Where Fortune Lies

Publisher details

Author
Mary-Anne O’Connor
Publisher
Harlequin
Genre
Fiction
Released
23 March, 2020
ISBN
9781489261533

Where Fortune Lies

Buy now

Retail partners

Synopsis

An epic and lyrical tale of love, adventure and gambled fortunes that ranges from the wild cloaked woodlands of Ireland to the Victorian Alps of colonial Australia from a bestselling Australian author. For fans of Nicole Alexander, Colleen McCullough, and Fiona McIntosh.1879: 'Invisible' Anne Brown fears she'll never escape the harshness and poverty of her life in County Donegal, Ireland. Until, one heartbreaking Beltane night, her life is changed forever and she leaves to seek her fortune in far-flung Australia.Upon the death of their father, charismatic Will Worthington and his beloved sister Mari are stunned to find he has left all their money and a ticket to the far shores of Australia to an enigmatic painted woman. It seems their only hope for a brighter future also lies in Australia, where together with Will's best friend, the artist Charlie Turner, they seek their fortunes.Charlie finds love with a mysterious exotic dancer, yet there is trouble on the horizon. His new friends up in the Victorian Alps might be teaching him to run with the wild horses and find his talent with a brush at last, but life in a bushranger gang is a dangerous game.As Charlie struggles to break free from his fate, all four are left with impossible choices as fortunes waver between life and death, loyalty and the heart.

Reviews

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

Review | Author Related

15 April 2020

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

    Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O'Connor's Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

    Review | Extract

    8 April 2020

    Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O'Connor's Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

      Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

      Review | Author Related

      6 April 2020

      Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

        Mary-Anne O'Connor's Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

        Review | Our Review

        6 April 2020

        Mary-Anne O'Connor's Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

          Mary-Anne O'Connor
          About the author

          Mary-Anne O'Connor

          Bestselling author Mary-Anne O'Connor has a combined arts education degree with specialties in environment, music and literature. After a successful marketing career she now focuses on writing fiction and non-fiction as well as public speaking.Mary-Anne lives in a house overlooking her beloved bushland in northern Sydney with her husband Anthony, their two sons Jimmy and Jack, and their very spoilt dog Saxon. Her previous novels are Gallipoli Street (2015), Worth Fighting For (2016), War Flower (2017) and In a Great Southern Land (2019).

          Books by Mary-Anne O'Connor

          Related articles

          Podcast: Karen Herbert on How Redundancy Lead Her to Writing The River Mouth

          Podcast

          21 October 2021

          Podcast: Karen Herbert on How Redundancy Lead Her to Writing The River Mouth

            Live Book Event: Tania Blanchard, Author of Echoes of War

            News | Events & Festivals

            20 October 2021

            Live Book Event: Tania Blanchard, Author of Echoes of War

              Dyslexia Awareness Month: Telling Stories with My Dyslexic Sons

              News | Book Life

              20 October 2021

              Dyslexia Awareness Month: Telling Stories with My Dyslexic Sons

                Podcast: Caroline Overington on How She Turned Lockdown into a Bestselling Thriller

                Podcast

                18 October 2021

                Podcast: Caroline Overington on How She Turned Lockdown into a Bestselling Thriller

                  Better Reading BE: Books That Have Helped Us Recently

                  BE

                  14 October 2021

                  Better Reading BE: Books That Have Helped Us Recently

                    Podcast: John Safran on the Smoking Epidemic and the Rise of Vaping

                    Podcast

                    14 October 2021

                    Podcast: John Safran on the Smoking Epidemic and the Rise of Vaping

                      Live Book Event: Caroline Overington, Author of The Cuckoo's Cry

                      News | Events & Festivals

                      14 October 2021

                      Live Book Event: Caroline Overington, Author of The Cuckoo's Cry

                        You Can Now Buy Books Through the Better Reading Website

                        News

                        13 October 2021

                        You Can Now Buy Books Through the Better Reading Website

                          Podcast: Judy Nunn on Writing, Theatre and Showbusiness

                          Podcast

                          11 October 2021

                          Podcast: Judy Nunn on Writing, Theatre and Showbusiness

                            Colouring Activity: Horrible Harriet and the Terrible Tantrum by Leigh Hobbs

                            News | Book Life

                            11 October 2021

                            Colouring Activity: Horrible Harriet and the Terrible Tantrum by Leigh Hobbs

                            COMMENTS

                            Leave a Reply

                            Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *