Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O’Connor’s Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O’Connor’s Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

Melbourne, Australia, 6 December 1879

The bowl had long been stained by the dye, but Chrystelle scrubbed it regardless before patting it dry and placing it on top of the overflowing pile that spilled from the large wooden trunk in her cabin. Silks and satins, cottons and wools vied for space in a tumble of brilliant colour, awaiting Chrystelle Amour’s choice each day. Holding up a green, yellow-trimmed dress, she decided to make it today’s costume, her ‘welcome to Australia’ outfit. It seemed fitting, based on the countryside she’d seen so far.

The great southern land boasted a shoreline bathed in myriad hues. Sheer golden sandstone cliffs and pristine jewelled coves shone from her shores along the Bight, the thick green bushland that ran above it now interspersed with civilisation as Melbourne came into view. She’d heard much about the city from the other passengers during the journey, and the busy port bustled with activity as the ship moored at last, almost seeming to sigh as it came to rest after its long, arduous voyage.

Continue the extract here…

 

Reviews

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

Review | Author Related

15 April 2020

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

    Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

    Review | Author Related

    6 April 2020

    Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

      Mary-Anne O'Connor's Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

      Review | Our Review

      6 April 2020

      Mary-Anne O'Connor's Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

        Related Articles

        Author Mary-Anne O’Connor Reminds us that The Oldest Cure for Boredom is in the Book

        News | Author Related | Book Life

        17 March 2020

        Author Mary-Anne O’Connor Reminds us that The Oldest Cure for Boredom is in the Book

          Podcast: Mary-Anne O’Connor, Author of In a Great Southern Land, Discusses her Creative Family and Getting Published

          Podcast

          13 May 2019

          Podcast: Mary-Anne O’Connor, Author of In a Great Southern Land, Discusses her Creative Family and Getting Published

            Sons, Chaos and Love: Mary-Anne O’Connor, Author of In a Great Southern Land, Reflects on Kids vs Teens

            News

            7 May 2019

            Sons, Chaos and Love: Mary-Anne O’Connor, Author of In a Great Southern Land, Reflects on Kids vs Teens

              Walking in their shoes: Read a Q&A with Mary-Anne O'Connor about her new book, In a Great Southern Land

              News

              5 April 2019

              Walking in their shoes: Read a Q&A with Mary-Anne O'Connor about her new book, In a Great Southern Land

                Another side to humanity's story: In a Great Southern Land author Mary-Anne O'Connor on the importance on women in historical fiction

                News

                30 March 2019

                Another side to humanity's story: In a Great Southern Land author Mary-Anne O'Connor on the importance on women in historical fiction

                  Star-Crossed Lovers: Read an extract from In a Great Southern Land by Mary-Anne O'Connor

                  News

                  27 March 2019

                  Star-Crossed Lovers: Read an extract from In a Great Southern Land by Mary-Anne O'Connor

                    Enthralling Historical Fiction: Review of In a Great Southern Land by Mary-Anne O'Connor

                    News

                    26 March 2019

                    Enthralling Historical Fiction: Review of In a Great Southern Land by Mary-Anne O'Connor

                      Start Reading 'War Flower' by Mary-Anne O'Connor

                      News

                      17 October 2017

                      Start Reading 'War Flower' by Mary-Anne O'Connor

                        Q&A with Mary-Anne O'Connor, author of War Flower

                        News

                        17 October 2017

                        Q&A with Mary-Anne O'Connor, author of War Flower

                          Book of the Week: War Flower by Mary-Anne O'Connor

                          News

                          17 October 2017

                          Book of the Week: War Flower by Mary-Anne O'Connor

                            Synopsis

                            An epic and lyrical tale of love, adventure and gambled fortunes that ranges from the wild cloaked woodlands of Ireland to the Victorian Alps of colonial Australia from a bestselling Australian author. For fans of Nicole Alexander, Colleen McCullough, and Fiona McIntosh.1879: 'Invisible' Anne Brown fears she'll never escape the harshness and poverty of her life in County Donegal, Ireland. Until, one heartbreaking Beltane night, her life is changed forever and she leaves to seek her fortune in far-flung Australia.Upon the death of their father, charismatic Will Worthington and his beloved sister Mari are stunned to find he has left all their money and a ticket to the far shores of Australia to an enigmatic painted woman. It seems their only hope for a brighter future also lies in Australia, where together with Will's best friend, the artist Charlie Turner, they seek their fortunes.Charlie finds love with a mysterious exotic dancer, yet there is trouble on the horizon. His new friends up in the Victorian Alps might be teaching him to run with the wild horses and find his talent with a brush at last, but life in a bushranger gang is a dangerous game.As Charlie struggles to break free from his fate, all four are left with impossible choices as fortunes waver between life and death, loyalty and the heart.
                            Mary-Anne O'Connor
                            About the author

                            Mary-Anne O'Connor

                            Bestselling author Mary-Anne O'Connor has a combined arts education degree with specialties in environment, music and literature. After a successful marketing career she now focuses on writing fiction and non-fiction as well as public speaking.Mary-Anne lives in a house overlooking her beloved bushland in northern Sydney with her husband Anthony, their two sons Jimmy and Jack, and their very spoilt dog Saxon. Her previous novels are Gallipoli Street (2015), Worth Fighting For (2016), War Flower (2017) and In a Great Southern Land (2019).

                            Books by Mary-Anne O'Connor

                            COMMENTS

                            Leave a Reply

                            Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *