Skip to content

Wasps and Prehistoric Myths: The Demon Crown by James Rollins

January 10, 2018

What do you get when you cross dinosaurs, prehistoric wasps, and Alexander Graham Bell? Your next favourite adventure novel.

The Demon Crown is the latest from #1 New York Times bestselling author James Rollins, who has penned over twenty adventure novels. It’s the thirteenth in the Sigma Force series, which follow a secret American agency that deal with threats to world safety. Picture Dan Brown crossed with Indiana Jones. That’s the kind of fast paced and thrilling adventure we’re talking about.

The novel begins in 1903 with Alexander Graham Bell, inventor of the telephone, excavating the grave of James Smithson, the man who donated his life’s savings to the Smithsonian Museum – despite never having set foot in America. Sounds strange? It’s actually true. What happens next deviates from fact and into wild, glorious fiction.

Later, in 1944, a Japanese spy breaks into the Smithsonian and steals something from the grave of Smithson, getting away before they can be apprehended. And it’s only in the modern day that we find out what they stole: an amber fossil, containing the body of a never-before-seen wasp. A huge drove of them descends upon Hawaii, but they’re not any old wasps – these are killer wasps, with intoxicating poison that threaten the very life of those who are stung. And it’s up to Sigma Force commander Grayson Pierce, and his partner Seichan, to stop it. What a way to have your holiday interrupted…

Rollins has taken several plot points that you might think would never go together, but has spun them together masterfully. You’re never going to see a novel incorporating wasps, American history, a Japanese pharmaceutical company, and Estonian salt mines all in one, but that’s because no one’s mind works quite like Rollins.

While the Sigma Force novels are intended to be read chronologically, each deals with a new adventure that threatens the globe. While you might not recognise certain characters from earlier in the series, Rollins writes such gripping plot that you’ll be drawn in instantly.

The best part? Once you’ve finished The Demon Crown, you’ve got twelve other adventures to lose yourself in.

About the Author

James Rollins is the author of international thrillers that have been translated into more than forty languages. His Sigma series has been lauded as one of the “top crowd pleasers” (New York Times) and one of the “hottest summer reads” (People magazine). In each novel, acclaimed for its originality, Rollins unveils unseen worlds, scientific breakthroughs, and historical secrets—and he does it all at breakneck speed and with stunning insight. He lives in the Sierra Nevada mountains.

Grab your copy here


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *