Where Fortune Lies

Reviews

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

Review | Author Related

15 April 2020

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

    Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O'Connor's Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

    Review | Extract

    8 April 2020

    Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O'Connor's Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

      Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

      Review | Author Related

      6 April 2020

      Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

        Mary-Anne O'Connor's Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

        Review | Our Review

        6 April 2020

        Mary-Anne O'Connor's Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

          Synopsis

          An epic and lyrical tale of love, adventure and gambled fortunes that ranges from the wild cloaked woodlands of Ireland to the Victorian Alps of colonial Australia from a bestselling Australian author. For fans of Nicole Alexander, Colleen McCullough, and Fiona McIntosh.1879: 'Invisible' Anne Brown fears she'll never escape the harshness and poverty of her life in County Donegal, Ireland. Until, one heartbreaking Beltane night, her life is changed forever and she leaves to seek her fortune in far-flung Australia.Upon the death of their father, charismatic Will Worthington and his beloved sister Mari are stunned to find he has left all their money and a ticket to the far shores of Australia to an enigmatic painted woman. It seems their only hope for a brighter future also lies in Australia, where together with Will's best friend, the artist Charlie Turner, they seek their fortunes.Charlie finds love with a mysterious exotic dancer, yet there is trouble on the horizon. His new friends up in the Victorian Alps might be teaching him to run with the wild horses and find his talent with a brush at last, but life in a bushranger gang is a dangerous game.As Charlie struggles to break free from his fate, all four are left with impossible choices as fortunes waver between life and death, loyalty and the heart.
          Mary-Anne O'Connor
          About the author

          Mary-Anne O'Connor

          Bestselling author Mary-Anne O'Connor has a combined arts education degree with specialties in environment, music and literature. After a successful marketing career she now focuses on writing fiction and non-fiction as well as public speaking.Mary-Anne lives in a house overlooking her beloved bushland in northern Sydney with her husband Anthony, their two sons Jimmy and Jack, and their very spoilt dog Saxon. Her previous novels are Gallipoli Street (2015), Worth Fighting For (2016), War Flower (2017) and In a Great Southern Land (2019).

          Books by Mary-Anne O'Connor

          Related articles

          Australian Writing is Once Again The Winner in the Top 100

          News | Book Life

          14 May 2021

          Australian Writing is Once Again The Winner in the Top 100

            Podcast: Book Chat – 2021 Better Reading Top 100

            Podcast

            13 May 2021

            Podcast: Book Chat – 2021 Better Reading Top 100

              Breaking News: Announcing the 2021 Better Reading Top 100

              News | Awards | Book Life | Events & Festivals

              12 May 2021

              Breaking News: Announcing the 2021 Better Reading Top 100

                Podcast: Adam Thompson on Aboriginal Heritage, Muttonbirding and Storytelling

                Podcast

                12 May 2021

                Podcast: Adam Thompson on Aboriginal Heritage, Muttonbirding and Storytelling

                  Live Book Event: Amanda Hampson, Author of Lovebirds

                  News | Events & Festivals

                  10 May 2021

                  Live Book Event: Amanda Hampson, Author of Lovebirds

                    Podcast: Nikki Gemmell on Writing About Australia's Dark History

                    Podcast

                    10 May 2021

                    Podcast: Nikki Gemmell on Writing About Australia's Dark History

                      Podcast: Kate Foster on Raising a Neurodiverse Child

                      Podcast

                      6 May 2021

                      Podcast: Kate Foster on Raising a Neurodiverse Child

                        Heartfelt with a Touch of Magic: Read an Extract from A Glasshouse of Stars by Shirley Marr

                        Kids & Ya

                        5 May 2021

                        Heartfelt with a Touch of Magic: Read an Extract from A Glasshouse of Stars by Shirley Marr

                        Podcast: Book Chat – Episode 9

                        Podcast

                        4 May 2021

                        Podcast: Book Chat – Episode 9

                          Podcast: Nicola Moriarty on Growing up in a Family of Storytellers

                          Podcast

                          3 May 2021

                          Podcast: Nicola Moriarty on Growing up in a Family of Storytellers

                            COMMENTS

                            Leave a Reply

                            Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *