A Darkly Riveting Psychological Thriller: Read our Review of The Last Guests by J.P. Pomare

A Darkly Riveting Psychological Thriller: Read our Review of The Last Guests by J.P. Pomare

A darkly riveting psychological thriller from the bestselling author of Call Me Evie, In the Clearing and Tell Me Lies.

Ever have the feeling you’re being watched? I do after reading this.

Lina and Cain are doing their best to stay afloat. Money has been tight since Cain returned from active duty, and starting a family is proving harder than they thought. Putting Lina’s inherited lake house up for rent on weekends seems like the solution to at least one of their problems. The secluded house is more of a burden than a retreat, anyway, and fixing up the old place makes Cain feel useful for once.

But letting strangers stay in their house might not be the best idea. Someone is watching— their most mundane tasks, their most intimate moments—and all the things Lina and Cain want to keep hidden will be exposed.

Melbourne-based author J.P. Pomare had a breakout debut in 2019 with the bestselling Call Me Evie and has delivered another two brilliantly multilayered psychological thrillers since. His third novel, Tell Me Lies, only hit the shelves late last year, so it’s exciting news for his burgeoning fanbase that he already has a fourth offering for them. And what a read it is!

The Last Guests is a smart, unsettling, and utterly unputdownable literary thriller. The New Zealand setting is a refreshing change for a thriller, and Lina and Cain are well crafted, deeply flawed characters, with many secrets. Cain’s army career ended after he was injured, and he is struggling with civilian life. As the novel unfolds, we’re privy to shocking events that occurred during his time in Afghanistan. Paramedic Lina’s struggles with her marriage lead to her own complicated secrets. What should be a way to relieve some of their issues, by letting out rooms on WeStay, actually leads to horrifying consequences. I’ll never approach an Airbnb stay in the same way again. Ever.

I could say that Pomare has hit his stride here, but he hit it with his debut and has now shown he can maintain that exceptionally high standard. Like his previous novels, The Last Guests blends together excellent writing, great storytelling, suburb tension building and, most importantly, unpredictable twists. Especially the final one.

Pomare has delivered again. And considering how it’s been less than a year between novels, we can only assume that we won’t have long to wait for his next thrilling read.

Reviews

5 Quick Questions with Bestselling Author J.P. Pomare

Review | Author Related

29 July 2021

5 Quick Questions with Bestselling Author J.P. Pomare

    A Brilliant Psychological Thriller: Read an Extract from The Last Guests by J.P. Pomare

    Review | Extract

    28 July 2021

    A Brilliant Psychological Thriller: Read an Extract from The Last Guests by J.P. Pomare

      Your Preview Verdict: The Last Guests by J.P. Pomare

      Review | Preview

      20 July 2021

      Your Preview Verdict: The Last Guests by J.P. Pomare

        Related Articles

        Podcast: J. P. Pomare on How His Maori Heritage Influences His Writing

        Podcast

        8 February 2021

        Podcast: J. P. Pomare on How His Maori Heritage Influences His Writing

          I'm Fascinated by Cults: Q&A with In the Clearing Author, J.P. Pomare

          News | Author Related

          16 January 2020

          I'm Fascinated by Cults: Q&A with In the Clearing Author, J.P. Pomare

            On memory, trust, and the importance of place: Q&A with J.P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie

            News

            23 January 2019

            On memory, trust, and the importance of place: Q&A with J.P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie

              Nightmarish and Mind-Bending: J. P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie, on his top five thrillers

              News

              21 January 2019

              Nightmarish and Mind-Bending: J. P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie, on his top five thrillers

                Multi-Layered and Refreshingly Different: Read an extract from Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

                News

                16 January 2019

                Multi-Layered and Refreshingly Different: Read an extract from Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

                  Stellar Debut Thriller: Review of Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

                  News

                  15 January 2019

                  Stellar Debut Thriller: Review of Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

                    Publisher details

                    The Last Guests
                    Author
                    J.P. Pomare
                    Publisher
                    Hachette
                    Genre
                    Fiction
                    Released
                    28 July, 2021
                    ISBN
                    9781869718183

                    Synopsis

                    Lina and Cain are doing their best to stay afloat. Money has been tight since Cain returned from active duty, and starting a family is proving harder than they thought. Putting Lina's inherited lake house up for rent at weekends seems like the solution to at least one of their problems. The secluded house is more of a burden than a retreat, anyway, and fixing up the old place makes Cain feel useful for once. But letting strangers stay in their house might not be the best idea. Someone is watching - their most mundane tasks, their most intimate moments - and all the things Lina and Cain want to keep hidden will be exposed. A darkly riveting psychological thriller from the bestselling author of Call Me Evie, In the Clearing and Tell Me Lies.
                    J.P. Pomare
                    About the author

                    J.P. Pomare

                    J.P. Pomare is an award-winning writer who has had work published in journals including Meanjin, Kill Your DarlingsTakahe and Mascara Literary Review. He has hosted the On Writing podcast since 2015 featuring bestselling authors from around the globe. His first novel, Call Me Evie, was critically acclaimed and won the Ngaio Marsh Award for Best First Novel. In The Clearing, Pomare's second novel was also a critically acclaimed bestseller. He was born in New Zealand and resides in Melbourne with his wife.

                    Books by J.P. Pomare

                    COMMENTS

                    Leave a Reply

                    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *