Where Fortune Lies

Reviews

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

Review | Author Related

15 April 2020

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

    Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O'Connor's Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

    Review | Extract

    8 April 2020

    Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O'Connor's Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

      Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

      Review | Author Related

      6 April 2020

      Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

        Mary-Anne O'Connor's Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

        Review | Our Review

        6 April 2020

        Mary-Anne O'Connor's Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

          Synopsis

          An epic and lyrical tale of love, adventure and gambled fortunes that ranges from the wild cloaked woodlands of Ireland to the Victorian Alps of colonial Australia from a bestselling Australian author. For fans of Nicole Alexander, Colleen McCullough, and Fiona McIntosh.1879: 'Invisible' Anne Brown fears she'll never escape the harshness and poverty of her life in County Donegal, Ireland. Until, one heartbreaking Beltane night, her life is changed forever and she leaves to seek her fortune in far-flung Australia.Upon the death of their father, charismatic Will Worthington and his beloved sister Mari are stunned to find he has left all their money and a ticket to the far shores of Australia to an enigmatic painted woman. It seems their only hope for a brighter future also lies in Australia, where together with Will's best friend, the artist Charlie Turner, they seek their fortunes.Charlie finds love with a mysterious exotic dancer, yet there is trouble on the horizon. His new friends up in the Victorian Alps might be teaching him to run with the wild horses and find his talent with a brush at last, but life in a bushranger gang is a dangerous game.As Charlie struggles to break free from his fate, all four are left with impossible choices as fortunes waver between life and death, loyalty and the heart.
          Mary-Anne O'Connor
          About the author

          Mary-Anne O'Connor

          Bestselling author Mary-Anne O'Connor has a combined arts education degree with specialties in environment, music and literature. After a successful marketing career she now focuses on writing fiction and non-fiction as well as public speaking.Mary-Anne lives in a house overlooking her beloved bushland in northern Sydney with her husband Anthony, their two sons Jimmy and Jack, and their very spoilt dog Saxon. Her previous novels are Gallipoli Street (2015), Worth Fighting For (2016), War Flower (2017) and In a Great Southern Land (2019).

          Books by Mary-Anne O'Connor

          Related articles

          Do You Dream of Writing a Book? Join Dervla's Writing Studio

          News | Events & Festivals

          4 June 2020

          Do You Dream of Writing a Book? Join Dervla's Writing Studio

            The Perfect Social Event For Cold Nights: Join a Book Club and Meet Other Book Lovers This Winter

            News | Book Life

            3 June 2020

            The Perfect Social Event For Cold Nights: Join a Book Club and Meet Other Book Lovers This Winter

              Bookstores with Catchy, Cool and Quirky Names

              News | Book Life

              3 June 2020

              Bookstores with Catchy, Cool and Quirky Names

                Sing along story: 5 tips from Taryn Brumfitt, author of Embrace Your Body

                News | Author Related

                2 June 2020

                Sing along story: 5 tips from Taryn Brumfitt, author of Embrace Your Body

                Podcast: Miranda Tapsell on Life, Performance and Being a Top End Girl

                Podcast

                2 June 2020

                Podcast: Miranda Tapsell on Life, Performance and Being a Top End Girl

                  COVID-19 Emergency Action Funding for Writers and Publishers

                  News | Book Life

                  2 June 2020

                  COVID-19 Emergency Action Funding for Writers and Publishers

                    Revenge, redemption and dragons: Delving into the themes of Burn by Patrick Ness

                    News | Author Related

                    1 June 2020

                    Revenge, redemption and dragons: Delving into the themes of Burn by Patrick Ness

                    Unusual Reading Positions - Hands Up Who Reads Like This

                    News | Book Life

                    1 June 2020

                    Unusual Reading Positions - Hands Up Who Reads Like This

                      Podcast: Kate Grenville on the Importance of Story in Troubling Times #1

                      Podcast

                      1 June 2020

                      Podcast: Kate Grenville on the Importance of Story in Troubling Times #1

                        Dervla McTiernan’s Writing Studio - Fridays, 12pm, June 5 - 26

                        News | Events & Festivals

                        28 May 2020

                        Dervla McTiernan’s Writing Studio - Fridays, 12pm, June 5 - 26

                          COMMENTS

                          Leave a Reply

                          Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *