Mary-Anne O’Connor’s Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

Mary-Anne O’Connor’s Where Fortune Lies is Absolutely Fabulous Storytelling

From bestselling author, Mary-Anne O’Connor comes an epic and lyrical tale of love, adventure and gambled fortunes that ranges from the wild cloaked woodlands of Ireland to the Victorian Alps of colonial Australia. For fans of Nicole Alexander, Colleen McCullough, and Fiona McIntosh.

1879: ‘Invisible’ Anne Brown fears she’ll never escape the harshness and poverty of her life in County Donegal, Ireland. Until, one heartbreaking Beltane night, her life is changed forever and she leaves to seek her fortune in far-flung Australia.

Upon the death of their father, charismatic Will Worthington and his beloved sister Mari are stunned to find he has left all their money and a ticket to the far shores of Australia to an enigmatic painted woman. It seems their only hope for a brighter future also lies in Australia, where together with Will’s best friend, the artist Charlie Turner, they seek their fortunes.

Charlie finds love with a mysterious exotic dancer, yet there is trouble on the horizon. His new friends up in the Victorian Alps might be teaching him to run with the wild horses and find his talent with a brush at last, but life in a bushranger gang is a dangerous game.

As Charlie struggles to break free from his fate, all four are left with impossible choices as fortunes waver between life and death, loyalty and the heart.

Where Fortune Lies is fabulous storytelling and a great Aussie yarn. Richly described settings transport the reader from Ireland and England to colonial Australia, and Melbourne, the Barossa wine region and the wild alpine region of the Victorian Alps. The era springs from the page with descriptions of the landscape, and the inclusion of brumbies (taking me back to my favourite childhood reads) and a band of bushrangers.

Mary-Anne always weaves multiple layers to her tales, and here is no different. A cast of complex and truly compelling characters reels you in and takes you on an absolutely riveting adventure. I was completely sold on this story from the start. Anyone who knows me knows I’m a sucker for anything to do with Beltane, and the early chapters that included Anne Brown, and a Beltane ‘celebration’ were captivating and heartbreaking.

The novel’s character’s all have their own important arcs that are ultimately connected, as they go in search of fortune, finding love, heartbreak and adventure on the way. Where Fortune Lies is as much a journey for the you the reader as the characters you’re reading about. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry. You’ll be emotionally invested in this wonderful novel each page of the way.

 

 

 

Reviews

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

Review | Author Related

15 April 2020

Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O’Connor on how She's Always Been Interested in Bushrangers

    Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O'Connor's Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

    Review | Extract

    8 April 2020

    Take a Sneak Peek at Mary-Anne O'Connor's Wonderful Historical, Where Fortune Lies

      Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

      Review | Author Related

      6 April 2020

      Where Fortune Lies Author, Mary-Anne O'Connor on Researching Women in the 1880s

        Related Articles

        Author Mary-Anne O’Connor Reminds us that The Oldest Cure for Boredom is in the Book

        News | Author Related | Book Life

        17 March 2020

        Author Mary-Anne O’Connor Reminds us that The Oldest Cure for Boredom is in the Book

          Podcast: Mary-Anne O’Connor, Author of In a Great Southern Land, Discusses her Creative Family and Getting Published

          Podcast

          13 May 2019

          Podcast: Mary-Anne O’Connor, Author of In a Great Southern Land, Discusses her Creative Family and Getting Published

            Sons, Chaos and Love: Mary-Anne O’Connor, Author of In a Great Southern Land, Reflects on Kids vs Teens

            News

            7 May 2019

            Sons, Chaos and Love: Mary-Anne O’Connor, Author of In a Great Southern Land, Reflects on Kids vs Teens

              Walking in their shoes: Read a Q&A with Mary-Anne O'Connor about her new book, In a Great Southern Land

              News

              5 April 2019

              Walking in their shoes: Read a Q&A with Mary-Anne O'Connor about her new book, In a Great Southern Land

                Another side to humanity's story: In a Great Southern Land author Mary-Anne O'Connor on the importance on women in historical fiction

                News

                30 March 2019

                Another side to humanity's story: In a Great Southern Land author Mary-Anne O'Connor on the importance on women in historical fiction

                  Star-Crossed Lovers: Read an extract from In a Great Southern Land by Mary-Anne O'Connor

                  News

                  27 March 2019

                  Star-Crossed Lovers: Read an extract from In a Great Southern Land by Mary-Anne O'Connor

                    Enthralling Historical Fiction: Review of In a Great Southern Land by Mary-Anne O'Connor

                    News

                    26 March 2019

                    Enthralling Historical Fiction: Review of In a Great Southern Land by Mary-Anne O'Connor

                      Start Reading 'War Flower' by Mary-Anne O'Connor

                      News

                      17 October 2017

                      Start Reading 'War Flower' by Mary-Anne O'Connor

                        Q&A with Mary-Anne O'Connor, author of War Flower

                        News

                        17 October 2017

                        Q&A with Mary-Anne O'Connor, author of War Flower

                          Book of the Week: War Flower by Mary-Anne O'Connor

                          News

                          17 October 2017

                          Book of the Week: War Flower by Mary-Anne O'Connor

                            Synopsis

                            An epic and lyrical tale of love, adventure and gambled fortunes that ranges from the wild cloaked woodlands of Ireland to the Victorian Alps of colonial Australia from a bestselling Australian author. For fans of Nicole Alexander, Colleen McCullough, and Fiona McIntosh.1879: 'Invisible' Anne Brown fears she'll never escape the harshness and poverty of her life in County Donegal, Ireland. Until, one heartbreaking Beltane night, her life is changed forever and she leaves to seek her fortune in far-flung Australia.Upon the death of their father, charismatic Will Worthington and his beloved sister Mari are stunned to find he has left all their money and a ticket to the far shores of Australia to an enigmatic painted woman. It seems their only hope for a brighter future also lies in Australia, where together with Will's best friend, the artist Charlie Turner, they seek their fortunes.Charlie finds love with a mysterious exotic dancer, yet there is trouble on the horizon. His new friends up in the Victorian Alps might be teaching him to run with the wild horses and find his talent with a brush at last, but life in a bushranger gang is a dangerous game.As Charlie struggles to break free from his fate, all four are left with impossible choices as fortunes waver between life and death, loyalty and the heart.
                            Mary-Anne O'Connor
                            About the author

                            Mary-Anne O'Connor

                            Bestselling author Mary-Anne O'Connor has a combined arts education degree with specialties in environment, music and literature. After a successful marketing career she now focuses on writing fiction and non-fiction as well as public speaking.Mary-Anne lives in a house overlooking her beloved bushland in northern Sydney with her husband Anthony, their two sons Jimmy and Jack, and their very spoilt dog Saxon. Her previous novels are Gallipoli Street (2015), Worth Fighting For (2016), War Flower (2017) and In a Great Southern Land (2019).

                            Books by Mary-Anne O'Connor

                            COMMENTS

                            Leave a Reply

                            Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *