Anne O’Connor
Publisher
Harlequin
Genre
Fiction
Released
23 March, 2020
ISBN
9781489261533

Where Fortune Lies

Buy now

Retail partners

Synopsis

An epic and lyrical tale of love, adventure and gambled fortunes that ranges from the wild cloaked woodlands of Ireland to the Victorian Alps of colonial Australia from a bestselling Australian author. For fans of Nicole Alexander, Colleen McCullough, and Fiona McIntosh.1879: 'Invisible' Anne Brown fears she'll never escape the harshness and poverty of her life in County Donegal, Ireland. Until, one heartbreaking Beltane night, her life is changed forever and she leaves to seek her fortune in far-flung Australia.Upon the death of their father, charismatic Will Worthington and his beloved sister Mari are stunned to find he has left all their money and a ticket to the far shores of Australia to an enigmatic painted woman. It seems their only hope for a brighter future also lies in Australia, where together with Will's best friend, the artist Charlie Turner, they seek their fortunes.Charlie finds love with a mysterious exotic dancer, yet there is trouble on the horizon. His new friends up in the Victorian Alps might be teaching him to run with the wild horses and find his talent with a brush at last, but life in a bushranger gang is a dangerous game.As Charlie struggles to break free from his fate, all four are left with impossible choices as fortunes waver between life and death, loyalty and the heart.

Reviews

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

Review | Author Related

15 April 2020

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

    Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O'Connor's Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

    Review | Extract

    8 April 2020

    Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O'Connor's Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

      Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

      Review | Author Related

      6 April 2020

      Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

        Mary-Anne O'Connor's Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

        Review | Our Review

        6 April 2020

        Mary-Anne O'Connor's Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

          Mary-Anne O'Connor
          About the author

          Mary-Anne O'Connor

          Bestselling author Mary-Anne O'Connor has a combined arts education degree with specialties in environment, music and literature. After a successful marketing career she now focuses on writing fiction and non-fiction as well as public speaking. Mary-Anne lives in a house overlooking her beloved bushland in northern Sydney with her husband Anthony, their two sons Jimmy and Jack, and their very spoilt dog Saxon. Her previous novels are Gallipoli Street (2015), Worth Fighting For (2016), War Flower (2017), In a Great Southern Land (2019), Where Fortune Lies (2020) and Sisters of Freedom (2021).

          Books by Mary-Anne O'Connor

          Related articles

          Podcast: Annabel Abbs on Why We Need More Food in Fiction

          Podcast

          21 June 2022

          Podcast: Annabel Abbs on Why We Need More Food in Fiction

            Podcast: Catherine Deveny on Honesty, Dyslexia and Being an ‘Arts Tradie’

            Podcast

            20 June 2022

            Podcast: Catherine Deveny on Honesty, Dyslexia and Being an ‘Arts Tradie’

              Podcast: Averil Kenny on Her Deep Connection to Rural Life

              Podcast

              16 June 2022

              Podcast: Averil Kenny on Her Deep Connection to Rural Life

                Peek-a-Boo! The Joy of Lift-the-Flap Books for Kids

                News | Book Life

                15 June 2022

                Peek-a-Boo! The Joy of Lift-the-Flap Books for Kids

                Podcast: Stella Rimington on Her Experience as Director General of MI5

                Podcast

                14 June 2022

                Podcast: Stella Rimington on Her Experience as Director General of MI5

                  2022 ABIA Winners Announced!

                  News | Awards | Events & Festivals

                  10 June 2022

                  2022 ABIA Winners Announced!

                    Vote Now to Win Better Reading's 2022 Top 50 Kids' Books!

                    News

                    10 June 2022

                    Vote Now to Win Better Reading's 2022 Top 50 Kids' Books!

                    Podcast: Brigid Kemmerer on the Fantasy Genre Boom

                    Podcast

                    9 June 2022

                    Podcast: Brigid Kemmerer on the Fantasy Genre Boom

                    Podcast: Liane Moriarty on Bestselling Novels and Award-Winning TV Shows

                    Podcast

                    6 June 2022

                    Podcast: Liane Moriarty on Bestselling Novels and Award-Winning TV Shows

                      Remarkable Friendships: Better Reading Shares Their Favourite Special Friendships

                      News | Book Life

                      1 June 2022

                      Remarkable Friendships: Better Reading Shares Their Favourite Special Friendships

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *