Where Fortune Lies

Reviews

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

Review | Author Related

15 April 2020

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

    Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O'Connor's Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

    Review | Extract

    8 April 2020

    Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O'Connor's Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

      Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

      Review | Author Related

      6 April 2020

      Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

        Mary-Anne O'Connor's Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

        Review | Our Review

        6 April 2020

        Mary-Anne O'Connor's Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

          Synopsis

          An epic and lyrical tale of love, adventure and gambled fortunes that ranges from the wild cloaked woodlands of Ireland to the Victorian Alps of colonial Australia from a bestselling Australian author. For fans of Nicole Alexander, Colleen McCullough, and Fiona McIntosh.1879: 'Invisible' Anne Brown fears she'll never escape the harshness and poverty of her life in County Donegal, Ireland. Until, one heartbreaking Beltane night, her life is changed forever and she leaves to seek her fortune in far-flung Australia.Upon the death of their father, charismatic Will Worthington and his beloved sister Mari are stunned to find he has left all their money and a ticket to the far shores of Australia to an enigmatic painted woman. It seems their only hope for a brighter future also lies in Australia, where together with Will's best friend, the artist Charlie Turner, they seek their fortunes.Charlie finds love with a mysterious exotic dancer, yet there is trouble on the horizon. His new friends up in the Victorian Alps might be teaching him to run with the wild horses and find his talent with a brush at last, but life in a bushranger gang is a dangerous game.As Charlie struggles to break free from his fate, all four are left with impossible choices as fortunes waver between life and death, loyalty and the heart.
          Mary-Anne O'Connor
          About the author

          Mary-Anne O'Connor

          Bestselling author Mary-Anne O'Connor has a combined arts education degree with specialties in environment, music and literature. After a successful marketing career she now focuses on writing fiction and non-fiction as well as public speaking.Mary-Anne lives in a house overlooking her beloved bushland in northern Sydney with her husband Anthony, their two sons Jimmy and Jack, and their very spoilt dog Saxon. Her previous novels are Gallipoli Street (2015), Worth Fighting For (2016), War Flower (2017) and In a Great Southern Land (2019).

          Books by Mary-Anne O'Connor

          Related articles

          Can loyalty and love overcome fear and greed? Bring The Tunnel of Dreams into the classroom today

          News | Book Life

          26 October 2020

          Can loyalty and love overcome fear and greed? Bring The Tunnel of Dreams into the classroom today

          Podcast: Richard Flanagan on Unexpected Tenderness and Grateful Wonder

          Podcast

          26 October 2020

          Podcast: Richard Flanagan on Unexpected Tenderness and Grateful Wonder

            Book News: The 2020 City of Fremantle Hungerford Award Winner Announced

            News | Book Life

            22 October 2020

            Book News: The 2020 City of Fremantle Hungerford Award Winner Announced

              Great Literary Love Affairs

              News | Book Life

              22 October 2020

              Great Literary Love Affairs

                Live Book Event: Rosalie Ham, Author of The Dressmaker's Secret

                News | Events & Festivals

                21 October 2020

                Live Book Event: Rosalie Ham, Author of The Dressmaker's Secret

                  Podcast: Nick Bryant on America's Decline, Trump... and on Getting COVID

                  Podcast

                  21 October 2020

                  Podcast: Nick Bryant on America's Decline, Trump... and on Getting COVID

                    Guilty Secrets: What I Found On My Friend's Bedside Table

                    News | Book Life

                    21 October 2020

                    Guilty Secrets: What I Found On My Friend's Bedside Table

                      Podcast: Sue Miller on Observation, Character and Writing Something Terrifying

                      Podcast

                      19 October 2020

                      Podcast: Sue Miller on Observation, Character and Writing Something Terrifying

                        “Climb aboard, me hearties”: Get creative with an activity pack from Pirate Stew by Neil Gaiman

                        News | Book Life

                        16 October 2020

                        “Climb aboard, me hearties”: Get creative with an activity pack from Pirate Stew by Neil Gaiman

                        The story behind the stories: CBCA Award winners and Book Week

                        News | Book Life

                        16 October 2020

                        The story behind the stories: CBCA Award winners and Book Week

                        COMMENTS

                        Leave a Reply

                        Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *