Time Travel Murder Mystery: Kate Mascarenhas on writing The Psychology of Time Travel

Time Travel Murder Mystery: Kate Mascarenhas on writing The Psychology of Time Travel

About the author:

Kate Mascarenhas is a half-Irish, half-Seychellois midlander. She has worked as a copywriter, an assistant psychologist, and a bookbinder. She lives with her husband in a small terraced house which she is slowly filling with Sindy dolls. The Psychology of Time Travel is Kate’s first novel.

Purchase a copy of The Psychology of Time Travel here 

Read our review of The Psychology of Time Travel here 

Read an extract of The Psychology of Time Travel here

The Psychology of Time Travel contains a glossary of time travellers’ slang which was a particular pleasure to devise. I came up with Zeitigzorn to describe anger at a person for things they won’t do wrong for years. Emus are people who don’t time travel, and thus pass through time in a single direction (emus are unable to walk backwards). A Liebestod is a trip to see a lover on the day they’re scheduled to die.

The glossary was an opportunity for humour, but there was also a serious intent behind it. Barbara, one of the pioneering scientists who invents time travel, is cut off from her colleagues after a nervous breakdown. Much of the murder mystery that follows is concerned with who is permitted into the elite group of time travellers, and who is excluded. Language has a part to play in this exclusion. The time travellers have a strong group identity and their use of a shared slang helps reinforce it; these are not words used by the person on the street.

Concerns around language and expression surface repeatedly in the novel. Grace, one of Barbara’s fellow scientists, goes to great lengths to obscure her background, but her colleagues remark on her “wincingly non-U” accent. Barbara’s daughter, Dinah, cries in Konkani when she is distressed but her own daughter Ruby doesn’t understand the language because they have always used English. Odette, the aspiring detective trying to solve the murder plot, is a Seychellois migrant who came to Britain as a child. Although she spoke Kreol in her early years, her parents encouraged her to forget it in England in the hope of fitting in more easily.

While I was writing, issues of migration and losing languages were at the forefront of my mind. I’m of mixed heritage—my father was a white Irish man, and my mother is a brown British woman of Seychellois descent. My father was a fluent Irish speaker and when I was a small girl he encouraged me to learn the basics, with negligible success. Recently I downloaded an Irish GCSE paper, which is the minimum academic qualification available in the UK, and I was gratified to be able to answer most of the questions. Nevertheless I can’t hold a conversation in Irish. I’ve had no one to practice with; when my father died, my direct line to the community went with him, and face-to-face Irish lessons aren’t available where I live. But at least Ireland is next door. Unfortunately I can’t visit Seychelles so easily. Like Odette, my maternal grandfather was a Kreol speaker. I know about a hundred words and no grammar, partly because demand for Kreol learning resources in this country is low. Since writing The Psychology of Time Travel Seychellois readers have asked hopefully whether I speak Kreol, and it makes me sad to say no. It feels like a lack, a missed opportunity for connection—both with a particular community, and with a familial history. The difficulty of accessing one’s heritage (one’s past, if you will) seemed to make such issues particularly relevant to a story about who does, and who doesn’t, travel through time.

When I was a child I was a particular fan of “time slip” fiction – books like Tom’s Midnight Garden, Charlotte Sometimes and Moondial, which were mid way between time travel and ghost stories. Frequently the children in these books were travelling through time in search of a particular connection to history, but not all characters were given equivalent access. In Lucy M. Boston’s Green Knowe series, for example, the characters of colour do not have the same encounters with their ancestors as the white protagonist, whose family tree hasn’t moved from the same English manor house since the Norman conquest. When it came to writing my own time travel story, albeit one with a harder SF premise, the idea of who is cut off from their heritage continued to interest me. The Conclave, which is the institute that oversees time travel missions in the novel, is a self contained legal jurisdiction but is located on British soil. Britain has the monopoly on time machine fuel, and when sites are after many decades located abroad, it is in places of strategic importance to white British interests. Accordingly their lingua franca is English, with the occasional loan word from other European countries.

And yet the rules of time travel sometimes offer opportunities for employees to resist the linguistic dominance of English in the Conclave. All time travellers have something called an “acausal book” – a book of no discernible origin, which is exchanged between past and future selves in an eternal loop, and assumes supernatural significance for the owner. These books are always in the owner’s native tongue. Odette’s is in a parallel text of English and Kreol; though the Kreol is no longer comprehensible to her, receiving the book prompts her return to the language. I hope to follow her example.

 

Related Articles

The Unlikeliest Location of Literary Bliss: Author Jenn J. McLeod Tells Us Where she Finds Books on the Road

News

9 September 2019

The Unlikeliest Location of Literary Bliss: Author Jenn J. McLeod Tells Us Where she Finds Books on the Road

    Where the Light Enters Author, Sara Donati Shares 5 inspiring books with trailblazing female characters

    News

    3 September 2019

    Where the Light Enters Author, Sara Donati Shares 5 inspiring books with trailblazing female characters

      One Book Can Lead to Another: How Greg Growden Was Compelled to Write Major Thomas

      News

      6 August 2019

      One Book Can Lead to Another: How Greg Growden Was Compelled to Write Major Thomas

        Friendships Always Seem Like They Should Come Easily: Sophie Green, Author of The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle, Talks About The Beauty of Friendship

        News

        1 August 2019

        Friendships Always Seem Like They Should Come Easily: Sophie Green, Author of The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle, Talks About The Beauty of Friendship

          I am Living on the Most Magical Place on Earth: An Article from Dave Glasheen, Author of The Millionaire Castaway

          News

          1 August 2019

          I am Living on the Most Magical Place on Earth: An Article from Dave Glasheen, Author of The Millionaire Castaway

            Na tschuss denn, or Good-bye, Then: An Article by Confession with Blue Horses Author, Sophie Hardach

            News

            29 July 2019

            Na tschuss denn, or Good-bye, Then: An Article by Confession with Blue Horses Author, Sophie Hardach

              Kaneana May, Author of The One, Tells Us About the Road to Publication

              News

              25 July 2019

              Kaneana May, Author of The One, Tells Us About the Road to Publication

                While You Were Reading Authors, Ali Berg and Michelle Kalus, Talk About Books on the Rail

                News

                10 July 2019

                While You Were Reading Authors, Ali Berg and Michelle Kalus, Talk About Books on the Rail

                  A Fascinating Voyage of Discovery: Kate Furnivall on Researching her New Novel, The Guardian of Lies

                  News

                  10 July 2019

                  A Fascinating Voyage of Discovery: Kate Furnivall on Researching her New Novel, The Guardian of Lies

                    Going Down The Mine: Alison Stuart Writes About How she Researched her New Novel, The Postmistress

                    News

                    18 June 2019

                    Going Down The Mine: Alison Stuart Writes About How she Researched her New Novel, The Postmistress

                      Synopsis

                      A time travel murder mystery from a brilliantly original new voice. Perfect for readers of Naomi Alderman's The Power and Emily St John Mandel's Station Eleven. 1967 : Four female scientists invent a time travel machine. They are on the cusp of fame: the pioneers who opened the world to new possibilities. But then one of them suffers a breakdown and puts the whole project in peril... 2017 : Ruby knows her beloved Granny Bee was a pioneer, but they never talk about the past.Though time travel is now big business, Bee has never been part of it. Then they receive a message from the future – a newspaper clipping reporting the mysterious death of an elderly lady... 2018 : When Odette discovered the body she went into shock. Blood everywhere, bullet wounds, that strong reek of sulpher. But when the inquest fails to find any answers, she is frustrated. Who is this dead woman that haunts her dreams? And why is everyone determined to cover up her murder?
                      Kate Mascarenhas
                      About the author

                      Kate Mascarenhas

                      Kate Mascarenhas is a half-Irish, half-Seychellois midlander. She has worked as a copywriter, an assistant psychologist, and a bookbinder. She lives with her husband in a small terraced house which she is slowly filling with Sindy dolls. The Psychology of Time Travel is her first novel.

                      Books by Kate Mascarenhas

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *