Where Fortune Lies

Reviews

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

Review | Author Related

15 April 2020

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

    Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O'Connor's Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

    Review | Extract

    8 April 2020

    Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O'Connor's Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

      Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

      Review | Author Related

      6 April 2020

      Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

        Mary-Anne O'Connor's Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

        Review | Our Review

        6 April 2020

        Mary-Anne O'Connor's Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

          Synopsis

          An epic and lyrical tale of love, adventure and gambled fortunes that ranges from the wild cloaked woodlands of Ireland to the Victorian Alps of colonial Australia from a bestselling Australian author. For fans of Nicole Alexander, Colleen McCullough, and Fiona McIntosh.1879: 'Invisible' Anne Brown fears she'll never escape the harshness and poverty of her life in County Donegal, Ireland. Until, one heartbreaking Beltane night, her life is changed forever and she leaves to seek her fortune in far-flung Australia.Upon the death of their father, charismatic Will Worthington and his beloved sister Mari are stunned to find he has left all their money and a ticket to the far shores of Australia to an enigmatic painted woman. It seems their only hope for a brighter future also lies in Australia, where together with Will's best friend, the artist Charlie Turner, they seek their fortunes.Charlie finds love with a mysterious exotic dancer, yet there is trouble on the horizon. His new friends up in the Victorian Alps might be teaching him to run with the wild horses and find his talent with a brush at last, but life in a bushranger gang is a dangerous game.As Charlie struggles to break free from his fate, all four are left with impossible choices as fortunes waver between life and death, loyalty and the heart.
          Mary-Anne O'Connor
          About the author

          Mary-Anne O'Connor

          Bestselling author Mary-Anne O'Connor has a combined arts education degree with specialties in environment, music and literature. After a successful marketing career she now focuses on writing fiction and non-fiction as well as public speaking.Mary-Anne lives in a house overlooking her beloved bushland in northern Sydney with her husband Anthony, their two sons Jimmy and Jack, and their very spoilt dog Saxon. Her previous novels are Gallipoli Street (2015), Worth Fighting For (2016), War Flower (2017) and In a Great Southern Land (2019).

          Books by Mary-Anne O'Connor

          Related articles

          Top secrets of truly great storytime readers and storytellers

          News | Book Life

          7 August 2020

          Top secrets of truly great storytime readers and storytellers

          Get creative and celebrate Fathers Day with this awesome activity pack

          Kids & Ya

          7 August 2020

          Get creative and celebrate Fathers Day with this awesome activity pack

          Dr Randa Abdel-Fattah: A Conversation on Diversity in Children's Writing #1

          Kids & Ya

          7 August 2020

          Dr Randa Abdel-Fattah: A Conversation on Diversity in Children's Writing #1

          Live Book Event, Greg Woodland, Author of The Night Whistler

          News

          6 August 2020

          Live Book Event, Greg Woodland, Author of The Night Whistler

            Rachel Bin Salleh: A Conversation on Diversity in Children’s Writing #6

            Podcast

            4 August 2020

            Rachel Bin Salleh: A Conversation on Diversity in Children’s Writing #6

              Deborah Abela: A Conversation About Diversity in Children’s Writing #5

              News

              4 August 2020

              Deborah Abela: A Conversation About Diversity in Children’s Writing #5

                Laura Bloom: A Conversation About Diversity in Children’s Writing #4

                Podcast

                3 August 2020

                Laura Bloom: A Conversation About Diversity in Children’s Writing #4

                  Will Kostakis: A Conversation About Diversity in Children’s Writing #3

                  Podcast

                  3 August 2020

                  Will Kostakis: A Conversation About Diversity in Children’s Writing #3

                    Podcast: Robyn Harding on How Living in a Small Town Inspired her Writing

                    Podcast

                    3 August 2020

                    Podcast: Robyn Harding on How Living in a Small Town Inspired her Writing

                      Maxine Beneba Clarke: A Conversation on Diversity in Children’s Writing #2

                      Podcast

                      30 July 2020

                      Maxine Beneba Clarke: A Conversation on Diversity in Children’s Writing #2

                        COMMENTS

                        Leave a Reply

                        Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *