Hilarious Short Stories: Read an Extract from Shockingly Good Stories by R.A. Spratt

Hilarious Short Stories: Read an Extract from Shockingly Good Stories by R.A. Spratt
‘Rapunzel Bacon-Hair’ as told by Nanny Piggins

Nanny Piggins was a great believer in literacy. It was important to be good at reading, so you could be good at reading recipes, so you could be good at making cake. Because there was no more important skill than making cake . . . except perhaps eating cake. That was quite an art in its own right.

Nanny Piggins believed so firmly in these principles she read to the Green children – Derrick, Samantha and Michael – every night. Sometimes she read fairy tales, sometimes adventure novels, sometimes recipe books and sometimes, when they wanted a really shockingly good story, she read to them from her own journal. But on this particular occasion, Nanny Piggins could not read to the children at all.

You see, during the course of the day she had suffered a terrible baking accident. She had made a chocolate souffle so good – it was irresistible! The second it came out of the oven she lunged face first at it, trying to gobble it up as quickly as possible. Unfortunately, the oven had been set to 180 degrees Centigrade, which meant that the cake was 180 degrees Centigrade, which meant that the cake crumbs she got in her eyes were 180 degrees Centigrade. Which meant that she had had to spend the afternoon at the ophthalmic surgeon’s having them cleaned and bandaged.

The children were naturally alarmed to have their beloved Nanny blinded by her own cake, but Nanny Piggins wasn’t worried at all. Consuming an entire chocolate souffle does give the eater such a sugar rush that a devil-may-care attitude is sure to follow. The only problem was, now she couldn’t read the children a bedtime story.

Continue reading the extract here…

Related Articles

Meet Friday Barnes – girl detective extraordinaire!

News | Book Life

18 January 2021

Meet Friday Barnes – girl detective extraordinaire!

Sleuth and solve: Activity pack from Friday Barnes 9: No Escape by R.A. Spratt

News | Book Life

18 January 2021

Sleuth and solve: Activity pack from Friday Barnes 9: No Escape by R.A. Spratt

Six Books that Inspired author R. A. Spratt

News | Author Related

7 January 2020

Six Books that Inspired author R. A. Spratt

Creating Something from Nothing: R.A. Spratt gets philosophical (and a bit wacky) about kids meeting authors

News | Author Related

10 October 2019

Creating Something from Nothing: R.A. Spratt gets philosophical (and a bit wacky) about kids meeting authors

Chaos Parachutes into Currawong: Read an extract from The Peski Kids: Stuck in the Mud

Kids & Ya

16 August 2019

Chaos Parachutes into Currawong: Read an extract from The Peski Kids: Stuck in the Mud

Spies, criminal masterminds, lots of laughs… and mud: Review of The Peski Kids: Stuck in the Mud

Kids & Ya

13 August 2019

Spies, criminal masterminds, lots of laughs… and mud: Review of The Peski Kids: Stuck in the Mud

Strategies for encouraging children to read: Author R. A. Spratt shares her methods

Kids & Ya

7 February 2019

Strategies for encouraging children to read: Author R. A. Spratt shares her methods

Return of The Peski Kids: Read an extract from The Peski Kids #2, Bear in the Woods by R. A. Spratt

Kids & Ya

24 January 2019

Return of The Peski Kids: Read an extract from The Peski Kids #2, Bear in the Woods by R. A. Spratt

Equally Hilarious and Intriguing: Review of The Peski Kids #2, Bear in the Woods by R.A. Spratt

Kids & Ya

22 January 2019

Equally Hilarious and Intriguing: Review of The Peski Kids #2, Bear in the Woods by R.A. Spratt

Cockroaches, Spies and Helicopters: Read an extract from The Peski Kids: The Mystery of the Squashed Cockroach

Kids & Ya

21 August 2018

Cockroaches, Spies and Helicopters: Read an extract from The Peski Kids: The Mystery of the Squashed Cockroach

Publisher details

Shockingly Good Stories
Author
R.A. Spratt
Publisher
Penguin
Genre
Children’s Fiction
Released
02 July, 2021
ISBN
9781761043376

Synopsis

Piranhas on the run, stolen sandwiches, chocolate waterfalls and so much more! From R.A. Spratt, bestselling author of Friday Barnes, comes this collection of twenty short stories perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, David Walliams and Paul Jennings. Featuring fractured fairytales told by none other than Nanny Piggins, previously unpublished Friday Barnes mysteries and a bunch of other hilarious and highly original tall tales. This book will delight kids from seven to seventy, whether they’re after a bedtime story, entertainment for a long car ride or distraction in the doctor’s waiting room!
R.A. Spratt
About the author

R.A. Spratt

R.A. Spratt is the author of The Peski Kids, Friday Barnes and The Adventures of Nanny Piggins. In her previous life she was a television writer. Unlike the Peski kids, R.A. Spratt never fights with her brother, but only because he moved to Hong Kong to get away from her. R.A. lives in Bowral, NSW, where she has three chickens, two goldfish and a dog. She also has a husband and two daughters.

Books by R.A. Spratt

COMMENTS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *