Top Ten Books: Author of The Psychology of Time Travel, Kate Mascarenhas, talks her favourite books

Top Ten Books: Author of The Psychology of Time Travel, Kate Mascarenhas, talks her favourite books

About the author:

Kate Mascarenhas is a half-Irish, half-Seychellois midlander. She has worked as a copywriter, an assistant psychologist, and a bookbinder. She lives with her husband in a small terraced house which she is slowly filling with Sindy dolls. The Psychology of Time Travel is Kate’s first novel.

Purchase a copy of The Psychology of Time Travel here 

Read our review of The Psychology of Time Travel here 

Fire and Hemlock by Diana Wynne Jones:

A retelling of the Tam Lin Ballad crossed with T.S. Eliot’s Four Quartets, for young adults. As bizarre and as wonderful as it sounds.

The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie by Muriel Spark:

In 1930s Edinburgh, Miss Jean Brodie selects six young pupils for guidance and special attention. She fascinates them, but is she leading them to disaster?

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson:

Narrated by Merricat Blackwood, one of literature’s most terrifying teenagers, this novella is about sisterly obsession and murderous intent.

Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld:

An intricate exploration of class and adolescent embarrassment in a Massachusetts boarding school.

Mr Fox by Helen Oyeyemi:

Celebrated writer Mr. Fox keeps killing off the heroines of his novels until Mary, his muse, comes to life and objects. Witty, cutting, and beautifully written.

Among Others by Jo Walton:

A love letter to science fiction in Wales and the West of England.

The Lesser Bohemians by Eimear McBride:

A passionate first love affair told through stream of consciousness.

Deerskin by Robin McKinley:

Lissar, an isolated princess, escapes her father’s appalling abuse and begins the hard work of rebuilding her life. A variation on Perrault’s old fairy tale, Donkeyskin.

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro:

An understated examination of how people behave when their destiny is out of their control.

The Buddha of Suburbia by Hanif Kureishi:

As soon as Karim is old enough, he escapes the suburbs for London. A very funny and touching coming of age story that also includes the first openly gay and bisexual characters I encountered in literature, when I was 13.

 

Related Articles

Nightmarish and Mind-Bending: J. P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie, on his top five thrillers

News

21 January 2019

Nightmarish and Mind-Bending: J. P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie, on his top five thrillers

    Addiction therapy for the cynical: Alice Williams on five books that helped her recovery

    News

    14 January 2019

    Addiction therapy for the cynical: Alice Williams on five books that helped her recovery

      Literary Laughs: Jessica Dettmann on her top five funny books

      News

      14 January 2019

      Literary Laughs: Jessica Dettmann on her top five funny books

        Friendship and Redemption: Anstey Harris on her top 5 books about self discovery

        News

        9 January 2019

        Friendship and Redemption: Anstey Harris on her top 5 books about self discovery

          The Ties That Bind: Alice Nelson on her top 5 favourite books about families

          News

          9 January 2019

          The Ties That Bind: Alice Nelson on her top 5 favourite books about families

            Rural Reads: Frauke Bolten-Boshammer's favourite books about strong, outback women

            News

            19 November 2018

            Rural Reads: Frauke Bolten-Boshammer's favourite books about strong, outback women

              Electrifying and Deceptive: Adele Parks on her favourite thriller novels

              News

              30 October 2018

              Electrifying and Deceptive: Adele Parks on her favourite thriller novels

                Great Women's Fiction: Tricia Stringer on her favourite books written by women, for women

                News

                24 October 2018

                Great Women's Fiction: Tricia Stringer on her favourite books written by women, for women

                  Essential Reading: J.S. Monroe shares his top five thrillers

                  News

                  3 October 2018

                  Essential Reading: J.S. Monroe shares his top five thrillers

                    Time Travel Murder Mystery: Kate Mascarenhas on writing The Psychology of Time Travel

                    News

                    7 September 2018

                    Time Travel Murder Mystery: Kate Mascarenhas on writing The Psychology of Time Travel

                      Synopsis

                      A time travel murder mystery from a brilliantly original new voice. Perfect for readers of Naomi Alderman's The Power and Emily St John Mandel's Station Eleven. 1967 : Four female scientists invent a time travel machine. They are on the cusp of fame: the pioneers who opened the world to new possibilities. But then one of them suffers a breakdown and puts the whole project in peril... 2017 : Ruby knows her beloved Granny Bee was a pioneer, but they never talk about the past.Though time travel is now big business, Bee has never been part of it. Then they receive a message from the future – a newspaper clipping reporting the mysterious death of an elderly lady... 2018 : When Odette discovered the body she went into shock. Blood everywhere, bullet wounds, that strong reek of sulpher. But when the inquest fails to find any answers, she is frustrated. Who is this dead woman that haunts her dreams? And why is everyone determined to cover up her murder?
                      Kate Mascarenhas
                      About the author

                      Kate Mascarenhas

                      Kate Mascarenhas is a half-Irish, half-Seychellois midlander. She has worked as a copywriter, an assistant psychologist, and a bookbinder. She lives with her husband in a small terraced house which she is slowly filling with Sindy dolls. The Psychology of Time Travel is her first novel.

                      Books by Kate Mascarenhas

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *