Author Q&A: Len Vlahos

Author Q&A: Len Vlahos

LenVlahos_author_photo_crop_credit_Kristen Gilligan-minLen Vlahos’ newest YA novel Life in a Fishbowl was like nothing we’d ever read before – and we loved every minute. It’s dark, it’s funny, and it’s achingly, painfully true to life, so we were thrilled to chat with Len from his home in Colorado about the inspiration behind the book, his experience writing it, and strange things you can buy on the internet.

BRK: Congrats on the release of Life in a Fishbowl! What do you hope readers take away from this book?

LV: Thanks! So this is a tough question. I guess I hope people take some small amount of inspiration to question the validity and veracity of what we see in media. Just because it’s on a screen does not make it true. We have an obligation to seek and accept the truth when it’s presented.

That said, one of the most interesting and rewarding parts of writing is learning what readers see in your work that you never saw to begin with. I had readers of both The Scar Boys and Scar Girl (my first two novels), share perspectives on those stories and characters I had never considered. Mind blowing.

BRK: Although it’s all in third person, there are many varied perspectives in this novel. Were some easier to write than others, and did you have a particular favourite?

It’s my first novel written in the third person, and I found it liberating in some ways, and restrictive in others. It’s really useful to not limit the reader to a single point of view; at the same time, it makes it harder to emotionally connect at a visceral level.

life-in-a-fishbowlEach of the characters posed challenges and pleasures, but my favorites to write were probably the two characters farthest outside my comfort zone: Sister Benedict (the nun), and Glio (the brain tumor).

BRK: What inspired you to have the Stone family (rather unwillingly) star in their own reality TV show, ‘Life and Death’? 

I didn’t have the TV show in mind when I first started writing, other than knowing that Ethan, the TV executive, would be one of the bidders. As I thought about what would be the most logical and realistic outcome of those four people bidding on Jared’s life, the TV show seemed to me, I’m sad to say, the most realistic possibility.

Once I knew that, I ran with it. How Jackie responds came pretty easily, and I think made it a lot more fun. (I’ll leave the actual spoiler out.)

BRK: Life in a Fishbowl confronts some tough issues around grief, death and loss. How did you go about tackling these topics for a teen audience?

The short answer is I went about it exactly as I would if I were writing for an adult audience. The truth is, teen readers are every bit as sophisticated as adult readers. They’re just drawn to stories about people in a similar stage of life. (Honestly, a whole lot of adults are drawn to those stories, too, including me!)

I’m always very careful not to write down to my audience. It’s why I get in trouble sometimes for using language and themes that may not immediately seem appropriate for teens. But teens live complicated, real lives, and their fiction should reflect that.

BRK: In the book, Jared puts his life up for sale on eBay: what’s the strangest thing you’ve seen advertised or bought online?

So LiaFB was inspired by a man named Ian Usher. He put his life for auction online. Not his actual life, but his things — his car, his house, his friends, his cat. He had just gone through an acrimonious divorce and wanted to start over.

His story became an Internet meme, and when I saw it, I wondered, “Hey, what would make someone put their actual life for sale on eBay, and what would happen if they did? Who would bid? How would it play out?”

And a book was born. 🙂

BRK: You’ve been working around books in various capacities for a long, long time – what made you finally get in the ring as a writer?

I’ve been writing as long as I’ve been working in the book industry. The truth is, I spent many years writing songs, and many years as a failed screenwriter, before I wrote the first draft of The Scar Boys.

You can see evidence of my musical career, here:

Don’t laugh too hard… it was the 80s. 🙂

BRK: As a bookstore owner (Tattered Cover in Colorado), what are the top 5 books that you consistently recommend to teenagers?

I love this question! I’ll give you five with a bonus book and honorable mentions. [[ Check out Len’s List here! ]]

 

BRK: Can you give us a hint as to what you’re working on next?

A small hint. It’s a YA novel that takes the current political landscape in America and blows it up. “Nuff said.

 

Click here to learn more or to purchase a copy of Life in a Fishbowl and check out Len’s YA Book List!

Related Articles

I'm Fascinated by Family History: Q&A with The Girl in the Painting Author, Tea Cooper

News | Author Related

17 December 2019

I'm Fascinated by Family History: Q&A with The Girl in the Painting Author, Tea Cooper

    Reading is my Absolute Favourite Thing: Q&A with The Lost Summers of Driftwood Author, Vanessa McCausland

    News | Author Related

    16 December 2019

    Reading is my Absolute Favourite Thing: Q&A with The Lost Summers of Driftwood Author, Vanessa McCausland

      Every Writer has their Own Way of Approaching Things: Q&A with The Strangers We Know Author, Pip Drysdale

      News | Author Related

      16 December 2019

      Every Writer has their Own Way of Approaching Things: Q&A with The Strangers We Know Author, Pip Drysdale

        I Only Work About 10 Hours a Week: Q&A With Shining Year Workbooks Creator, Leonie Dawson

        News | Author Related

        16 December 2019

        I Only Work About 10 Hours a Week: Q&A With Shining Year Workbooks Creator, Leonie Dawson

          Music and Writing are Entwined: Q&A with Darkness for Light Author, Emma Viskic

          News | Author Related

          12 December 2019

          Music and Writing are Entwined: Q&A with Darkness for Light Author, Emma Viskic

            I Don't Wait For Inspiration: Q&A with Garry Disher, Author of Peace

            News | Author Related

            5 December 2019

            I Don't Wait For Inspiration: Q&A with Garry Disher, Author of Peace

              Readers will Love the Remote Tasmanian Setting: Q&A with The Great Divide Author, L.J.M. Owen

              News | Author Related

              5 December 2019

              Readers will Love the Remote Tasmanian Setting: Q&A with The Great Divide Author, L.J.M. Owen

                My Dog Listens to me Plotting: Q&A with The Poppy Wife Author, Caroline Scott

                News | Author Related

                3 December 2019

                My Dog Listens to me Plotting: Q&A with The Poppy Wife Author, Caroline Scott

                  It Would be my Worst Nightmare: Q&A with Dani Atkins, Author of A Million Dreams

                  News | Author Related

                  28 November 2019

                  It Would be my Worst Nightmare: Q&A with Dani Atkins, Author of A Million Dreams

                    A Celebration of Resilience and Empowerment: Q&A With The Changing Room Author Christine Sykes

                    News | Author Related

                    28 November 2019

                    A Celebration of Resilience and Empowerment: Q&A With The Changing Room Author Christine Sykes

                      Publisher details

                      Life in a Fishbowl
                      Author
                      Len Vlahos
                      Publisher
                      Bloomsbury
                      Genre
                      Young Adult Fiction
                      Released
                      03 January, 2017

                      Synopsis

                      Jackie's life wasn't perfect, but at least it was normal. That is, until her dad received a terminal cancer diagnosis. Then he went and did what anyone faced with mountains of medical bills and a family to support would do: he sold his life to the highest bidder. Which turned out to be a TV station. Suddenly everyone from psychotic millionaires to cyber-savvy nuns wants a piece of Jackie's family as they become a reality TV sensation. Jackie's life spirals out of control just as her dad's starts to run out, and meanwhile the whole world is tuning in to watch her family fall apart.Acidly funny and heartbreakingly sad, Life in a Fishbowl is an exploration of the value of life and what memories mean to us. Perfect for fans of Patrick Ness.
                      Len Vlahos
                      About the author

                      Len Vlahos

                      Len Vlahos dropped out of NYU film school in the mid Eighties to play guitar and write songs for Woofing Cookies, a punk-pop four piece that toured up and down the East Coast, and had two singles and one full-length LP on Midnight Records. After the band broke up, he followed his other passion, books. He is the author of The Scar Boys, a William C. Morris Award finalist and a #1 Indie Next pick, and Scar Girl, the book's sequel. Len lives in Denver with his wife and two young sons, where he owns the Tattered Cover Book Store.

                      Books by Len Vlahos

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *