Love in the Time of War: The Betrayal by Kate Furnivall

Love in the Time of War: The Betrayal by Kate Furnivall

Why we loved it: Historical fiction at its romantic, gripping best – that’s what we’ve come to expect from UK literary star Kate Furnivall. And her latest, The Betrayal, does not disappoint.

facebookMetaBetrayalIt’s Paris 1938 and aviatrix Romaine Duchamp is hiding a fatal secret that’s eating her alive. Romy is young and beautiful but she’s trying to bury the past with a bottle of whisky and daring flights across the French border into Spain to assist the Republicans in the deadly Civil War. As Facism takes hold in Europe and war with Germany creeps ever closer, Romy’s mission, along with the budding resistance movement, is stopped in its tracks.

But Romy’s twin sister Florence has friends among the high-level Germans in Paris and Florence’s husband Roland appears to be involved too. The twin sisters are haunted by the secret surrounding their father’s terrible murder years earlier. Romy was a witness to what happened, but, after a hasty cover-up, a man went to the guillotine for a crime he didn’t commit. This too haunts Romy as she tries to make amends with secret visits to the Arab quarter to bestow money upon the man’s son.

As war edges closer, the tragic truth of his death, and its link to the German infiltration of Parisian society is gradually revealed. With the help of her handsome but damaged friend, Martel, Romy must to get to the bottom of the secret before the Germans get to them.

The Betrayal is an evocative, richly told story that summons all the decadence of 1930s Paris during the lead-up to war, switching between its jazz bars and secret poker joints to high society. It even features walk-on parts from real-life luminaries including the famous American singer, Josephine Baker.

British writer Furnivall is known and loved by readers for her adventure-filled, intriguing historical fiction. The Russian Concubine, written after she discovered her grandmother’s Russian roots, was the book that made her famous. Much like that huge bestseller, The Betrayal has a compelling plot with twists and turns, romance and high adventure, all enriched with authentic historical detail. The Betrayal, guaranteed to have you on the edge of your deck chair, is perfect to pack in your suitcase for the holidays.

Grab a copy or start reading here

Related Articles

Australian Writing is Once Again The Winner in the Top 100

News | Book Life

5 May 2020

Australian Writing is Once Again The Winner in the Top 100

    Books That Endure: Why we Love the Classics

    News | Book Life | Featured

    30 April 2020

    Books That Endure: Why we Love the Classics

      7 Ways To Read More Books

      News | Book Life

      10 December 2019

      7 Ways To Read More Books

        Captivating Minds and Emotions: Q&A with Kate Furnivall about The Guardian of Lies

        News

        10 July 2019

        Captivating Minds and Emotions: Q&A with Kate Furnivall about The Guardian of Lies

          A Fascinating Voyage of Discovery: Kate Furnivall on Researching her New Novel, The Guardian of Lies

          News

          10 July 2019

          A Fascinating Voyage of Discovery: Kate Furnivall on Researching her New Novel, The Guardian of Lies

            This is Brilliant Storytelling: Review of The Guardian of Lies by Kate Furnivall

            News

            9 July 2019

            This is Brilliant Storytelling: Review of The Guardian of Lies by Kate Furnivall

              Podcast: Cooking The Books with Kate Young

              Podcast

              26 March 2019

              Podcast: Cooking The Books with Kate Young

                Best Of The Best: Indie Book Awards winners announced

                News

                19 March 2019

                Best Of The Best: Indie Book Awards winners announced

                  Inspired By Nature: Q&A with Trevor Shearston on his novel Hare's Fur

                  News

                  15 March 2019

                  Inspired By Nature: Q&A with Trevor Shearston on his novel Hare's Fur

                    Love Books? Come Work With Us

                    News

                    11 March 2019

                    Love Books? Come Work With Us

                      Synopsis

                      Discover a brilliant story of love, danger, courage and betrayal, from the internationally bestselling author of The Liberation.Paris, 1938. Twin sisters are divided by fierce loyalties and by a terrible secret. The drums of war are beating and France is poised, ready to fall. One sister is an aviatrix, the other is a socialite and they both have something to prove and something to hide.The Betrayal is an unforgettably powerful, epic story of love, loss and the long shadow of war, perfect for readers of Santa Montefiore and Victoria Hislop.About the AuthorKate Furnivall is the author of eight novels, including the international bestseller The Russian Concubine. She lives in Devon.
                      Kate Furnivall
                      About the author

                      Kate Furnivall

                      Kate Furnivall is the author of eight novels, including the international bestseller The Russian Concubine. She has travelled widely, giving her an insight into how different cultures function which has proved invaluable when writing her novels.

                      Books by Kate Furnivall

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

                      1. Kendrick says:

                        The advantage fits are one of the better around, but they don’t present progressive jackpots.